Customer Reviews for

The Nonesuch

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Debating whether to read it again right now

Think Jane Austen's distant cousin- and I mean this as a compliment in case it doesn't sound that way. I feel like all the modern re-imaginings of regency period stories tend to put WAY too much emphasis on flowery prose that seems anachronistic in terms of style. Georg...
Think Jane Austen's distant cousin- and I mean this as a compliment in case it doesn't sound that way. I feel like all the modern re-imaginings of regency period stories tend to put WAY too much emphasis on flowery prose that seems anachronistic in terms of style. Georgette Heyer always hits it dead on, and if anything I occasionally find myself lost with some of the colloquialisms. The Nonesuch was a great story with a great romance that steered clear of the dramatic or sappy. The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars is that this one, like a few others of Heyer's that I've read, ends sort of abruptly, but then so did all of Jane Austen's novels. It probably would have detracted from the story to add an extra ten pages of what-happens-next, but I would have enjoyed it anyway ;)

posted by Celia_Cristina on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Could not get into this book- didn't finish it. Guess you can say you get what you pay for. Don't waste your time.

posted by BONNIEP on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Debating whether to read it again right now

    Think Jane Austen's distant cousin- and I mean this as a compliment in case it doesn't sound that way. I feel like all the modern re-imaginings of regency period stories tend to put WAY too much emphasis on flowery prose that seems anachronistic in terms of style. Georgette Heyer always hits it dead on, and if anything I occasionally find myself lost with some of the colloquialisms. The Nonesuch was a great story with a great romance that steered clear of the dramatic or sappy. The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars is that this one, like a few others of Heyer's that I've read, ends sort of abruptly, but then so did all of Jane Austen's novels. It probably would have detracted from the story to add an extra ten pages of what-happens-next, but I would have enjoyed it anyway ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great Regency Read

    Memorable characters, a good romance. Could beautiful but spoiled Tiffany get the guy? Will her well-born governess Ancilla win the biggest catch of all? Read THE NONESUCH and find out. I think you will enjoy this very well written historical book! A favorite of our family of Heyer fans!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    The Nonesuch - one of my heros

    Escape into the past - the world of the Nonesuch is not a glossed-over modern cast stuck in an outdated past but a fully-drawn world with characters that live and breathe in their time and place, fully rounded and carefully drawn. Strong, vital and individual characters ready to charm and entice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Amusing romance set in 19th century

    Like most of Georgette Heyer's works, it's sheer enjoyment from beginning to end. Although this one is entirely just a wholesome romance (no sex, just love) it exhibits her delicious tongue-in-cheek comedy. Her books are light but not shallow, and infused with the author's immense intelligence without being "intellectual." Thorough historical knowledge bases, as always, her deft escapist writing with their likable characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Gentle Humor

    This is a classic Georgette Heyer novel full of lovely period descriptive passages and sutle humor. One to read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    The first and still the best Regency author

    This author started the Regency genre and is still the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Disappointed

    Could not get into this book- didn't finish it. Guess you can say you get what you pay for. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Heyer But It Won't Be the Last

    Really enjoyed my first outing with Heyer. I was impressed with her historical accuracy. Quick read and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    I'd give it 5 stars, but...

    I'd give quite a few Heyer's 5 stars, but I have to leave SOMETHING for Jane Austen, to distinguish her from the crowd! This was my first Heyer, too, first read about 15 years ago--and I quickly read everything else by her that I could get my hands on! While it is not my favorite, it is in my top 10--and of course, everything she wrote show-cases her talent and marvelous sense of humor! Heyer seldom wrote Gothic (I doubt ghosts and sinister retainers were amusing enough for her), and it is a pity she must be lumped in with the 'romance crowd': the excellence of her writing and historical detail ought to see her more widely appreciated. I read once that her version of the battle of Waterloo in An Infamous Army was much more accurate than many an historian's!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    A Goood Read

    My mom bought me a couple of Georgette Heyer books because she loved them when she was young and they are good, clean, romance novels. I now enjoy all of them. They provide a good, easy, read with cute stories. The inexpensive paperbacks can go anywhere, and I call them my "bathtub reading".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    Heyer at her best!

    This was the first Georgette Heyer book I ever read. It remains my one of my favorite books, and she remains one of my favorite authors. For lighthearted historical romance, no one can top the mistress of Gothic romance. Heyer's characters sparkle! 'The Nonesuch' is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3