Customer Reviews for

Nook Color New Cable

Average Rating 1.5
( 567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(436)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

109 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now nee

Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now needing my 3rd one. I bought the extended war which expired. I called the 800 number and was told that I had to buy one. You would that if 90% of your customers have a problem you would replace the cord free ....
Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now needing my 3rd one. I bought the extended war which expired. I called the 800 number and was told that I had to buy one. You would that if 90% of your customers have a problem you would replace the cord free .I will be visiting the store and hopefully all will be good. Love the Nook free cords for everyone!!!! .

posted by 10683333 on November 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

188 out of 194 people found this review helpful.

BAD cord, bad design ¿ We customers deserve better than the brus

BAD cord, bad design —
We customers deserve better than the brush-off given by B&N re: this bad cord. 3 Strikes:
• bad manufacturing of the cord
• bad design in the location of the recharging plug
• bad exchange/replacement policy
I'm thinking it's time for a class...
BAD cord, bad design —
We customers deserve better than the brush-off given by B&N re: this bad cord. 3 Strikes:
• bad manufacturing of the cord
• bad design in the location of the recharging plug
• bad exchange/replacement policy
I'm thinking it's time for a class-action lawsuit.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 567 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    The redesign was well thought out and should solve the previous

    The redesign was well thought out and should solve the previous cable problems. By the way, any heavy device that charges with a micro USB has identical cable issues. It's not unique to the NOOK.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    I have ordered many chargers for my nook tablet in the 2 years I

    I have ordered many chargers for my nook tablet in the 2 years I've hade one. The one pictured for this item actually isn't the one they make anymore. I ordered another charger and received it today. its nothing like the one before. It no longer has a light indicator, which is a bummer, but the new design is great. Instead of the cable coming straight out of the bottom, it goes to the side, and has a solid plastic cover over the part the goes in the tablet. That makes it WAY more secure. My tablet was dead, when I plugged in it and it finally turned on, it was already at 12%. After about 5 more minutes it was at 25%. So it is charging super fast. The old design I would have given it 1 star, but the new design is amazing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2015

    For those of you still needing a charging cable for your Color N

    For those of you still needing a charging cable for your Color Nook - I found a cable that will work!! Save the electric plug adapter, if you still have it.
    I found a cord at CVS pharmacy for $5.99 . POWERXCEL MICRO USB TO USB SYNC & CHARGE CABLE. The USB portion is 2.0. The micro USB end is long enough to engage with the Nook. The one I purchased is lime green in color. I'm thinking with this particular manufacturer the charge cables are color-coded with different sizes. Good luck!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Use electrical tape (appropriate for task and sturdy). That's w

    Use electrical tape (appropriate for task and sturdy). That's what I did. 1 star for the original cord. I have no faith that a new cord will make any difference. Cannot rate the replacement cord because I refuse to buy another standard cord. I don't plan to buy a car charger either. That said, my nook (color) is one of the best purchases I have made! If someone demanded my phone or my nook. They could have my phone. I do wish that some improvements/concessions would be made by Barnes & Noble to benefit current nook owners. AS FOR THE REVIEWER, STATING THAT THOSE EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS HAVE FAILED - foolishness. There was no warning when I purchased my nook color that I had to handle the cord with kid gloves. Poor workmanship is what we are dealing with, plain and simple. Don't blame the victim. A class action lawsuit is NOT OUTSIDE the realm of reality. Good customer service by the seller would also work. It is all about money. Each of us should be offered a high quality (TRULY NEW & IMPROVED would be great) replacement cord FREE OF CHARGE. Better yet, Barnes & Noble should put their money where their mouth is and give us a 3 yr warranty on the cord. That way when/if the cord fails, we get a no questions asked replacement cord, essentially for life, barring abuse of the cord by the consumer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    I received this redesigned cable when I had to purchase yet anot

    I received this redesigned cable when I had to purchase yet another cable because of the metal tip getting bent. This redesign seems to have corrected the issue. The larger plastic casing makes it difficult to charge a nook in a case, but since we generally charge our devices overnight--we can get over that. Kudos to the Nook team for improving this product even though the Nook Color/Tablet are no longer being made. Thank you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    The cable on the Nook Color is the main reason we moved from Noo

    The cable on the Nook Color is the main reason we moved from Nook to an actual Android tablet. After burning through three in a year's time, it just wasn't worth the hassle anymore. The Nook itself is excellent quality and very durable. The charging cable is flimsy and cheap. Like many others, I'd rate it zero stars if I had that option.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2015

    I have had my NOOK tablet for 3 years now, and I am having to or

    I have had my NOOK tablet for 3 years now, and I am having to order my third cable for this tablet. I agree with all the bad reviews on the older charging cables..they break very easy. I have had to pay 19.95 + shipping for the one I just replaced last year, and now not even a year old, and I am going to try this new cable for 7.95. I think Barnes & Noble were extremely slow in fixing this problem, especially considering the large amount of bad reviews. When I called BN about the cables breaking, the CSR told me that "you can't be careless with the cable". I told her I was a mature person who had other products that came with a charger cable that were 5 years or older than were in perfect working order...and that she was rude and out of line..BN, I will not update to other tablet products with this poor workmanship and very poor customer service.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Whoever designed this product should be ashamed, and Barnes and

    Whoever designed this product should be ashamed, and Barnes and Noble should be ashamed for selling it. It is cheaply made and poorly designed. I have gone through 3 and they've all met the same end. This website claimed that my nearest store had some in stock, so I spend some money on gas and drove over. The manager said "Yeah, no we don't have those. They're discontinued. You should have been smart and bought two like I did [I BOUGHT THREE, LADY!] Check online, mmkay?" Aaaand they're out of stock online. Fabulous. So thousands of (formerly) loyal customers are left with a working tablet, but no way to charge it? Great idea-- way to go B & N.  No wonder all your stores are going out of business. You wholly deserve it.   

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2014

    This cord is worthless. I agree with all the other reviewers. I

    This cord is worthless. I agree with all the other reviewers. I am not buying another one. I am also not buying another Nook if this is the type of support and quality of merchandise I can expext from Barnes and Noble. Use to have a great deal of  respect for them. Not anymore. They wonder why sales are going down for the Nook. This kind of poor product would be fine This time I will buy a Kindle. My wife has one and it works better and she gets much better support. Unfortunately I can not give it a negative rating so must settle for a positive 1

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    The old charging cable is horrible, but THIS NEW one is great! T

    The old charging cable is horrible, but THIS NEW one is great! The design has built in support for for the connection so it does not wobbly or allow any damage due to position. I purchased one for myself  over 6 months ago and gave it a work out. It charges my Nook Color without issues. You can use just the cable show on with your current "old" plug if you want to.  After using this for months, I purchased one for my daughter as well. One month later she is just as happy with hers as I am with mine. Make sure you are choosing the cable that has a wider "shelf or tab" behind the actual flat prong shown in the picture. This is not the same as the OLD replacement cable.
    Dust off your Nook Color if you have been waiting on something that works!! It's Here!  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    I have the redesigned charging cable, which looks like the one i

    I have the redesigned charging cable, which looks like the one in the pic above. It is a GREAT improvement over the previous design. The plug has a concave shape so that it fits around the nook's bottom edge, with the actual plug in the middle. I like the way the cable comes off the side. I don't think I will be needing a new charging cable as I did with the previous design.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    The Nook Color is OK. It is a bit heavy and my petite wife had t

    The Nook Color is OK. It is a bit heavy and my petite wife had trouble holding it for long periods of time while reading. I took it and bought her a Kindle PaperWhite. She loves it and the light weight. The cord on the Nook Color is practically worthless. Ninety-nine point nine times out of a hundred my desktop computer does not recognize the Nook, and when it does, it will not stay recognized. My laptop has the same problem. For the first year, my desktop had no problem recognizing the Nook. The cord has not been abused. I did disconnect it one time without "ejecting" it properly. That may have started my problems. In any case, I don't understand why B&N made such a rinky-dink connector to the Nook. It is high time B&N made a redesign and have a call back to replace these cords.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Same comments as the rest. Like the nook. Hate the cable. It

    Same comments as the rest. Like the nook. Hate the cable. It feels like a scam to have to replace the cord. I have never had to replace a cord for any of my other electronics. Yet I'm on number 3 for my nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    I think you're all correct in saying that this is a poor cable.

    I think you're all correct in saying that this is a poor cable. Altho' I have had my Nook for almost 3 years now, the cable has always been a problem. It's very difficult to get it into the pin at the bottom of the Nook. Also, it's flimsy and bends easily, especially with someone like me who likes to use it in bed. I'm 72 years old, and perhaps a little senile acting in what I did when the pin broke off completely. I tho't, "Well, it's of no use to me anyway, so why not try something crazy?" So I did! I took the end of the cable apart, (where it plugs into the Nook) and glued the pin back in place with some super glue and a little hot glue on top of that. I then put the casing together, plugged it in (hoping I would get electrocuted) and voila, it works. My Nook is now charging! I doubt that it will last a long time with this fix, however, it will at least give me time to find another cable. My local B & N doesn't even have any.... bad, bad, bad! And those Chinese made cables on eBay don't work on half of the Nooks. What's a person suppose to do? I think if B&N would make the Nooks so that they connect for charging on the side or top rather than the bottom, there would be far less broken pins on the cables. Altho' I have a stand-up cover, it still puts weight on the pin when I try to use my Nook in bed. At my age, and in a very cold climate, I like to sit in bed with my Nook and read or browse the net etc. when it's cold and blustery out. Thus, the problem of the bending pins which eventually break off, could be resolved by removing the plug-in from the bottom. Yes, I'm sure B & N is making a fortune on cables if they break often as most of you say.... However, I do have to say mine lasted 2 1/2 years and I use it daily! I am a book worm and love to do a lot of online research, so I'm charging every other day, it seems. I guess that isn't too bad, but I'm upset that I have to replace a cable..... I shouldn't have to.... never had had this happen with any other electronics I have. Anyway, for those of you who are frustrated and scrambling to find another cable, do as I did.... take the end apart, glue it, and snap it together again. It will give you more time to find another one, at the least.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Cables have a clear design flaw that renders them useless in an

    Cables have a clear design flaw that renders them useless in an amazingly short amount of time.  Normal micro USB cables will charge the Nook Color but only if the device is powered off and you have hours to wait.  We have 7 nook Colors in our house and we are down to 2 working cables, after receiving 5 replacements from B&N.  B&N will no longer replace the faulty cables and thus we are shopping for alternate e-readers...I guess we will get the Kindle.  My advice is to not bother buying a new cable, find a better product and a company that stands behind their products and takes ownership of their issues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I have had my Nook for well over a year and just recently starte

    I have had my Nook for well over a year and just recently started having issues with the charger. I will be taking it in to the local store and getting a free replacement.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I don't know what all y'alls are talking about. I've had my Nook

    I don't know what all y'alls are talking about. I've had my Nook Color for for over a year now and I haven't had any problems with the power chord. The only reason I need a new one is that I lost it. I love this device and it has been so reliable for me and wonderful. It's one of the main reasons why my wife and I have been able to read so many books. The only part that makes having a Nook a little difficult is that it only charges with a Nook cord. We have at least five other charging cords that fit, but don't charge it. 

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2015

    Why are these no longer available?! I called customer support an

    Why are these no longer available?! I called customer support and they also no longer have them. Now my nook is useless. :( B&N is no longer getting my money. I'm switching to Amazon Kindles from now on...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2015

    Must agree with all the no star and 1-Star reviews! The charger

    Must agree with all the no star and 1-Star reviews! The charger cord has been a problem since day 1.



    I am thinking that maybe Nook is
    hoping that we will give up and buy one of their new ones or something. NO WAY. I want a replacement cord NOW.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Here we go again. It's May 13, 2015. I bought my 3rd last repl

    Here we go again. It's May 13, 2015. I bought my 3rd last replacement charging cord on Feb 10, 2015.

    So right at 3 months is how long this cord lasted. I do travel a lot, but still, the cord should last longer than 3 months, right?!?!? I keep saying this is the last cord I'm going to buy, but I mean it this time!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 567 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29