Customer Reviews for

Nook Color New Cable

Average Rating 1.5
( 561 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(430)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

109 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now nee

Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now needing my 3rd one. I bought the extended war which expired. I called the 800 number and was told that I had to buy one. You would that if 90% of your customers have a problem you would replace the cord free ....
Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now needing my 3rd one. I bought the extended war which expired. I called the 800 number and was told that I had to buy one. You would that if 90% of your customers have a problem you would replace the cord free .I will be visiting the store and hopefully all will be good. Love the Nook free cords for everyone!!!! .

posted by 10683333 on November 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

185 out of 191 people found this review helpful.

BAD cord, bad design ¿ We customers deserve better than the brus

BAD cord, bad design —
We customers deserve better than the brush-off given by B&N re: this bad cord. 3 Strikes:
• bad manufacturing of the cord
• bad design in the location of the recharging plug
• bad exchange/replacement policy
I'm thinking it's time for a class...
BAD cord, bad design —
We customers deserve better than the brush-off given by B&N re: this bad cord. 3 Strikes:
• bad manufacturing of the cord
• bad design in the location of the recharging plug
• bad exchange/replacement policy
I'm thinking it's time for a class-action lawsuit.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 561 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Your Newburgh-Poughkeepsie NY stores do not carry  this charging

    Your Newburgh-Poughkeepsie NY stores do not carry  this charging cable and are told that they are not to take orders for them...c'mon B&N  play fair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2015

    I'm on my FOURTH Cable Cord¿ NEW DESIGN. This new design is bett

    I'm on my FOURTH Cable Cord… NEW DESIGN. This new design is better in that the Tip is secure and seem less likely to bend and break as the prior cable. Note, my prior cable broke or bent and I was Not reading while charging. The tip was flimsy. I' m this is my final cable. What I do hate is not only is the cable proprietary  so is the charging  block even though it's USB and you can not use any other USB cable with the charging block. I also believe BN should have offered these new design cables for Free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2015

    Electrical tape can keep our relationship together for only so l

    Electrical tape can keep our relationship together for only so long BN..
    On 2nd charger, desperately in need of 3rd. I'd hate to cut ties with my nook but I refuse to pay for another charger. Will be searching for an inexpensive tablet with google play that's compatible with the 101 chargers that are lying around the house in the meantime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    I've had my nook tablet for 2 and a half years now, and the cabl

    I've had my nook tablet for 2 and a half years now, and the cable started acting up only about 6 months ago, so I guess I've had better luck than the rest of you. Sure the connector piece broke in half, but a little tape fixed that it charged just fine until a few days ago, when it would drop off if I so much as touched the cable. Yes the design is quite flawed though, it's not the best place for a plug. But i will say it's lasted longer than any pair of earbuds I've ever owned.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Went through three of the previous cord styles.  New cord much m

    Went through three of the previous cord styles.  New cord much more secure, harder to bend. Is flush with nook case.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    A much better design than the original cord which came with the

    A much better design than the original cord which came with the Nook Color. Since there are times when I read with the Nook plugged in, no longer am I bending the mini connection. Instead, I can prop the nook with no worries. I purchased this replacement cord about 6 months ago. (June 2014)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2014

    This will be my fourth cable for my tablet. This is a better des

    This will be my fourth cable for my tablet. This is a better desighn then the original but truth be told it should be given free to anyone who owns a nook tablet or nook color. Beyond made I had to pay to replace an extremely defective product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Unbelievable! B&N, are you listening? We've told you the Noo

    Unbelievable! B&N, are you listening? We've told you the Nook power cord has a defective design again and again. And now you have decided that we can no longer order this part online? Seriously? I could forgive the poor design, but no the 50 mile drive to go pick up a part that should not have failed in the first place. Shame on you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    I, too have to constantly replace charging/power cord. Today ca

    I, too have to constantly replace charging/power cord. Today called stores to replace one that is approximately three months, but to no avail. None of the stores, even miles away had a charger on hand. I was told that they are having a hard time getting them and they sell out right away (was told to try and order online.) Now it is easy to understand why...bad product I love the nook, but if I can not keep it charged...what good is it to me. It is really a shame that we have to constantly replace cords, which cost a little more than $20..I have bought the NOOK again in replacement cords.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    I received my Nook Tablet as a Christmas gift 2 years ago. I am

    I received my Nook Tablet as a Christmas gift 2 years ago. I am now on my third charger cord which I
    just ordered on-line since they are no longer available in the stores. I called my local B&N before I ordered and was told to order the "new cord" which I did. What I received in the mail today is Not what I ordered. Instead of sending me the "new" cord design I received 2 of the S_ _ T original cords. Not a happy customer! And yes, I did go in to verify that I had ordered the new cord. My paperwork even shows that I ordered the new ones. Maybe B&N needs better customer service training or maybe they just need to have their employees pull their heads out of wherever they have their heads stuffed! Just sayin' I'm not happy!!! Someone mentioned a class action suit and I'm not sure that they aren't right! Count me in!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Wish I could give 0 stars. I am lucky if a cord lasts 6 months.

    Wish I could give 0 stars. I am lucky if a cord lasts 6 months. I have replaced so many I have lost count. I love my nook color, but will never buy another one. Barnes and Noble is so concerned with their consumers only being able to buy things from them that they are alienating their customers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    AWFUL. I had to tape together my charger within months of getti

    AWFUL. I had to tape together my charger within months of getting it. It worked for awhile that way, but now it won't work at all. Went to the Barnes & Noble store to replace it and they didn't have it in stock. I HAVE BEEN ON THE WAITING LIST FOR 2 MONTHS!!!!!!!!! Called customer service and they said I would have to pay shipping to get a new one. Extremely frustrated over the terrible charger and terrible customer service!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Barnes and Noble sell crap ..Will not buy anything from again ..

    Barnes and Noble sell crap ..Will not buy anything from again ..Can't find a replacement charger for my nook hd ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have a Nook Color and unfortunately we don't exist anymore. My

    I have a Nook Color and unfortunately we don't exist anymore. My NIm sure they are being made in some sweat shop by 3 year olds. My Nook has never been on the charger when I have read it but yet I have gone through 3 chargers in 2 years. I see the new replacement charger has a wide rubber block that holds the charger tab in securely. That means that B&N knew the cables were crap, let us buy numerous ones, didn't fess up to the screwy workmanship but made new ones. Ain't that sweet. I've kept that store in business with ordering over 500 books so you'd think they'd give me a darn charger for free. BTW this rating box is the worse setup I've ever seen. It goes straight down the line with no return. you can't read what is being written past 1 letter. the same guy who made this site designed the power cord.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    My cord is also defective in that the plastic plug-in broke in h

    My cord is also defective in that the plastic plug-in broke in half.  I planned to buy a new one;however after reading all the reviews, i am not going to waste my money.  I have been very happy with my Nook but the cord is a real problrm .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2014

    The power cord is an example of really bad design and production

    The power cord is an example of really bad design and production. B&Ns attitude toward it is just as bad. I just bought the second replacement 
    and my experience tells me that any replacement for the NOOK should be a  Kindle in the hope that the support will be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    I just ordered this thing (3rd replacement) and am assuming this

    I just ordered this thing (3rd replacement) and am assuming this will be the same poor quality although I hope not.
    Since B&N is well aware of the problems with this cord, it seems they could offer free shipping on the item. I love
    my Nook, but because of the poor cord and the shabby treatment with cord replacement, I'm not sure I'll ever buy
    another one. It is so very irritating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2014

    LOVE the new design. This is the third time I am having to repl

    LOVE the new design. This is the third time I am having to replace the power cable due to the prong bending. This is the first time I am using the updated configuration and I already like the way it feels. Much more comfortable while reading. I think the new design will be more stable; less likely to bend the prong. The only thing I miss is the light indicating there is power to the charger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    I love my Nook Tablet and have had it for some time. When my cha

    I love my Nook Tablet and have had it for some time. When my charger broke, I freaked out.  After seeing all these bad reviews, I won't be wasting my money on a product that obviously keeps having problems that B and N won't correct. You shouldn't waste your money either. My phone charger charges my Nook. It works slower but it's better than nothing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have had the original power cord and 2 yrs later it is still w

    I have had the original power cord and 2 yrs later it is still working like a charm. Then again I don't yank the cord out because I know how to treat my electronics.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 561 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 29