Customer Reviews for

Nook Color New Cable

Average Rating 1.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(315)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now nee

Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now needing my 3rd one. I bought the extended war which expired. I called the 800 number and was told that I had to buy one. You would that if 90% of your customers have a problem you would replace the cord free ....
Over 2 years later love Nook Color hate power cord. I am now needing my 3rd one. I bought the extended war which expired. I called the 800 number and was told that I had to buy one. You would that if 90% of your customers have a problem you would replace the cord free .I will be visiting the store and hopefully all will be good. Love the Nook free cords for everyone!!!! .

posted by 10683333 on November 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

83 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

BAD cord, bad design ¿ We customers deserve better than the brus

BAD cord, bad design —
We customers deserve better than the brush-off given by B&N re: this bad cord. 3 Strikes:
• bad manufacturing of the cord
• bad design in the location of the recharging plug
• bad exchange/replacement policy
I'm thinking it's time for a class...
BAD cord, bad design —
We customers deserve better than the brush-off given by B&N re: this bad cord. 3 Strikes:
• bad manufacturing of the cord
• bad design in the location of the recharging plug
• bad exchange/replacement policy
I'm thinking it's time for a class-action lawsuit.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    I love my NOOK Color; I loathe the charging mechanism. I am on m

    I love my NOOK Color; I loathe the charging mechanism. I am on my 4th one...just received it today and must return it because it simply does not fit. I am doubly concerned because it seems as though BN is making no effort to support the NOOK Color. After spending an obscene amount of $ on books as reading is one of the very few activities I enjoy due to my physical condition I am even more irritated. I tried to be very careful, to the point of "fixing" my last two cables with electrical tape. Otherwise I would probably be on number 6 or 7.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    The NOOK Tablet cable is a OKAY product. Don't get me wrong, I l

    The NOOK Tablet cable is a OKAY product. Don't get me wrong, I love my NOOK Tablet, but the cable, not so much. I have had my NOOK Tablet for about a year now and I've never really had any issues with the charger but the cable, I had to get a new one after two weeks of buying my NT and after that it worked fine. However, now when I plug it in, it turns green and not orange, which means it is not charging. The first night this happened, I was up until 3 A.M trying to get it to charge. And when it did charge, it only charged up to 6%!! I'm sure you can imagine how irritated I was. When I went online and I chatted with a NOOK expert, they were no help at all! They just said that "you know what, this happens to almost all NOOK chargers after a year or sooner." Can you imagine hearing that?! Eventually I had to go to the BN store and buy a cable for $25!!! I spent a lot of money on my NOOK and I not all that happy on spending $52 in all for my chargers that ended up not working. It really isn't fair to all us NOOK users that we spend hundreds of dollars on this stuff and the service is not good and their products don't work. I'm sorry to say, but I AM REALLY UPSET WITH THIS PRODUCT! Hope I helped!- ShyPurple100    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Love my Nook, hate the power cord. #3

    Love my Nook, hate the power cord. #3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    THE NOOK CABLE IS SOOOOO BAD, I CAN'T BELIEVE BARNES &NOBLES

    THE NOOK CABLE IS SOOOOO BAD, I CAN'T BELIEVE BARNES &NOBLES DOESN'T GIVE THEM AWAY. I also can't believe that B&N hasn't fixed this problem after so long. The customers (US) are defnitely being taken for granted. However, if something happens to my Nook, I will definitely switch brands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    This will be my third charger cable for my Nook Color; the first

    This will be my third charger cable for my Nook Color; the first one just stopped charging the tablet, the second cable broke off at the bottom of the Nook and thankfully it didn't break inside of it. So, now I am ordering my third cable. Thinking about getting a Kindle instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    I have had my Nook Tablet for 2 years and am now buying my THIRD

    I have had my Nook Tablet for 2 years and am now buying my THIRD cord.
    The placement is terrible. The cord itself keeps getting a short or the plug gets bent. I don't know. But it is a pain in the butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    old cable as shown in the picture is a bad design. Original las

    old cable as shown in the picture is a bad design. Original lasted 2 years. Bought new cable with new design today. Seems more secure and does not wiggle like the old one. only reason the new cable is getting two stars instead of one. Should have been given the new one free since the old one is a defective design - not my fault.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    I love my Nook Tablet and I  had purchased 2 more for my kids.  

    I love my Nook Tablet and I  had purchased 2 more for my kids.  The product has improved as with all technology but I still use the tablet and have not up graded to the HD.  Maybe at some point that will be in the budget.  I cords have been a night mare I have purchased at least 10 replacements, I hope the HD is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    I got my nook in the summer of 2012. The bendy part where the co

    I got my nook in the summer of 2012. The bendy part where the cord connect to the charger started breaking in the summer of 2013. Since then its been taped but still the n became green when i plugged it in. A couple of months ago it only became orange. This week the nook couldnt even recognize the charger was plugged in. I ordered a new charger, nervous that I'd get the same thing and have the same problem, but today it came and seemed to be a different model. Instead of the part that connects to the nook going straight down, it goes to the right and is held in with a grip. I hope this solves the problem of it breaking, but only time will tell. For now, the grip is too large to fit with my case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    I have no intention on purchasing another NOOK product period!

    I have no intention on purchasing another NOOK product period! When I have to upgrade, I'll purchase another product as the NOOK is proprietary and too limited for my needs. This less only costs me $150.00...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    THESE CHARGING CORDS ARE VERY POORLY MADE.I rate them one star

    THESE CHARGING CORDS ARE VERY POORLY MADE.I rate them one star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I love my Nook Color.  We have three of them, but the chargers c

    I love my Nook Color.  We have three of them, but the chargers could be improved.  One lasted 1.5 years and the other 2 lasted each one year.  I'm picking up 2 replacement cables tomorrow.  Right now we're using the cable from one of the car chargers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    I have had my nook color for just over two years. I have always

    I have had my nook color for just over two years. I have always had a hard time plugging it in and I do not use it while it is plugged in due to the bad placement of the port. Recently the cord has been intermittent and has now stopped working completely. This is a poor design and unstable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    My Nook usb cord stopped working about a month after purchased.

    My Nook usb cord stopped working about a month after purchased. It took about 3wks. for B&N to send a replacement. I had to take my
     two Nooks to a B&N store for charging, when I returned for them about two hours later, they were only about 60% charged. The
    replacement is now about one & a half yrs. old & is starting to fray at both ends of the cord & the wires are now visible. The strange thing 
    is that both usb frayed at the same time, "I mean all I do is plug them into the electrical outlet, its not like I'm yanking & pulling, or abusing
    these cables." I bought the newer HD tablet & the usb cord/cable is much more compact & efficient. So many more alternatives now
     to the Nook USBS, I now know, that I didn't know! Love my new Nook HD & bought one for mother, as her sight is degrading, & she
    really lovers hers as well, its also a littler lighter in weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    My third cord in as many years.  Never use the Nook Color while

    My third cord in as many years.  Never use the Nook Color while it is plugged in to the charger, the extra stress on the connector will surely cause it to fail extra quickly.  Heck, I even have the cable and Nook lying on a table to reduce as much stress on this poorly made cable tip as I can.  I got about 15 months out of my second cable by doing this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Poor design of the cable.  Had to get a free replacement cable 3

    Poor design of the cable.  Had to get a free replacement cable 3 months after getting the Nook Color.  That one lasted a year and now I'm buying a 2nd cable.  Customer Service has always been good though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I am so sad to read these reviews.  I guess I should feel lucky

    I am so sad to read these reviews.  I guess I should feel lucky that my USB Cord lasted this long (3 + years).  I am disappointed
    that the stores do not carry replacements.  They should if these things are not quality items and in need replacement.  Love my Nook! 
    Sad to read these reviews.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    The problem with the connector is that you have to buy this one.

    The problem with the connector is that you have to buy this one. And only this one. There are no substitutes. And they arent very sturdy. Ive had to buy 10 replacement cords because the connector that goes into the nook breaks. And they arent cheap either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    I have had my Nook Tablet for almost 2 years and I have had to r

    I have had my Nook Tablet for almost 2 years and I have had to replace the charging cable 6 times. I am getting sick and tired of spending money on a new charger when I know that it is going to end up breaking 1-2 months later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Well i had my nook for atleast a year now but now the charger ke

    Well i had my nook for atleast a year now but now the charger keeps acting up. It wouldn't let me charge my nook while it was on, so the only way i could charge it was if it was off. The next problem i encountered was having to hold the charger piece in the right place for it to even work. Then one day i look & my charger is completely dead ! So now i have to use my phone charger, smh, until i can buy another one. I dont know if it's me or the charger but it sucks. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2