Customer Reviews for

Nook Color Survival Guide: Step-by-Step User Guide for Nook Color eReader: Using Hidden Features, Downloading FREE eBooks, Sending eMail, and Surfing the Web

Average Rating 3
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

A Versatile Guide for a Versatile eReader

I received the Nook Color as an early Christmas present. This little gadget is my first eReader. After perusing some of the readers out there, I decided to ask for it because it is the first full-color eReader. After playing with it for even a few hours, I loved it, as ...
I received the Nook Color as an early Christmas present. This little gadget is my first eReader. After perusing some of the readers out there, I decided to ask for it because it is the first full-color eReader. After playing with it for even a few hours, I loved it, as it is fast and stable. I even tried a few picture books and my kids enjoyed them very much. Since I am not particularly tech savvy, I wanted to see how I could get the most out of my new reader. I especially wanted to find out how to take notes and highlight passages. Since this is the only Nook Color guide currently in the B&N store, I thought I'd give it a shot.
 
I was pleasantly surprised how easy it was to find information, and the organization is what I loved most about this book. One click and I was in the chapter that told me, clearly and without any jargon how to take notes while reading. That is when I became curious about other useful tips I could learn. In the Music and Games chapter, I learned about listening to music and playing Sudoku, one of my favorites, right on my Nook Color. Finally, the Free Books chapter helped to save a few bucks and find the same great literature.
 
Admittedly, some of the sections in the book, like editing advanced settings, are for more advanced users. However, this is great since I will maybe be one of those users one day and these additional tips will come in handy. Overall, I would recommend this guide to beginners to learn a whole lot about the Nook Color and eReaders in general, and anyone looking to learn a little extra if they have used eReaders before.

posted by CaraJohnson on December 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

The owners manual, regurgitated.

What a scam, paying $2.99 for what amounts to basically another owners manual. There is NO new information here, don't waste your money. If you want anything beyond stock information, real tips, tricks, etc. just google Nook Color, and include keywords such as tips, h...
What a scam, paying $2.99 for what amounts to basically another owners manual. There is NO new information here, don't waste your money. If you want anything beyond stock information, real tips, tricks, etc. just google Nook Color, and include keywords such as tips, hacks, root, etc.

posted by grandao on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A Versatile Guide for a Versatile eReader

    I received the Nook Color as an early Christmas present. This little gadget is my first eReader. After perusing some of the readers out there, I decided to ask for it because it is the first full-color eReader. After playing with it for even a few hours, I loved it, as it is fast and stable. I even tried a few picture books and my kids enjoyed them very much. Since I am not particularly tech savvy, I wanted to see how I could get the most out of my new reader. I especially wanted to find out how to take notes and highlight passages. Since this is the only Nook Color guide currently in the B&N store, I thought I'd give it a shot.
     
    I was pleasantly surprised how easy it was to find information, and the organization is what I loved most about this book. One click and I was in the chapter that told me, clearly and without any jargon how to take notes while reading. That is when I became curious about other useful tips I could learn. In the Music and Games chapter, I learned about listening to music and playing Sudoku, one of my favorites, right on my Nook Color. Finally, the Free Books chapter helped to save a few bucks and find the same great literature.
     
    Admittedly, some of the sections in the book, like editing advanced settings, are for more advanced users. However, this is great since I will maybe be one of those users one day and these additional tips will come in handy. Overall, I would recommend this guide to beginners to learn a whole lot about the Nook Color and eReaders in general, and anyone looking to learn a little extra if they have used eReaders before.

    60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    The owners manual, regurgitated.

    What a scam, paying $2.99 for what amounts to basically another owners manual. There is NO new information here, don't waste your money. If you want anything beyond stock information, real tips, tricks, etc. just google Nook Color, and include keywords such as tips, hacks, root, etc.

    39 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Wonderful!!!

    I was lucky to receive my Nook Color for Christmas!!! The guides that come with the color are great but this survival guide goes the step further. I am all new to my nook so this is a great help! It helps answer some questions that the other guides do not!!

    29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    After seeing video and reading the users guide I was still confused. I downloaded this book and would have paid 3X's the amount for it. The step by step instructions and pictures were a GREAT help.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Some helpful information

    If you need to read ahead of time how something operaste this is very easy to understand. I typically don't read any type of manual until I can't figure something out so I did know most of the information. There were however a few things I that had me saying "Ah there's something new" so all in all it can be a helpful resource in how to operate your nookColor.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Provides Guidance Beyond a Technical Manual

    I honestly thought the Nook Color would be very heavy on the eyes, but after playing with one at my local B&N store, I was convinced to buy it.
    While it was an excellent decision, I soon found myself confused by some of the interface features. This guide certainly helped me to clear up any confusion.

    For the life of me, I could not figure out how to organize my books. I was especially confused about archiving books. The new 'shelf' feature is extremely difficult to use, and I did not even understand its purpose at first. This survival guide explained it to me and now I use this feature on a regular basis.

    The difference between this guide and any others available for this or any other device is that I spent virtually no time trying to locate the information I needed. I looked up what I needed in the nicely laid out index and there it was under Managing Media.

    I bought my Nook when it came out in November and did not expect to need a manual. Ironically, I find myself coming back to this book again and again for guidance.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    helpful but why should I have to pay??

    FIND A FRIEND! Its a LEND ME book! yes, I watched the videos which felt more like advertisements. I already have the NOOKCOLOR, you don't need to sell me on it anymore. Just tell me how to use it effectively and efficiently! THAT IS WHAT THIS LI'L EBOOK DID! Shame on B&N for not making this be a FREEBIE! I wished I would have waited for my sis-in-law to buy this so I could have borrowed it from her NOOK! I am glad that I have it now,(thankgoodness it was only 3bucks) but it should be "STANDARD ISSUE" with the purchase. justsayin'....

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Great help

    I learned more from this book than I did in the class Barns and Noble offed. Well worth the pricce, which was not mhch

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    OK

    This was actually a very helpful book... but only if you are inexperienced with your nook color. If you are like me and have already fiddled around with it a lot, you probably already know most if not all of what is in this nook color guide. But if you are new to using nook color, then this book is pretty informative and better than the user guide that comes with the nook color. Certainly worth the 3 dollars if you don't already know all this stuff.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Nook+SurvivalGui%0A%0ANook+survival+guide

    Great+for+the+first+time+user.+Easy+to+use+for+the+basics.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Basic knowledge

    If you have already played around with your nook then you will already know how to do most of the topics. It is good for someone that does not know how to work the device at all.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Easy and informative.

    I have never owned an e-book reader or a laptop for that matter. I had a lot of trouble at first. I think I called the help line every day. :)Then I ordered this book and it just gelled. I am still no expert but I love my new NOOK COLOR!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    This is a great starter book.

    This gives you information on how to do thing with the nook color.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Great Tool!

    Sure, the nook comes with its own user guide, but this guide is so much more idiot proof.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    not worth it

    there is nothing in this book you cannot learn from the manual provided with the nook or by playing around with the nook for an hour.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Great

    Tells u things u need to know the most.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    A great companion book to your device

    Great information that is readily available to maximize the use of your Nook!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Timmy trimble

    Loved it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Waste of money

    Everything in here is covered in the guides you get with the Nook Color.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Worth more than what I paid

    When I read the manual provided by Barnes and Noble, it seemed very uninformative. The entire thing was text-heavy, and written
    very much like a novella rather than a how-to guide. In short, I did not find it helpful at all and could see why the thing was free.

    If I were the author of this title, I would not provide the book for free, simply because there is too much material that is NOT common
    knowledge, and which is really worth more than the asking price. The price of the official Nook manual is included in the selling price.
    I am not sure whether some of the other reviewers only read the sample, but the book is full of useful tips and tricks. Try the Tips and Tricks chapter, for instance. Who knew?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11