Customer Reviews for

Nookie

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Couldnt stop reading this book. Very interesting kept me in shoc

Couldnt stop reading this book. Very interesting kept me in shock

posted by Venus85 on August 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

AAMBC Book Reviews

Nookie tells the story of Joy, an 18-year-old high school senior who finds herself in a new school in a new town. Amidst this change in venue, she finds that some things have remained the same such as her parents' constant bickering and neglect. Furthermore, she finds o...
Nookie tells the story of Joy, an 18-year-old high school senior who finds herself in a new school in a new town. Amidst this change in venue, she finds that some things have remained the same such as her parents' constant bickering and neglect. Furthermore, she finds out that her boyfriend of four years has already begun seeing another girl behind her back. Meanwhile, she meets a kindly photographer named Kevin whom she meets when she runs away from one of her parents' violent arguments. And this is only the beginning. Unfortunately, there is not much more to this story about Joy and the struggles of her life with inattentive and dysfunctional parents. Author Anieshea Dansby does not provide enough of a story here to make the reader care about Joy or anyone else in this book that is sorely lacking in plot. The editing mistakes at least give the reader something to do while reading this story. Otherwise, Nookie is utterly uninteresting and appears to have no point beyond a few explicit sex scenes. Perhaps the strictest devotee to urban or street lit may find something redeeming in this story. However, those who have higher expectations in their reading materials will be sorely disappointed.

TaKeshia Brooks
AAMBC Reviewer

posted by aambcreviews on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    AAMBC Book Reviews

    Nookie tells the story of Joy, an 18-year-old high school senior who finds herself in a new school in a new town. Amidst this change in venue, she finds that some things have remained the same such as her parents' constant bickering and neglect. Furthermore, she finds out that her boyfriend of four years has already begun seeing another girl behind her back. Meanwhile, she meets a kindly photographer named Kevin whom she meets when she runs away from one of her parents' violent arguments. And this is only the beginning. Unfortunately, there is not much more to this story about Joy and the struggles of her life with inattentive and dysfunctional parents. Author Anieshea Dansby does not provide enough of a story here to make the reader care about Joy or anyone else in this book that is sorely lacking in plot. The editing mistakes at least give the reader something to do while reading this story. Otherwise, Nookie is utterly uninteresting and appears to have no point beyond a few explicit sex scenes. Perhaps the strictest devotee to urban or street lit may find something redeeming in this story. However, those who have higher expectations in their reading materials will be sorely disappointed.

    TaKeshia Brooks
    AAMBC Reviewer

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Joy had it rough it was okay for 99 cent

    Joy had it rough it was okay for 99 cent

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    MYSS CRYSS

    This book was a very boring and predictable read. Nothing about it was thought provoking.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    So, So

    The story Line was eventful. However, the gramar and spelling errors got under my skin. The aurthor needs to pick up speed....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Eh

    It just seemed a bit too unrealistic..i mean the things she did and went thru seemed to be so predictable but i kept reading hoping to have my jaw drop at something..anything..never happened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Couldnt stop reading this book. Very interesting kept me in shoc

    Couldnt stop reading this book. Very interesting kept me in shock

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    A waste of 99cent

    I've read some amazing urban books for 99cent but this book is by far one of the worst books I've ever read. It had no concept to it this is not the type of book that you can place your self in and picture every moment it PRACTICALLY had the same location the entire book and I feel the book was way too long to only have one or two locations. It was so boring that I skimmed the book for something exciting and came up with nothing DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Cliffhanger warning

    This book is pretty good. I feel sorry for Joy, the main character...I'm curious to see what happens next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Just ok

    If you have nothing else to read then read this book, with the title being Nookie...I was looking for more sex in the book. But I hope she gets what's coming to her because they way she did dude towards the end was shiesty as hell!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Great short srot Great short story

    Leaves you wanting more to read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Great book!

    This was a good book especially being 99 cents right up my alley! Can't wait for part two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Ok read

    My question is did she or Dre kill rob? But other than that i agree with most readers, it seemed some what in real. BuNJt its better than most books ive read. Four stars for effort one for the direction you was headed with it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Good book

    Better than expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    It was an ok read once you got past all the grammatical errors.

    It was an ok read once you got past all the grammatical errors. I was trying to visualize a lot of the scenes and the things happening but it seemed a little too far stretched for her to go through so many things and survive. I found it was an ok read for the .99 I paid for it. The pace was right on with everything rolling into the next and everything was right on the money it did have me like oh dam, and it kept me turning them pages. It had me wanting to know more of how she turns out at the same time hoping they do better on the errors next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Wow

    Loved it!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Quick read

    I thought it was pretty good. It was a very quick read and a little confusing at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Basic

    Was ok could have a better ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Good book!! (:

    I really liked this book. It was really good especially for the cost. They did have a lot of gramar errors but it didn't really bother me. I finished this book in one day. I can't wait to get part 2! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Love it

    I loved this look. It kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Im still trying to figure out what the book was about

    This book had absoloutley no plot. It felt like i was still in the beggining of the book when i was on the last page. Do not waste your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3