Customer Reviews for

Normal Gets You Nowhere

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

It's a no bs type of book but at the same its like a constructive pep talk from Kelly. Knowing Kelly being nice isnt normal

posted by 9901247 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Definitely Not Normal

There were a few things I liked about this book. Cutrone encourages readers to be extraordinary with compassion to make a difference in their communities. She justifiably has no tolerance for those who ignore the suffering of others when they have the power and resourc...
There were a few things I liked about this book. Cutrone encourages readers to be extraordinary with compassion to make a difference in their communities. She justifiably has no tolerance for those who ignore the suffering of others when they have the power and resources to help. She writes about loyalty and surrounding ourselves with true friends who love us unconditionally and stick with us even if we behave badly at times, and to be that kind of friend as well. Cutrone shares about the deaths of her father and grandparents and in doing so shows us a glimpse of the kinder, gentler person she is behind the tough exterior.

But I did struggle with most of the book and message. It really wasn't so much a book of advice for women as it was an opportunity for Cutrone to rant against people, politics, and moral views that she doesn't like under the guise of being a "mama wolf" to mentor young women.

Cutrone uses the Merriam-Webtser definition of normal (according with, constituting, or not deviating from a norm, rule, or principle; conforming to a type, standard, or regular pattern; of, relating to, or characterized by average intelligence or development.) to make the case that anyone fitting that description must certainly be dull and incapable of having real success or fulfillment in life.

The frequent use of the "f-word" was personally offensive and distracting. I'm not sure who is "normal" - me for being offended or her for not. Her disdain for Judeo-Christian values comes through as she preaches her self-made anything goes religion of self and goddess worship with references to her spiritual mentor, a Hindu goddess she calls The Universal Mother, page after page.

The basic positive message of needing to do something different if "normal" isn't getting us where we want to be is a good one but for me, it got lost in the author's angst and delivery. If you really like Cutrone, then you won't have the same issues with this book that I did and will probably like it. I didn't.

posted by Books_And_Chocolate on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Definitely Not Normal

    There were a few things I liked about this book. Cutrone encourages readers to be extraordinary with compassion to make a difference in their communities. She justifiably has no tolerance for those who ignore the suffering of others when they have the power and resources to help. She writes about loyalty and surrounding ourselves with true friends who love us unconditionally and stick with us even if we behave badly at times, and to be that kind of friend as well. Cutrone shares about the deaths of her father and grandparents and in doing so shows us a glimpse of the kinder, gentler person she is behind the tough exterior.

    But I did struggle with most of the book and message. It really wasn't so much a book of advice for women as it was an opportunity for Cutrone to rant against people, politics, and moral views that she doesn't like under the guise of being a "mama wolf" to mentor young women.

    Cutrone uses the Merriam-Webtser definition of normal (according with, constituting, or not deviating from a norm, rule, or principle; conforming to a type, standard, or regular pattern; of, relating to, or characterized by average intelligence or development.) to make the case that anyone fitting that description must certainly be dull and incapable of having real success or fulfillment in life.

    The frequent use of the "f-word" was personally offensive and distracting. I'm not sure who is "normal" - me for being offended or her for not. Her disdain for Judeo-Christian values comes through as she preaches her self-made anything goes religion of self and goddess worship with references to her spiritual mentor, a Hindu goddess she calls The Universal Mother, page after page.

    The basic positive message of needing to do something different if "normal" isn't getting us where we want to be is a good one but for me, it got lost in the author's angst and delivery. If you really like Cutrone, then you won't have the same issues with this book that I did and will probably like it. I didn't.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    I would not recommend.

    I purchased this book months ago and I'm still trying to get to the end. She has another book that I really enjoyed but the energy of that book versus this book, horrid. This book seems like she was forced to make another book. She talks about things that I would not use in my day to day life and would not suggest to others. I skipped more pages than I have read and keep in mind, I HAVE NOT FINISHED THE BOOK. I would scold my child for reading this because she is capable of ruining their lives with some of the examples so provides for trying to support her points.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Conforming gets you everywhere

    In this book Kelly Cutrone misues the word "normal" when she means "conforming. THere are two parts to her book; in the first part, she tries to have a "I mean, I'm with the "with it" crowd--and
    blasts those people who believe in the 10 commandments;
    then she blasts people who believe in Christmas, and then she blasts those people who celebrate Christmas -- all under the guise of treating her readers to a more "enlightened, gentler, humane creed. SHe blasts people who eat turkey (whet would she have people do, starve?) and blasts those who wear fur. SHe even blasts Mother Theresa.
    Second, she uses "f***k" alot, and then throws in "I mean" liberally, as in "I mean, like, LA valley girl meets New York, you know what I mean?"
    In the second part of the book, all her disguise of being "kinder, gentler' are thrown away; she basically says to the reader "I refuse to be killed by your narcissistic psychic footprint". In other words, she is accusing the reader of being narcissistic--and this from a person who for about 200 pages talks about nothing but herself--in not just one, but two books.
    Lastly, she says "normal gets you nowhere" but it seems that what she is really doing is conforming to the attitudes and beliefts of those in the fashion industry. After all, here she is saying people should have compassion, meanwhile, her fashion industry is notorious of having workers in sweat shops; she complains about people eating turkey, when people are going hungry, she says she represents an "enlightened and more humane human being, those that represent an end to human suffering and want basic human rights" when she fires five people "compassionately" of course- in one day.
    Although Kelly Cutrone said that "normal gets you nowhere" what she shows in her book is how she has conformed to the fashion industry, and New York and Hollywood society. In New York and Hollywoood, there is alot of disdain and contempt and resentment towards the Peorias, of the country; her book exemplifies those beliefs and attitudes, and shows she is in total and absolute conformity with those attitudes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! Thank goodness I didn't buy this book, b

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
    Thank goodness I didn't buy this book, but instead got it from the library.  The overview leads one to believe that Cutrone is writing about how the non-conformity of such people as Nelson Mandela, Joan of Arc, Eleanor Roosevelt, etc., "hung a light on their differences--and changed humanity in the process."

    There were a couple of pages celebrating Eleanor Roosevelt's accomplishments, but mostly it seemed to be a ran about how she bullies her way through life.

    I am not a prude, but when an author uses the "F" word 10 or more times per page, I just want to tell her, go find a dictionary or a thesaurus.  There are tons of other fantastic and interesting words in the English language.

    If I could give this a "zero" rating, I would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Someone should tell this broad to keep her dayjob. I really want

    Someone should tell this broad to keep her dayjob.
    I really wanted to like this book - I really did. I always find myself astonished and inspired by an individiual's story of triumph and defiance in a unoriginal, conformist socoety. And when I saw the Cutrone on the front cover of this book with her coal black eyeliner narrowing her eyes at me on the front cover, I thought to myself "Oh - this is gonna be a life changer."
    Yea - not quite.
    This really is one of those books you should never put down, because once you do - you'll never want to pick it up again.
    I understand that the woman is opinionated - but, she ranted on so many irrelevant topics that it became nauseating. The whole book was her outlet for venting her radical beliefs and bombarding the reader with them, and indirectly calling them retarded if they didn't agree with her. 5 chapters into the book, and I was still asking myself, "When is she going to tell me something important?"

    Cutrone is the perfect example of a celebrity who experience sucess in one arena of life, and assumes that they'll be amazing in every other venture they pursue. Sorry - but not sorry. Not everyone is meant to be a writer.

    Frankly - she should've named the book "Rambling, gets you nowhere." Because that's all she did thoughout the book.

    Seemed like a promising book, but unfortunately, it was thwarted by amateur writing and over-imposing concepts. I didn't pick up this book to be preached at. Thanks - but, no thanks.
    Stick to accesorizing beautiful women, Cutrone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    It's a no bs type of book but at the same its like a constructive pep talk from Kelly. Knowing Kelly being nice isnt normal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a Must Read

    Kelly Cutrone tells it like it is. She uses everyday women/male relate able experiences to teach lessons and says from there to change your life. Shows in her own way be who you yourself want to be. Not how society is structured for you to be.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Kelly told me so!

    "Normal gets you nowhere", was another language that spoke to me. It had all the opposite teachings that society, mothers and friends repeated over and over again about our place in this world. I knew there was something more to life than what was only expected of a good girl, daughter and wife. This book not only made me want to question things but to be more knowledgeable of myself, the law and the many women of history that helped pave the way for equality in the USA.

    This journey we call life and what are purpose is is sometimes vague and hard to figure out. It takes knowledge of yourself and belief of your values that will open your mind to unlimited possibilities. About a year ago, I went through a mental breakdown because I was getting tired of living quietly and just doing what others wanted me to do so that they will be pleased. I was totally lost and didn't know who I was!

    I felt life was wasted on me because I wasn't living life and just wanted the days to pass by so that I would get older quicker. But I was a coward to take my own life, but knew that I saw my life much more meaningful and larger. I'm heading towards my freedom step by step and I know that I will make it through because Kelly Cutrone told me so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    The best no-nonsense advice you'll ever get

    She gives you an alternative way of looking at your life, especially if you feel like you've always been criticized and completely misunderstood by other people. Her advice motivates you to be yourself, not make excuses about it, and is truly empowering. I would reccommend this book to anyone striving for success and would highly reccommend it to anyone pursuing a career in the fashion industry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I thought it was humorous, and edgy. Good for younger women who

    I thought it was humorous, and edgy. Good for younger women who need inspiration to be yourself. (and men too)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Pretty good

    Honestly, I liked Kelly's first book more. Although this was a good read, I felt this was more her opinion on certain topics than informative. Still good though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Not only is this a special lady herself but this book leads you to the right path

    This is not a, 'just take this way to betterment book', but this is a book that helps one find themselves in a way. Kelly Cutrone is a balls-to-the-wall female, mother, and human being. After seeing her yesterday with my little sister I truly believe that what she says in this book are truly her own beliefs, thoughts and insights.
    I would recommend this book to anyone though its mostly geared to the female/gay audience but the message in itself is good for anyone.

    Get this book and get her first literary work, "IF YOU HAVE TO CRY, GO OUTSIDE" both are of good use to anyone that is interested in bettering themselves, or the world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2