Customer Reviews for

Norse Code

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Who would have guessed Mythology was SO MUCH FUN!

Look out Comicon - a new set of characters is heading your way, and this time you have a Hispanic woman Valkyrie heading the cast of characters! I enjoyed this so much that I've bought more copies to give as gifts.

Rarely is there a first effort fantasy novel that ...
Look out Comicon - a new set of characters is heading your way, and this time you have a Hispanic woman Valkyrie heading the cast of characters! I enjoyed this so much that I've bought more copies to give as gifts.

Rarely is there a first effort fantasy novel that captures so much in one book. The story is tight, the writing is crisp with outstanding and memorable descriptive qualities. Norse Code is great for the visual reader, because the places are so vivid, and the style of writing is unusually lush for such a dark and fantastic world.

There is also a depth of character development that had me cheering for Mist and her associates. I started reading this quickly for a light read, but slowed down to drink in the sparkling bits in the writing. Again, a fabulous first novel by this author! I can see this book as a film or (we can HOPE) the beginning of a series.

posted by OnlinerNotes on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Read

I would have to say that this book puts a unique spin on the world of mythology. I portrays living gods and gives each its own unique personality. I think that this is a decent read. something quick to pick up between series.

posted by Skuatmraa on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who would have guessed Mythology was SO MUCH FUN!

    Look out Comicon - a new set of characters is heading your way, and this time you have a Hispanic woman Valkyrie heading the cast of characters! I enjoyed this so much that I've bought more copies to give as gifts.

    Rarely is there a first effort fantasy novel that captures so much in one book. The story is tight, the writing is crisp with outstanding and memorable descriptive qualities. Norse Code is great for the visual reader, because the places are so vivid, and the style of writing is unusually lush for such a dark and fantastic world.

    There is also a depth of character development that had me cheering for Mist and her associates. I started reading this quickly for a light read, but slowed down to drink in the sparkling bits in the writing. Again, a fabulous first novel by this author! I can see this book as a film or (we can HOPE) the beginning of a series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific mythological science fiction thriller.

    Civilization everywhere is in total collapse with no hope for any survival. In that environs the Valkyrie expecting Ragnarok apply NORSE CODE genetic testing to choose the army of the dead.---------

    Due to a tragedy that left her sister dead, Valkyrie perfect warrior Mist nee Kathy Carlisle no longer believes in the Ragnarok plan. Instead she does the unexpected by simply vanishing. At the same time she dispears from the Odin project group's Valkyrie sect, the deity Hermod investigates signs of the end of days in California. He and Mist meet and travel to the afterlife of Helheim for differing reasons. Whereas she wants to rescue her sibling, he wants to rescue a world. Apocalypse increasingly seems imminent as the unlikely pair try to prevent the end but increasingly they expect to fail. Instead ancient prophecies are being manipulated by conniving Gods trying to regain the lost power they once yielded.-----------

    NORSE CODE is a fresh combining of genome research with Norse mythology. Mist and Hermod are a terrific pairing as she is on a personal quest no longer believing in prophesies, Gods, or science; while he is a nothing God who when he had some power he still was in the bottom rung of the pantheon food chain. This couple only has a world to save starting perhaps with her sister. Mindful of the Marvel comic books Thor premise, Greg van Eekhout provides his imprint with this terrific mythological science fiction thriller.--------

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ragnarok, Valkyries, and Norse gods. What more could you want?

    The NorseCODE genome project was designed to identify descendants of Odin. What it found was Kathy Castillo, a murdered MBA student brought back from the dead to serve as a Valkyrie in the Norse god's army. Given a sword and a new name, Mist's job is to recruit soldiers for the war between the gods at the end of the world - and to kill those who refuse to fight. But as the twilight of the gods descends, Mist makes other plans.

    This book was amazing! I gave it 5 stars for sheer originality as well as for having great characters and a good plotline. I mean, honestly, how many books have you ever come across featuring the Norse gods and Ragnarok? I vaguely remember Odin and Loki, but the other gods and mythology were new to me. Greg did a great job of providing short backgrounds when necessary, and made it easy to keep track of everyone.

    Mist is a new Valkyrie who is not really comfortable with her job of finding new recruits for the final battle between the gods. On her very first job, when her first recruit is deemed unworthy and is set on the road to Helheim (the land of the dead), Mist decides to embark on a rescue mission. She will not only rescue her recruit, but also her murdered sister Lilly. To do this, she needs the help of the only one to ever go to Helheim and back, the Norse god Hermod.

    Hermod has problems of his own and would rather just be left alone, but somehow winds up accompanying Mist on her rescue mission. Along with her bodyguard Grimnir and Hermod's loyal dog Winston, they set off on the adventure to end all adventures. And hey, while they're at it, why not prevent the end of the world as well?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Really cool Norse Urban Fantasy

    I always feel like I should take the time to give a review on a book that I felt was worth my time and this book was def note worthy. The characters are likeable esspecially Hermod. The book was full of norse myth which is very refreashing from the average fantasy novel. Give it a shot. Its exciting and the landscape is always changing. I hope that these reviews help and encourage Greg Van Eekhout to write more novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Completely offbeat and yet fantastic.

    It was a very random moment when I happen to see the spine. I thought, 'eh, why not'. The title was okay, the quick blurb seemed good, I took a chance. I am so glad I did. I was pleasantly surprise at how Greg filled in the gaps of of details in Norse Mythology and made me truly believe the events in the book were not only tangible but possible. It brought to life a diamond in rags. I will likely reread this one for many years to come. Hermond hands a little tighter in my flitting thoughts now...how odd.

    I would really like to see similar style/mythology books from this author in the future.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice Read

    I would have to say that this book puts a unique spin on the world of mythology. I portrays living gods and gives each its own unique personality. I think that this is a decent read. something quick to pick up between series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book takes us through an interesting journey into the world

    This book takes us through an interesting journey into the world of Norse mythology. The nice thing about this book is that the author gives enough background and information about Norse mythology to help the layman figure out what's going on, but not too much as to make it into an overwrought mythology/literature lesson. The premise of the book is interesting and time-relevant with the Thor, Avengers, and other Marvel movies of the last few years: NorseCODE is a genetics company run by Valkyries to hunt down those on earth (Midgard) who are of Odin's bloodline. The end of the world, Ragnarok, is nigh and the forces of Odin and Asgard need to fill their ranks. Events set into motion eons before humans were thought of foretell of gods' deaths and when Ragnarok will take place, meaning plans must be made. Which is where Mist comes in. Once human but now reincarnated as Valkyrie, she must now hunt down those with Odin's blood and hope they pass the test to fight on Asgard's front. After a potential soldier retrieval goes wrong, Mist now is on a mission to set things right, causing her to go AWOL from the Valkyries and join forces with Hermod, one of Odin's sons who has taken a self-imposed exile in all the other eight worlds save Asgard. She convinces this nomadic god to join her cause to break into Helheim (the underworld) to hep make amends for the botched retrieval job. As he is the only being to have entered and returned from Helheim without, you know, dying, Hermod was the god for her. But the two end up working together to thwart the dominoes falling to kick off Ragnarok. 

    The plot was a well-written blend of urban fantasy and Norse myth, adventure and suspense. Is there more to the beginning of the end of the world? Is there someone on the "inside" working to make sure Ragnarok comes to fruition? Can a rogue Valkyrie and a god with commitment issues possibly stop the worlds from ending in a fiery war? You think that they're going to be able to pull it off until roughly the half of the book... then things take a turn for the worse. I began to wonder if a) this was the first book in a series and things were going to continue in the following volumes or b) this was going to be on F'ing depressing book. And I did a little digging, no this book is not part of a series. Things aren't looking good for the beings of Midgard. Of course, I will not say anything since I'm against spoilers, but I will say that this read ended in a way I did not see coming. 

    However, I do have one pet peeve with this book. The genetics company, NorseCODE, in the grand scheme of the book, is barely mentioned and gets seems to be a small stepping-stone to the rest of the "stop the end of the world" crusade that takes up the rest of the plot. I'm not sure if the author was looking for a cute play on words to get your attention (sadly, I'll admit that's how I was drawn to this book and ultimately purchasing it) and a secondary/tertiary plot point. The NorseCODE program does explain how the Asgardians are beefing up their army for the impending doom, and a little bit of the why, but the hunt for these Odin-born is not the focus of the story---as you think it should be if the book is named after it. In spite of the slightly misused title, I highly recommend this book for a good read on a lazy autumn or winter afternoon. If you're a fan of urban fantasy, of mythology and lore, and like your horses with eight legs, then this book is for you. It was a good read with a fresh take on mythology and fantasy, and an overall satisfying experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Poo

    I like poop

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Flat all the way around

    This is another book that I bought on a whim. It was just interesting enough that I didn't move on to something else before I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Definately off beat but fun

    Dealing with the end of the world from an Odinist point of view is certainly a daring and interesting concept. Cutting to bottom line, I enjoyed it and happy to have read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unreadable, dreadful and bizarre

    At first glance the novel looked complicated so it was no surprise that after a few pages I was truly scratching my head, first question was "why am I torturing myself by reading this?" and they second was "what the heck is going on? ". I hated this book, it truly felt like a chore reading it, I had to force myself to get though each chapter that felt wooden and stiff..characters saying words and going though motions, it felt like playing with paper dolls, with no substance and depth to the semi pretty façade.

    I won't even talk about the story because it's kinda dumb, but lots of things about it pissed me off to no end. One of them was the way the warriors were found, supposingly the descendants of Odin who's blood line and unlucky genes made them favorable candidates to fight in the upcoming Ragnarok ( Twilight of the Gods, water submerges the world, lots of important Norse Gods die, yad yad yada...) were fooled into getting their mouth swabbed for fifty bucks so that some lab could take their DNA and if they fit the gene, then there was only one way to get them to join the army, by death...I can't imagine any sane person submitting themselves to some freak test for nothing, so that all ready made me dislike the book, you cant build a fantasy story on something so ridiculous, not in my world. The rest was as bad as this idea, Mist was a little mouse of a fighter, her quest to find her sister was overtaking her other job and overall the book was not pleasant, I read because I enjoy it but this was just not happening with this clunker, I hate trashing books but this isn't something that I see most people enjoying.

    - Kasia S.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2