Customer Reviews for

North River: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    If you like reading about NYC

    As usual Pete Hamill delivers an interesting look into the lives of every day New Yorkers and their interplay with the growth of the city.Connecting characters from other writings was fun to see. He really has a great feel for a great city.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Takes one to New York in the 30's

    This is an excellent book that transports one to New York 70 years ago. It has characters that are full and an easy writing style that lulls one into reading the book. Very recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simplistic Love Story

    This is the first book that I read by Pete Hamill and was impressed with his writing style. Though this was not a sit on the edge of your seat type of novel it was never boring. It was interesting to read about New York City during the depression era. The characters and the plot were interesting. Delaney is a doctor who lives alone and comes home to find his grandson, Carlito on his doorstep. He hires an immigrant women, Rose to help care for Carlito. They begin to become a family and Delaney is beginning to have romantic feelings for Rosa but the are from separate classes, he a doctor, she domestic help which wasn't acceptable in that era. It was a nice love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good read.

    This book surprised me with its character development. First read of this author. Will definitely consider others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Winner!

    My husband bought this book, read it and casually mentioned I might like it. I got into it immediately, finished it in 2 days and it has stayed with me ever since. I really loved this book and highly recommend it to anyone interested in a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I just recently discovered Pete Hamill (Snow in August) and thoroughly enjoy his writing style and stories. This story also "gets you hooked" and keeps your interest throughout, but it needed something with a bit more impact or a bit more drama to occur. I would receommend the book and I thoroughly enjoyed the descriptions of life during the depression in New Yourk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    A good story about an interesting time (1930's)in America's most interesting city of the time (New York) Some great subplots that never really mateialize and the ending is too sappy and predictable for the grit and toughness that is described. Still a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1