Customer Reviews for

North and South (North and South Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I LOVE this book! When I first read it, I couldn't put it down!

    I LOVE this book! When I first read it, I couldn't put it down! John Jakes is one of my favorite authors!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    Like Family

    The North and South trilogy introduces readers to two families, one from the North and one from the South....I felt I became members of these families as I read of their lives before, during and after the Civil War. When I reached the last page of the trilogy I felt sad I had to say good bye to 'family.' I felt like I truly was there back in the 1800s.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Absolutely Incredible

    I could not put the book down. You get to follow the Hazards and the Mains before, during and after the war and get a great idea of what the war was like and how it affected people. This is a truly moving book. When you are done with it you feel like you became a part of the families. I recommend this book to anyone who just loves to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    North and South an excellent American novel

    This novel is truly outstanding. Jakes's description of West Point and the rest of the country at this time period is discriptive enough you actually feel like you are there. Furthermore, the idea that friendship is more important than political ideals is very applicable to this time period.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    Absolutely wonderful!!

    I have read the entire trilogy and it is wonderful. Would recommend that everyone read this trilogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    The Best Exciting Book You'll Ever Read!!!

    This book has you literally on the edge of your seat while your reading it. It's just amazing to read about a story of two great friends who will do anything to keep their friendship. One's from the south, and the other is from the north.And to be friends during the civil war was astonishing. It gets interesting the more you read it.The story is so incredible you'll want to read it over and over again. It's remarkable and you'll LOVE it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Hard to put down!

    As daunting as it is with so many pages, this book really does a great job of taking hold of you and not letting go. Jakes does a fantastic job describing the settings and putting you inside the minds of the characters. There are so many different characters in the novel, many in the same family. The initricately weaved relationships they all pursue with one another makes for an amazing journey! You really feel like your in the middle of the all the heated arguments and conflicts during this time period. I'm only halfway through the book and I'm already looking forward to reading the second book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    the best book in the world!!

    If you want a really good book you should read this trilogy! it hooks you to the 2 families and make it hard to say goodbye at the end. Patrick Swayzee and James Read star in the epic movie that is such a good movie that gets you hooked in so you can't say ok its getting late better turn the movie off. my kids were saying leave it on leave it on because the loved it so much. my daughter is reading the books because she loved the movie so much and she is 8! so i recommend this book to anyone and everyone who can read and loves the Civil War time period!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    Best book ever

    I read all of the North and South trilogoy when I was 12 and absolutely loved each of them being a history fan. Now I'm 18 and would read them again in a second. I would recomend these books to anyone. The story is so true of the struggles of war and different ways of life and how to make a friendship work in the midst of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2001

    the best

    I loved this book i have seen the trilogy on the miniseries but i would recomend the novels to anyone who wants a good trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Read

    I read this book 30 plus years ago. Enjoyed then and every time since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Lioncrown

    He meowed im glad the forcematter only pinned you and if your still looking to have kits im always hear. He meows were is your clan?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Celestialwing

    "Me too! And thank you! My clan is at "little heroes" all results. Camp is result three." She licked his cheek and bounded torward her home Florescentclan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Such a good

    BEST BOOK IN HISTORY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Read it!!! It's about the civil war!

    The book is awsome! I only read a sample, but I really want to read the full book. It is a little hard to get through, but it's totally worth it!!! Once you meet Orry Main and George Hazard, you will never leave the book!!! Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Huge fan

    The movies are really good. And i bet that the books are really good. I want to read them and i will probably like the books. I'm ready to read them. Everybody should have to read them because it is part of history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    V,gjuo

    Bmgh .gfjyu .btihltigh .oumb

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The stories of the Mains and Hazards and how they intertwine throughout the years from West Point through Reconstruction (All 3 Books) are well written. I cant wait to get the 3rd book so I can finish this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    Incredible!!

    This book is so good! It shows what life was like then, this wonderful story of the Main family and the Hazard family truly moves you! I truly loved this tale of two families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    My favorite ever

    This is my favorite book John Jakes does an incredible job presenting the sruggle of two very different families and it always has you on your toes!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3