Customer Reviews for

North by Northwestern: A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    This book has local interest of course, and satisfies a desire to know more about Alaska fishing and the visual adventure of the popular program "Deadliest Catch" on the Discovery Channel.

    My daughter went with her fisherman husband into the world of Alaska crab fishing 15 years ago and knew Sverre, the author's father. I'd been curious to know more about that life, especially since she got hooked on "Deadliest Catch" on the Discovery Channel. I grew up in Seattle and my dad was born in Ballard so I have a great deal of interest in the historical aspects Sig has covered in his book. All things considered, it's a great read; colorful, adventurous, informative and provocative. He really opens up to the reader fascinating details about the world he knows intimately. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in knowing more about what they see on "The Deadliest Catch", and to anyone who isn't, but is vaguely curious about that life, as I was. I bought the book for my daughter who now lives in Oregon; before I sent it to her I read it and found I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Book for anyone...not just Deadliest Catch Fans

    If you are looking for a book that is all about "Deadliest Catch", then this is not the one for you. However, if you want to learn the history behind the men that you see on board the F/V Northwestern then you won't be able to put this one down.

    Sig Hansen tells the story of not only the history of his own family, but the history of modern day crab fishing by taking you on a journey back to his home of Karmoy, Norway. You will learn the story of his father, Sverre Hansen, and how he came to live in Ballard, Washington and start his lifelong career as a crab fisherman. Interwoven into the who's who of the beginning of the king crab fleet is the story of the sinking of Sverre's boat, the F/V Foremost, and the rescue of the crew from the Bering Sea.

    You can tell that there is a tremendous amount of respect for heritage and family from Sig and his brothers towards those that came before them. The feeling that they still cannot believe all the fame that the television show has brought on them is clear. I only wish that Sig would have gone more into the charitble work that they do when they are not braving 20 foot seas, but perhaps that is another story for another time.

    If you are a Deadliest Catch fan this book will give you what the show doesn't: a journey into the humble and dangerous beginnings of the men that captivate you on Tuesday nights. If you aren't a fan, but love learning about how the crab that is on your plate makes it there you will enjoy this book just as much. Either way, it is an easy read that takes you on a trip from the small fishing community where Sverre got his start to the multi-million dollar industry that is the modern crab fishery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    makes you feel like you're on the boat!

    Not just about crab fishing, North by Northwestern also explores the history of fishing and crabbing off the cost of Alaska, and details family tradition. Well written by this first time author and captain of the NORTHWESTERN,Sig Hansen, the reader gets a wonderful lesson on generations of same family traditions passed down from this original Swedish family and how many fishing families from Sweden, Denmark imagrate to the US and continue the traditon of fishing and captaining the Crab boats on the deadly Alaskan waters. This book does a great job of covering the history of the crabbing tradition, while also telling of the deadly experiences of both captain and crew in their pursuits of both money and catch. A facinating journey into the lives of those in the crabbing and fishing industry, this book gives one a better understanding of both the dangers and rewards of one of the most dangerous jobs that exist, and a better understanding of how tradition compails these families to continue this endevor. A good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Interesting history

    I think what i liked most about this book was learning the Norwegian history of the Seattle region and getting many answers to questions I have had about crab fishing after watching the show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1