BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

North of Need

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    4.5! FROSTY THE SNOWMAN FINDS LOVE! A MUST READ! NORTH OF NEED BY LAURA KAYE....

    NORTH OF NEED (HEARTS OF ANEMOI) by Laura Kaye is an exciting fantasy romance set in the Appalachian Mountains. It is the first in a new series Hearts of Anemoi. It is the story of Megan Snow,a young widow of two years and Owen Winters,immortial,one of the four Greek Anemoi,and a snowman. It has Christmas magic,snowman,death of a husband,grief, global warming,environmental issues,romance,love,hot sex,second chances,the four Greek Anemoi(Wind Gods),snow,ice,wind(especially the North Wind),and a bit of magic. This is a faced paced story where Frosty the Snowman meets the widow Megan Snow.It is a fun,but serious story that is heartfelt and full of life's unexpected twists and turns,such as an unexpected pregnancy and a chance at second love.A must read for any paranormal,fantasy,romance, readers who enjoy a fast story that will have you turning pages from the beginning to the end. "North of Need" is a wonderful fantasy Christmas story where if "you only believe" anything can happen.Received for review from the publisher.Details can be found at Entangled Publishing and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    A snowy setting, mythology & character driven plot made a believer out of me!

    Admittedly, I am not the romance lover that some of my fellow dolls are, but I was urged by a certain friend (and publicist extraordinaire) to give it a try. I did and guess what..I liked it!

    Laura Kaye is an author that takes the all too familiar feeling of loneliness, something that is very relevant to this time of year and that many people can relate with, and blends it with unique concepts and her own fresh spin on mythology to create something new and exciting!

    More than just a great idea, this author is able to pen fantastic emotions in her characters that will make even the coolest heart melt. When I find an author, no matter the genre, that is able to write a story with strong world-building and characters that make a reader feel for them and empathize with their struggles.I always return for seconds:). But, don't take my word for it.discover for yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Enchanting paranormal romance, perfect winter read!

    The legend of Frosty the Snowman meets contemporary paranormal romance in Laura Kaye's enchanting new book, North of Need.

    I very much enjoyed this book. Megan is a lonely woman, grieving over her deceased husband and spending the holidays secluded in her grief in her cabin in the snow. One day, she builds a snowman family, and as she cries into the snowman wearing her husband's clothes, magic is released. Owen Winters is a god of sorts. He is a winter god, one of the Anemoi. After heartbreak of his own, Owen had spent centuries in elemental form, in seclusion. When a descendent (Megan's former husband) asks the gods to help his wife, Owen is put to the task of making Megan happy and being there for her. When Megan creates her snowman, magic turns that snowman into Owen. In order for Owen to join the human world permanently, Megan must love and choose him, before winter is over. The elemental gods do not co-operate, and Owen has only days to get to know Megan, help her overcome grief, and get her to fall in love again before Owen leaves the human world for good.

    The magic combined with legend in this book creates a very sweet and emotional read. Both Owen and Megan are lonely people, and despite coming from very different worlds, they have a lot in common. Owen is very tender with Megan, he is considerate and I was very impressed with how well he handled being in human form. He is not a perfect character, he is not always upfront with Megan, but his hesitancy to reveal his true nature is understandable. I also like Megan's character, although she really does hold on tight to her grief. I really like how the relationship between Megan and Owen develops, they build a friendship, they have fun, and they allow themselves to enjoy their chemistry.

    The paranormal elements in North of Need are quite unique and interesting. The concept of the "Anemoi," the elemental gods is both fun and different. North of Need puts a basic structure to the supernatural world, and some of these other elemental gods characters sound very interesting as well. I really liked Owen's powers, as a god of winter, he controls the snow and lives in winter storms.

    North of Need is a fabulous winter read, it is a book that you want to read while curled up the the fire. North of Need is a very sweet romance with steamy attraction between the characters, powerful paranormal gods, and a bit of legend mixed in. Paranormal readers, if you are looking for a good book to read, I recommend picking up North of Need.

    *I received this book for review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    good book

    Read this book because I really enjoyed her others and this did not dissapoint. This one was different due to paranormal aspect but I enjoyed just as much as her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Sweet and Scorching!

    North of Need is the first book in Laura Kaye's new series, Hearts of the Anemoi. This book centers around a 29 year old widow named Megan. Her husband, John, died 2 years earlier and she is still holding onto the guilt and sorrow. She just can't push past it, until she meets Owen – a handsome snow god.

    When she finds Owen unconscious outside of her cabin during a Christmas blizzard, Megan feels compelled to take care of him. Megan has been lonely for so long, it's nice to have somebody around to take care of. As the two of them quickly grow closer, Megan feels guilty about having feelings for another man. Still, Owen makes her smile and feel happier than she has felt in a long time.

    The relationship that these two have is really very sweet. You feel sorry for Megan and want her to find happiness, but at the same time it's so understandable why she would have trouble moving on. Owen has been dealing with his own loneliness so these two are just perfect for each other.

    I thought the book was a little slow getting started, yet I understand the need for the reader to really get the feel of Megan's pain and suffering. I thought the author did a really good job of making you feel these emotions. I really liked how the book was centered around just these 2 characters, without a lot of outside things going on. I liked seeing Megan slowly open up to Owen. Oh, and the love scenes are SCORCHING!!!

    I definitely recommend this book to adult readers who enjoy paranormal romances. It's romantic, sexy, and an overall good, original story. I am really looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Fun, Uplifting, Hot and Snowy

    Hot and snowy at the same time? Yep. Think of a deserted cabin in the snowy mountains of Maryland with a very hot guy. Owen and Megan are two characters who steal your breath with their caring nature and emotional interactions. This is a great winter read and if you curl up in front of a fire, you'll feel like you're right there with them. I can't wait to read Laura Kaye's next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Happy, Hopeful, Hot.

    I picked up North of Need after reading a blog post about Ms. Kaye's intriguing twist on supernatural romance and am very happy I stepped outside of my usual flavor of romantic fiction. This is a solidly-written, engaging book that does use fantasy and heavy reality in equal parts to create a world that resonated with me. Often I feel current paranormal or supernatural themes in romance become so intricate they overwhelm the story but this isn't the case with North of Need. Ms. Kaye's world-building is solid but the feature here is the romance, in equal parts sweet and hot, between Megan and Owen. Both hero and heroine are full characters - no cardboard standees here. Their histories are integral to their present within the book but we come to know them as they know each other. Both Megan and Owen address their personal conflicts but Ms. Kaye avoids trapping her narrative in angsty, overdrawn inner struggle so many writers drag out too far when there's not a true antagonist in the story. I loved that Megan recognized what happened to her was remarkable, unbelievable, and even logically impossible, but still allowed herself to just let go and enjoy the experience of being with Owen. Perhaps because of the sweet, hopeful tone of Owen's point of view, I didn't view Megan's willingness to set aside her skepticism as too-easily suspended disbelief. Because of Megan's history, I felt she needed to believe in the impossible and because she was written so clearly as a likeable, empathetic character, I wanted to believe in the impossible for her. Owen was...well, he was a delightful - light emphasized here - character in every way. There was a giddy, buoyant quality in his point of view that made him absolutely endearing. He read as utterly thrilled, not only to have been created in human form for Megan, but simply to be in his human body. There was a great balance between the sense of playful, boyishness and very direct, intense masculine energy in Owen. While the scenes between him and Megan in the snow were full of lighthearted play - something both of them needed so much and as a reader I wanted for them - when they got down to the physical North of Need turned into a melting-hot read. This speaks to the author's deft characterization of two fundamentally likeable people so clearly deserving of real happiness and laughter - as well as a chance at profound love - in their lives after long emotional winters. I did take issue with some of the dialogue choices for Owen and another supernatural character that read as too modern and worldly for my taste but this is merely a personal preference and doesn't hamper the story in any way. Overall, the novel progresses quickly, thanks to confident writing, characters worth the investment of attention, and in critical moments proves to be just as heart-rending as it is exuberant. North of Need is one of my favorite recent reads and one I've recommended to friends over and over. Ms. Kaye has earned auto-buy status with this book and I'm looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1