BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

North of Nowhere (Alex McKnight Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best in the Alex McKnight series

    The story starts the way all of the McKnight books do....he's reluctantly pulled into doing something he doesn't want to do. The story is told very cleverly and the ending is a total surprise. This is a worthy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Dew and Lynx

    Dew: She leaps over her sister, then scratched (with claws sheathed) her sisters back "That was the best one" She meowed panting. Lynx: "I agree" she meowed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A reader can always count on vivid descriptions of the Upper Pe


    A reader can always count on vivid descriptions of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, Lake Superior, the weather, and similar environmental factors. To some degree, these all play a role in this tale. However, human greed and stupidity are the major components of the plot, which begins with Alex McKnight suffering from an apparent fit of depression. (It should perhaps be noted that this novel was written over a decade ago, now available for the first time in paperback.)

    His friend, Jackie Connery, who runs the Glasgow Inn, Alex’s usual hangout. drags him out of his cabin to fill in a slot in a poker game, which is soon invaded by three masked men who rob the host’s safe and destroy a collection of artifacts. From this beginning, Alex becomes more and more involved in discovering the reason for the home invasion and with the help of his ex-partner (he still insists he is no longer a PI despite the fact that he continues his predilection for investigating every little thing) seeks to solve the mystery.

    Written with Steve Hamilton’s accustomed smoothness, the novel moves forward with the usual complications. As it progresses, the reader is kept off balance, and the conclusion is most unexpected.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Excellent

    One of the best in the Alex McKnight series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    A MUST READ!

    The Alex McKnight series is awesome. Great stories!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best lead character to come along since Travis McGee by John McDonald.

    I am always looking to find a replacement for my beloved John McDonald who wrote among his numerous novels, the Travis McGee "color" mystery's. He wrote the "Long Lavender Look", "Pale Gray for Guilt","Free Fall in Crimson", and so many more, 21 in all before he passed away in 1986. I truly enjoy Sue Grafton and her female detective, Kinsey Milhone, but I haven't quite found that substitute for the quirky but always thinking beach bum, Travis McGee. In Steve Hamilton's Alex McKnight we have the retired cop, from bullet wounds (with one still inside) and mental scars from the traumatic way he and his partner were taken down, but who is still strong enough to smell out trouble and work out a break down the walls approach to a solution. Sometimes it gets real messy, but hang in there it's coming. It's never slow and I became so involved in the second novel with all the moving around the area that I "Mapquested" it so I could see the lay of the land. Now I want to go there sometime and get the feel of this very "outback" country in the North of America. It has the perfect settings for the exact elements he is looking for as a writer. There are weather extremes, remote locations, a kind of backwoods law of the jungle,and enough connections to fill the six degrees of separation requirement plausibly. For me it is "grabber" reading. Once I'm in the first chapter, I'm hooked and look forward to spending the next couple of hours devouring his every word. If you like Travis McGee, I think you'll like Alex McKnight, another outstanding "Mac" detective for mystery lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    It Went South For Me

    I must say the book has its moments. Action sequences are highlights. However, some of the dialog seems forced and hard to believe. My namesake character is still one of the best in Noveldome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2