Customer Reviews for

A Northern Light

Average Rating 4.5
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!...A Little Confusing

I chose this book as my summer reading for school and at first I thought this was going to be a dull book just like all my other summer reading was. This book blew me away! It's plotline was rich with mystery, romance, and glimpses of life in the 1900s. The only thing w...
I chose this book as my summer reading for school and at first I thought this was going to be a dull book just like all my other summer reading was. This book blew me away! It's plotline was rich with mystery, romance, and glimpses of life in the 1900s. The only thing wrong with this book was the confusing flashbacks she had.Because of this, I couldn't fully comprehend the plot at times. Also I wouldn't recommend this book for anyone under 13 for it contains sexuality, brief language, and racial slurs that even surprised me, a 15 yr old!

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

uhhhhhh

a great story though i wouldn't recommend it because of language and mature sexual themes so probably for high school and up.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and Inspiring!

    Truth is, I did not want to read this book at all when I first picked up, but I chose it for a school project since there was really nothing else that was there. I was so surprised when I found myself reading nonstop in order to find out what happens. The story takes place in the 1900s from the point of view of Mattie who has to take care of her family. Mattie is a great character which is very relatable to all kinds of people and I personally, did not care much for the letters she found but how the letters affected Mattie and the choices she makes in the future. And boy, does she have to make tough choices. I like it because, at the time, women weren't exactly treated equal so Mattie has a tough choice since she is such an independent character that wants more for herself. Also, the other characters in the story are very interesting as well. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I really liked this book... The only problem I had with it was the graphic descriptions of some sexual encounters discussed in the book. This book overall has a really good storyline. At first it's a little slow going, but once you get about 20 pages in you're sucked in and don't want to stop reading. I would recommend this book for others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    I loved this book!

    I read the whole book in under 24 hours. I could not put it down. I can't wait to read more from Jennifer Donnelly =)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    aammaazziinngg

    A nothern light has really challanged and profected my reading skills. It has brought into prespective, how enjoyable and fun reading and liturature can trully be. This novel is a page turner, you won't be able to put it down. Some words can't prove everything, is the lesson that i learned from this romantic book. But of course with my love of liturature and poetry, some words can prove everything. Jennifer Donnelly is an awsome and talented author. Her stories can and will inspire all, one day! If they haven't already. She has inspired and encouraged me to go after my dream of someday becoming an author or a poet. An amazing woman is what she is in my mind... She did an outstanding job!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    I really enjoyed burying myself in this historical fiction. It i

    I really enjoyed burying myself in this historical fiction. It is during an era that I usually don't take too much interest, but the author made it appealing. The novel has a touch of murder mystery, which also isn't my usual choice of genre, but it wasn't dark or depressing.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Read this!!!

    This is probs the second best book i have ever read, next to The Fault in Our Stars, if you are even just thinking that you should read this you should...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Just read it

    I just finnished reading it and im going to sort all the amazing quotes in the morning .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Yeah....

    It wont purchase for me... but my teacher suggested it so it must be really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Love this book

    It's really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Nice change of setting

    It was nice to read a book tha took place in upstae NY. Its a rarity. I aso like the author's take on the gillette case that is abig part of NY history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Great book

    This was a great book i ended up buying a second copy and gave it to a family member.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    YOU MUST READ THIS!!!!!!!

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    i love it u must read it

    omg i love this book, it is my one favorite book i Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    A well written, beautifully gathered book. I loved it from start to finish and would recommend it to anyone who likes period pieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    GREAT READ

    When I was in the 7th grade (I am now a freshman in college) my English teacher gave me this book to read. I LOVED it! I don't remember too much detail about the story itself (since it has been so long). But I do remember that I couldn't put it down. It took me 2 days to read it and I have been in love with this book ever since. So READ, READ, READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Young Adult Novel for Adults too!

    I read this twice in two years. It was even better the second time. Realistic characters and a beautiful setting. Although it is a young adult novel, I enjoyed it thoroughly and I'm a tad older than 15!
    Reviewed by Holly Weiss, author of Crestmont

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I really liked this book, this book is more than just about the murder of Grace Brown(true murder that actually happened), it's about Mattie and her need to be free and write. I feel bad for what women had to go through during 1906, I'm happy I live in a time where women are free to do what men do and be who they want to be. This books shows us what it was also like for African American people during this time and how they really weren't free just because they weren't slaves anymore. I love books and their characters but just like this books says our lives aren't really like the lives of our favorite books characters and words do have the power to change people and our lives.

    Mattie is the oldest daughter and is helping to take care of her family after her mother dies and her older brother runs away. She dreams of writing and attending college and the day she can be free of the burdens life has given her. Soon she is sweet on her neighbor, Royal but feels he really doesn't love her and hates when he brings her down for loving books and words. She wants to work and gets the chance when her father needs help so she gets a job at Glenmore, the local hotel. One day she gets a strange request from Grace Brown, a guest at the hotel to burn some letters. Mattie finds this strange but doesn't question it until Grace's body is found the next day. Mattie reads the letters and finds out the secret Grace Brown had been keeping and that her death wasn't an accident like others seem to think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    Excellent

    An extremely engaging and multidimensional book that is especially entertaining and valuable for younger girls. I read it for the first time when I was 12 and loved it and I read it many more times. It's amazingly good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Pretty good...

    There's a Mr. Wilcox in charge of the libraries in my school district, coincidence, or a cosmic force at work? The book was pretty good, I don't like the concept of how the author took a murder case and tacked something fictional on and called it a book, that's what I call an opportunistic scoundrel. It's a good book, but the big picture of it is bad. It kept me entertained, I mostly read it when I went camping though. Late at night at 1 A.M. or sometimes in the shade when the sun was beating down on me. I would recommend this book to others, as long as they know how to read and enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good!

    I really truly love this book! It's simple yet elegant and really puts you through the actual pain of the murder on Big Moose Lake. What makes it better is that it's based on a true story. I picked it up before bed and the next time I put it down it was about 1 in the morning! I would recommend this to anyone :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8