Customer Reviews for

Northern Lights

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A CHILLINGLY GOOD LISTEN

Brrrrr. Listeners may shiver when listening to this audio book - the author's depiction of the icy Alaskan terrain is so vivid that it causes chills, as does the thought of the murderer stalking the streets of small town Lunacy. Accomplished voice performer Gary Li...
Brrrrr. Listeners may shiver when listening to this audio book - the author's depiction of the icy Alaskan terrain is so vivid that it causes chills, as does the thought of the murderer stalking the streets of small town Lunacy. Accomplished voice performer Gary Littman inhabits the persona of Nate Burke, first in the depths of despair then ruminative and probing as he hunts a killer. Remember Nate? He's the Baltimore police officer who lost his partner in a frenzy of bullets. Not his fault, nonetheless, Nate blames himself. Pile on top of that a messy divorce, and there you have one down and out guy. Hoping to change his life Nate takes the job of Chief of Police in Lunacy, a far away Alaskan town peopled by about 500 outre characters. It's rather quiet in Lunacy. In fact, it's kind of nice when Nate meets Meg, a bush pilot. The attraction is immediate and strong. However, there's little time for romance when the body of Meg's father who disappeared almost 20 years earlier is discovered. He was brutally murdered, and now it's up to Nate to find the killer before harm comes to Meg. Curl up in front of the fire, listen and enjoy the incomparable spell woven by Nora Roberts. - Gail Cooke

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book is very boring. You won't have any trouble falling asleep once you start reading it. There are some good sections of this book but not enough of them to make it worthwhile. We have better uses for our time. There are countless books that are superior to this o...
This book is very boring. You won't have any trouble falling asleep once you start reading it. There are some good sections of this book but not enough of them to make it worthwhile. We have better uses for our time. There are countless books that are superior to this one.

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Northern LIghts Nora Roberts

    This book is very good. When i started the first page drew me into the story, and once you start this book you cant put it down. Once you do put it down you feel as though you were just there, and you feel like you personally know all the characters, you also feel as though you experianced everything first hand. I would recomend this book to anyone who is a Nora Roberts Fan..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Love It

    I absolutely loved this book. I spent two years in Alaska and this book really captured what it feels like to be there. Made me want to go back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    A CHILLINGLY GOOD LISTEN

    Brrrrr. Listeners may shiver when listening to this audio book - the author's depiction of the icy Alaskan terrain is so vivid that it causes chills, as does the thought of the murderer stalking the streets of small town Lunacy. Accomplished voice performer Gary Littman inhabits the persona of Nate Burke, first in the depths of despair then ruminative and probing as he hunts a killer. Remember Nate? He's the Baltimore police officer who lost his partner in a frenzy of bullets. Not his fault, nonetheless, Nate blames himself. Pile on top of that a messy divorce, and there you have one down and out guy. Hoping to change his life Nate takes the job of Chief of Police in Lunacy, a far away Alaskan town peopled by about 500 outre characters. It's rather quiet in Lunacy. In fact, it's kind of nice when Nate meets Meg, a bush pilot. The attraction is immediate and strong. However, there's little time for romance when the body of Meg's father who disappeared almost 20 years earlier is discovered. He was brutally murdered, and now it's up to Nate to find the killer before harm comes to Meg. Curl up in front of the fire, listen and enjoy the incomparable spell woven by Nora Roberts. - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed the story as well as the back ground of Alaska and the people, customs, challenges etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Romance, mystery and a very creative, fascinating story

    I really liked this book. As a matter of fact I'm re-reading it now. As in many of Nora's novels, there is just enough sex, and mystery to go along with a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book

    I have read this book a million times and will keep reading it. Nora Roberts is one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved this book and could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Great read

    Good till the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    I love lunatics!!!

    The characters in this book really drew me in. I loved Hopp and her gruff but sweet undertones, and Ignatius...what a name. Lol meg was just my kind of girl, and i couldnt put the book down. Read it in a day while at work. A definite must read that keeps you guessing...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Audio Books Are Fun

    I discovered I really enjoy listening to Nora Roberts' books more than I do actually reading them. This is another good example of Brilliance Audio's unabridged reading of one of Nora's classics. As the reader takes on different voices for different characters, you are drawn into the story of a body found frozen for twenty years in an ice cave and the murder and mayhem that follow the discovery. I enjoy driving and listening to the story unfold. The disc changes are easy with at least 99 tracks on each disc. I have had no difficulty with disc quality, each one loads easily and the quality is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect Headline.

    This is an amazing, adventurous book. It has keept me wanting more right up to the end. WoW! What a GREAT book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of her best, but...

    Northern Lights was interesting, but not what I've come to expect from Nora Roberts. The characters really come to life in this book and the reader gets dragged into the story. What was refreshing was that it was realistic...the hero wasn't superman, the heroine wasn't wonder woman....they were real, normal people.

    However, the story did have a tendency to drag...it was really slow paced. Not to the point that you didn't want to keep reading, but you didn't have the urge to read 'just one more chapter' before going to bed. One major thing I would change with this book would be Meg's character...though I liked her realism and the fact that she wasn't a wimp....she was also FAR TOO bold and a little bit too much on the trashy side.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is very boring. You won't have any trouble falling asleep once you start reading it. There are some good sections of this book but not enough of them to make it worthwhile. We have better uses for our time. There are countless books that are superior to this one.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    AmberStar

    Herro.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Linked

    Gone. But here...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Stormycloud is locked out

    Brought to you by stormtroopers,imperial

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    IMPERIAL TO ALL

    New camp is at frozen north third result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Poppycloud/Thistletail

    (Yup, l RP both!) ((Gtg bbt))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    MARA'S ROOM

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9