Customer Reviews for

Northwest Angle (Cork O'Connor Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Cork O'Conner whodunit is a terrific entry

    On the Canadian border in the Northwest Angle of Minnesota, former sheriff turned private investigator widower Cork O'Conner and his adult child Jenny go on a houseboat vacation together in the Lake of the Woods. When a major storm strikes the remote area the pair seeks safer shelter on an island in the middle of the Ojibwa reservation. The torrent separates father and daughter.

    Jenny finds a naked female Native American corpse and nearby the body is her dehydrated baby. The victim obviously was tortured before being executed with a bullet to her head. Cork catches up with Jenny and the infant, but the trio is on the run from someone deadly. They obtain help from their Ojibwa family, which enables Cork to investigate who killed Lily Smalldog as he knows his daughter and the baby are safe?

    The latest Cork O'Conner whodunit (see Vermilion Drift) is a terrific entry as William Kent Krueger uses the murder mystery to enable the audience to see deeper inside the hero. The story line is action-paced starting with the storm and never slows down as a cat and mouse hunt takes center stage. Series fans will welcome the return of Cork in a fabulous thriller just north of the 49th parallel.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Could not put it down

    Kept me captive through the entire story. Krueger just keeps getting better in his stories about Cork and his mysteries to solve. It took me quite a while to figure out who the real bad guys were in this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Outstanding read!!!

    I have been reading Mr. Krueger's books for many years and the one thing that stands out with each of his newly released books... they are better than the previous ones. And Northwest Angle is no exception.

    Cork O'Connor is at his best in the book and this time his daughter Jenny is a major player and, if you will, action star in her own right.

    With all of Mr. K's books, we learn a great deal of geographical knowledge and area info. He has a way to make everything seem vivid in the mind while not overly dwelling on the description as other authors seem to want to do. His words seem to imbue an idea in your mind that are just right to explain the sights the characters are seeing.

    I loved this book and read it in 2 sittings in a 36 hour period. Had to work sometime, eh. This is a book to grab and hang onto. Buy it now!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Fantastic

    "Northwest Angle" is a well-written, well-characterized mystery. Although murder mysteries are not "my genre," this is the second Krueger book I've read and enjoyed immensely. the books are not solely about the solution of the mystery, but are about people you will come to like and situations beyond the murder to be solved. The Northwest Angle is that little northern notch at the northern border of Minnesota. Its unique and interesting geographical make-up plays a large part in this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    11th in Cork O'Connor series feels personal

    Northwest Angle by William Kent Krueger is the eleventh book in the Cork O'Connor series. Cork has taken his family of sister-in-law Rose and her husband, Mal, and three kids: Anne, Jenny, and Stephen, away up north to the Lake of the Woods on vacation, to help them all recover from the events of the past few books. He wants to spend some time alone with Jenny and talk with her about her growing relationship with boyfriend, Aaron, but all of his plans are shaken when a huge storm called a derecho blows up, separating Cork and Jenny from the rest of the family. The pair discover a murdered woman's body and upon hearing some strange noises from the forest, find her weeks old baby boy. They soon find themselves hunted by a mysterious man who may have killed the woman, and Cork is disturbed by Jenny's growing bond with the infant. When the family is finally united they find themselves cut off from the rest of the world and facing an unexpected enemy. Krueger writes thrilling crime novels that are less about the crime and more about the characters. He wants to know how people would react to the horror of murder, and his stories are almost psychological profiles. By focusing on how each character is feeling and reacting, the reader is pulled deeply into the story. Unlike many series that have sequels into the double digits, Krueger's characters still feel very fresh because they grow personally with each story. Revisiting the O'Connor family in this book felt like catching up with good friends, so every twist and turn feels very personal and real.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    great read

    Northwest Angle is typical Krueger, fast paced and with just enough twists to keep you interested. Good guys win.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great book

    This series never lets you down. Always a great story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    highly recommended--exciting right from the first chapter

    I have read all of Krueger's books and this is in the top three of all his books. It is exciting from page 1 to the end. It is a must read! I enjoyed how strong the personalities of Cork's family were strengthened as they had to deal with all the storm issues in order to save themselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Great read

    The entire series is a must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Great Northwest Angle Mystery

    I love the area and the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Another Winner

    The Cork O'Connor series never gets stale. Here is yet another fresh example of the lives of the O'Connor clan's struggle for normalcy in the wake of a previous tragedy. Their committment to each other and love for one another is enviable. This work contains all of the ingredients that Kent Krueger is so well known for - suspense, wonderful pacing, and lessons of life that all of us should take note of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Another great read.

    I love the series and can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Love the Cork O Connor series...

    William Krueger has out done himself on this one. Love the Northwest Angle! Including the history of the 1999 storm was something I was not aware of (lived in Oregon at that time). GOOD READ

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Jo

    Really like the whole series but this one is the best !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Spell binding

    Loveed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Cannot Wait

    I have already ordered the sequel. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I began reading Krueger's books because I live in Minnesota, love the North Shore and am an avid mystery fan. The Cork O'Connor series has been fun to follow and I have enjoyed all in the series. The Northwest Angle did not disappoint me. Little is known by most Minnesotans regarding this area of Minnesota geography and therefore the setting interested me. His books are not easy to put down and I look forward to many more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I live in Minnesota, which makes the Cork O'Connor series even more special!! Most of all I love the blending of the Native culture and modern world. Please give us more wonderful books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Great book

    Great book. I have read all of Krueger's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Heather&co

    Residing its nestled, hard to find entrance is the Elder's Den. This den is actually one large bush whose insides had been carved out like a pumpkin but is not just a shell. On the floor lay large beds, with the most comfortable and softest mosses and feathers.
    ~Amberstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3