BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Northwoods Deep

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

If you see an cabin in a quiet neck of unfamiliar woods....DON'T GO IN!!

This is the kind of horror that I can get into. Lost in the woods, and old cabin, a crazy old guy.....yeah, it's going there.

Carol and her sister Brenda are taking kind of a canoe trip to really get away from Carols ex-husband Mitch, who is stalking her. He ends up ...
This is the kind of horror that I can get into. Lost in the woods, and old cabin, a crazy old guy.....yeah, it's going there.

Carol and her sister Brenda are taking kind of a canoe trip to really get away from Carols ex-husband Mitch, who is stalking her. He ends up hearing about it, and follows.

When this happens, her brother Jack starts to have dreams about his mother April (who he was responsible for killing in a car crash) telling him that his sisters were in trouble. So he and his father Allen, who has still never forgiven him for the death of April, goes after them, not exactly knowing when they hit the water.

Everything comes to a head at the Cabin in Northwoods deep where Agustus Meyer lives. He is the guardian of an ancient evil. Mitch is the first to really find out what happens, and it's here where the twisted Hansel and Gretel story comes into play, as it seems he's "fattening" them up for some sort of sacrifice.

I can't really go much more into detail as it will spoil the story, but I found it a real page turner.

The only gripe I had was that in the eBook version from B&N there was no separation of paragraphs when they are changing scene or location. You are reading about Carol and Brenda one paragraph and the next sentence the scene switches to Jack and Allen, but it runs together. I found myself having to re-read some sections because all of a sudden I was reading in a different location with different characters and thought maybe I missed something.

Overall though, a great book!!

posted by JoeHempel on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining enough

I actually read this while staying at a cabin in the woods, thinking I could get a good little creepy feeling from it. Sad to say, it didn't happen. The story wasn't bad, the characters were interesting, it just didn't have a whole lot of atmosphere. The final few ch...
I actually read this while staying at a cabin in the woods, thinking I could get a good little creepy feeling from it. Sad to say, it didn't happen. The story wasn't bad, the characters were interesting, it just didn't have a whole lot of atmosphere. The final few chapters it started to seem a bit muddled and it ended rather abruptly, as though perhaps the author just lost interest and wanted to wrap things up.

posted by Shelly65 on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    If you see an cabin in a quiet neck of unfamiliar woods....DON'T GO IN!!

    This is the kind of horror that I can get into. Lost in the woods, and old cabin, a crazy old guy.....yeah, it's going there.

    Carol and her sister Brenda are taking kind of a canoe trip to really get away from Carols ex-husband Mitch, who is stalking her. He ends up hearing about it, and follows.

    When this happens, her brother Jack starts to have dreams about his mother April (who he was responsible for killing in a car crash) telling him that his sisters were in trouble. So he and his father Allen, who has still never forgiven him for the death of April, goes after them, not exactly knowing when they hit the water.

    Everything comes to a head at the Cabin in Northwoods deep where Agustus Meyer lives. He is the guardian of an ancient evil. Mitch is the first to really find out what happens, and it's here where the twisted Hansel and Gretel story comes into play, as it seems he's "fattening" them up for some sort of sacrifice.

    I can't really go much more into detail as it will spoil the story, but I found it a real page turner.

    The only gripe I had was that in the eBook version from B&N there was no separation of paragraphs when they are changing scene or location. You are reading about Carol and Brenda one paragraph and the next sentence the scene switches to Jack and Allen, but it runs together. I found myself having to re-read some sections because all of a sudden I was reading in a different location with different characters and thought maybe I missed something.

    Overall though, a great book!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    I loved this book from the first chapter. It had me completely h

    I loved this book from the first chapter. It had me completely hooked and I finished this in a weekend (which is fast for me)! The characters seemed so real, the author really made me care about them and what was happening--it felt like they were old friends. Some really scary stuff goes on and through the whole book I was so anxious to get to the next page and see what would happen. Very creepy, scary and unexpected things go on, just what I like in a book. I could not recommend this more! A really great read! Can't wait to read more by Joel Arnold!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Morbidly Delicious - A Great Read

    Northwoods Deep by Joel Arnold is a morbidly delicious tale that will keep you hooked and wanting more from beginning to end. In an attempt to get away from her ex-husband who focuses his time on stalking her, Carol decides it would be good for her to get away and spend some time with her sister Brenda at the same time. The sisters quickly make plans to go on a camping trip where they will enjoy some fresh air and spend some time canoeing. Little did they know that their lives would be forever changed. Family bonds will be tested and personal strength stretched to the limits as Northwoods Deep takes you down the ultimate river ride of terror. And you would have to read the book to understand my next statement but take note: If anyone ever offers you a drink with the words 'Special' and 'Brew' in the title...just say no people...just say no. This book does contain adult material and should be read only by mature adult audiences. Also, I would love to see Northwoods Deep in print form as I would love to have a copy on my bookshelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Recommend for mature readers only.

    Northwoods Deep is an interesting story, but at times it drags a little. It is very graphic and gory in areas - sometimes more than necessary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    VERY GOOD BOOK!

    I liked this book, had to keep reading long into the night to find out what was going to happen next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining enough

    I actually read this while staying at a cabin in the woods, thinking I could get a good little creepy feeling from it. Sad to say, it didn't happen. The story wasn't bad, the characters were interesting, it just didn't have a whole lot of atmosphere. The final few chapters it started to seem a bit muddled and it ended rather abruptly, as though perhaps the author just lost interest and wanted to wrap things up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Excellent

    Joel Arnold writes a wonderful story. The plot and characters are excellent. If you like to read horror books this one if for you. Keeps you on the edge of your seat turning the pages. Gives you that good creepy read that sends shiver down your spine and gives you nightmares.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2014

    I will start by saying that this book freaked me out. I mean rea

    I will start by saying that this book freaked me out. I mean really freaked me out. The ending was uber creepy, to say the least. The story line was okay, nothing new or daring, UNTIL THE END. After that, I was just numb. I know Joel Arnold definitely threw everyone for a loop with the ending, but it was just too creepy beyond words for me, and that is saying something, because horror is my favorite genre. Can I honestly say I don't know HOW I feel about this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book. I have never read thus author and was looking for something new and different that would still be horrific and chilling. Did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Big let down

    This book has great potential but ends abruptly and with very little creativity. It's as if the author just got bored while writing and decided to wrap it up in the next chapter. A waste of time overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Very well written.

    Good book. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    very,very good,

    very good,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    This guy is amazing. I have read just about everything written

    This guy is amazing. I have read just about everything written by him that I can get my hands on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Thrilling

    Loved this even if it was a little "OUT THERE" Very different and exciting, want to read more. Kept your attentionto the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Worth the read

    Enjoyed the book, right amount of twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Left alot unexplained

    Started off wonderful then when the "good" stuff starts there is zero backstory. At the end you are left without any answers. I dont highly recomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2