Customer Reviews for

Norwegian Wood

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not my favourite

This is not my favourite novel by Haruki Murakami, but I still enjoyed it. I don`t think it is as great as The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, for instance, but the slow pace of this novel, the dreaminess is great, the characters are very true, very real. It is essentially the ...
This is not my favourite novel by Haruki Murakami, but I still enjoyed it. I don`t think it is as great as The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, for instance, but the slow pace of this novel, the dreaminess is great, the characters are very true, very real. It is essentially the story of first and second love and how we open our hearts to another human being, by sometimes risking all that we have.
Apparently this is the book that made Murakami famous in the Western world, which I find strange, not because the book is bad, no - it is a great book. But this novel is actually rather different from his other works.
I heartily recommend it, but also to read other books from the same author, because they are different.

posted by Aglaia on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm sorry but i couldn't get past page 40...

just some endless conversations between the main character and the women in his life. Whatever!! This is boring, depressing , whatever you want to call it, I just can't stand to pick it back up and get past page 41.

I have read some reviews that the translation into ...
just some endless conversations between the main character and the women in his life. Whatever!! This is boring, depressing , whatever you want to call it, I just can't stand to pick it back up and get past page 41.

I have read some reviews that the translation into english doesn't work out to well....but make your excuses....this book is boring!!

posted by Michelle1948 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Amazing!!

    A love story like no other, but then again, it's not really like any other love story around. It brings to question as to what love is, what do we consider love to be and what exactly are we looking for when we are in love? This book helps bring back an individual who has suffered from a servere break-up or current divorce because it gives the reader a chance to find himself again, and in some case closure or peace of mind. If you're looking to bounce back from depression and enjoy yourself and your own life, I highly recommend this book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Not my favourite

    This is not my favourite novel by Haruki Murakami, but I still enjoyed it. I don`t think it is as great as The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, for instance, but the slow pace of this novel, the dreaminess is great, the characters are very true, very real. It is essentially the story of first and second love and how we open our hearts to another human being, by sometimes risking all that we have.
    Apparently this is the book that made Murakami famous in the Western world, which I find strange, not because the book is bad, no - it is a great book. But this novel is actually rather different from his other works.
    I heartily recommend it, but also to read other books from the same author, because they are different.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Great read, but not for the casual reader

    Sex, love, and neuroses. What more could anyone ask of a novel? Of course, that IS a gross simplification of a novel which presents some fairly complex themes, such as love, identity, duty, and many others. If one is looking for a read with some texture and depth, look no further. However, if one is looking for an easily digestible, pulp fiction read, he should probably look elsewhere.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    An outstanding piece of literature

    This book will not only captivate you, but change the way you look at the world. There are not enough stars to give this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    Camu Translates Catcher in the Rye

    A modern moving masterpiece. Haruki captures the pulse of true existentialism in the voice of an adolescent. A treasure to store in one's memory.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I'm sorry but i couldn't get past page 40...

    just some endless conversations between the main character and the women in his life. Whatever!! This is boring, depressing , whatever you want to call it, I just can't stand to pick it back up and get past page 41.

    I have read some reviews that the translation into english doesn't work out to well....but make your excuses....this book is boring!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Readable, Intensely Individual Book

    Nor­we­gian Wood by Haruki Murakami is a fic­tional1987 novel set in 1960s Tokyo, Japan. The novel became pop­u­lar with Japan­ese youth and pro­pelled Murakami to new heights of fame.

    Toru Watan­abe rem­i­nisces about his days as a col­lege stu­dent in 1960s Tokyo. At the time Watan­abe devel­oped strong rela­tion­ships with two women whose per­son­al­i­ties are oppo­site of one another. Naoko is beau­ti­ful yet trou­bled while Midori is out­go­ing and lively.

    Nor­we­gian Wood by Haruki Murakami is a mem­o­rable story, yet sim­ple and unas­sum­ing. Patience seemed to be the main theme as it seems the nar­ra­tor, Toru Watan­abe, waits for a woman to return his love.

    Unlike Murakami other books, this one lacks the super­nat­ural over a more prac­ti­cal themes such as choos­ing a real­is­tic part­ner over a lost fan­tasy. Watan­abe copes with loss through­out the book and the tale, told in flash­backs, is mostly how he copes with them.

    The char­ac­ters are well defined and real­is­tic while they bat­tle tragedy tossed at them at every turn by Murakami. They have roman­tic inspi­ra­tions and rejec­tions, strug­gle with depres­sion and flawed. There are many ref­er­ences to dead or dying char­ac­ters for a short book such as this.

    While many of the pages are gloomy, many oth­ers are filled with hope and humor. If I had to use word to describe this novel I would choose “authen­tic” as the book feels fresh and non-conventional. It is beyond me how the author man­aged to cre­ate such a unique atmos­phere while writ­ing, it cer­tainly came across to me as a reader – and of a trans­lated work nonetheless.

    This is a read­able book, intensely indi­vid­ual and from my under­stand­ing an ear­lier trans­la­tion was used by school chil­dren in Japan to learn Eng­lish. I found that a bit amus­ing since the book includes mas­tur­ba­tion, drunk­en­ness, promis­cu­ity, mas­tur­ba­tion, molesta­tion, men­tal ill­ness, sui­cide and more.

    This is before I learned that the book was banned in the US.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Pointless

    Sad, pointless, feeble female characters, overrated.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Different

    For a Murakami novel, Norwegian Wood was really different. It did not involve someone running away or going missing and it didn't have many crazy things going on. It was a more cohesive story than most of his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    Heartbreakingly real

    A not-so-simple story about a doomed love affair. A coming-of-age kind of story. Oddly, some of the construction reminds me of Chaucer's 'A Knight's Tale.' Very interesting, that. Anyway, he's a master at characterization. Sometimes I had to step outside of the novel just to marvel at his technique. Sometimes he reminds me of Lorrie Moore, in the way that he makes observations that hit you, bam, in the solar plexus, making you understand certain truths you hadn't understood before. Or, things you'd never verbalized, even internally. Yes. It's so, so good. Maybe a little melodramatic at times (death, death, death), but if a novelist is supposed to help us understand life, well. Yes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Modern masterpiece

    Before its U.S. publication, I had only heard about how wonderful Haruki's first novel was. I knew that it was the novel that broke sales records in Japan and established him as a premier author who not only appealed to a small cult following, but also was admired by readers around the world. I was excited to finally be able to get my hands on a copy that was not a 500 dollar collector's item. This novel was AMAZING! A simple plot line, realistic characters, and clear, descriptive writing throughout. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Darkmoon

    He hisses and bit into his neck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Claw

    Runs over to duskbreeze you okay?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Duskbreeze

    She creeped along a branch and landed hard on Thorntail's chest before running back to her hideout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Thorntail

    He falls and looks up as he growls and slashes his attackers muzzle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Love it!! I already read it once I am planning reading it again.

    Love it!! I already read it once I am planning reading it again. I started reading Japanese writers with Banana Yoshimoto. I loved how she described the food and Japanese locations.
    One friend told me it was impossible to read Murakami but other friend borrow me first South to the border... then I read this one. Both are very similar stories. I really liked how Murakami describes day by day the activities that the characters did and how relationships changes after the years and circunstances. I recommend this book for begginers who wants to start reading Murakami.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    must read

    This is the first book I have read by Murakami. I have to say I am very honored to have read his work. An amazing story of men, women, and everything that life brings you --be it happiness or sorrow.
    If you want to see this book come to life, Tran Anh Hung made a film based on this with the same title. It was a good film, but the book was honestly more full of life. Murakami's words are still better than the actors speaking.

    I am definitely reading more of Murakami's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Luckyshot and Blazekit

    They raced in
    <p> Blazekit tripped on a rot and fell on his face. "Im ok!" He quickly got up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Autumndapple

    "Its ok. A long as my baby is safe." She purred and brought auburn back to camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Auburnkit

    She shrank back. Im sorry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6