Customer Reviews for

Nory Ryan's Song

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was educational and fun!

    This book was about the Irish Potatoe Famine and a girl whom lived during it. This girl, NOry Ryan, learns about friendship, love, and life. After her sister leaves for America it is up to Nory Ryan to hold the family together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Awesome

    I am a wee bit irish and this was an awesome book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Incredible!!!!!! MUST READ LOVED IT

    Had to read it fir school and wish i had read it sooner.
    It was that kind of book u want to keep reading over and over.
    Hope to read the sequal soon. (Maggie's Door)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Jojo

    I am reading this at school and i hate it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book was absolutly amazing i loved it soomuch couldent put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved this book it was great! It had different emotions! Loved !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Booo!!!!

    This book is terrible a waste of your time if there was a 0 stars thats what i woupd have choose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved this book! It had so many emotions, u always wanted 2 read more! Must read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Heritage

    My heritage is Irish and this book was just awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    I loved it <3

    Iit was sad but i felt happy for her at the end. Plus i cried at one part it was good.Now i have to write a report

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    :) super interesting

    A great read would say a good buy. If you are skittish dont read at night. Otherwise a good natured story.I hope you enjoy it as much as i did. ;) yay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    nory ryan's song

    it was an interesting book and I actually found it good but not as exciting as I would have liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Awesome Book!!!!!!!!

    I would REALLLLLLY recomend this book.  I t is alot better then you would think it would be and i loved it!!!!!!!! You should really get it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    A Great Story

    I loved this story, full of life, the words almost leaping off the page. I felt the raw nature of Nory Ryan's character was beautifully portrayed and her family's plight ripped at my heartstrings. This book will make you cry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Nory Ryan's Song

    Have you ever tried running away from danger to a special location? I don¿t think so! Yet, if you enjoy thrilling stories, I can recommend Nory Ryan¿s Song to you. This delightful book is written by Patricia Reilly Giff and once you start to read it, you¿ll never be able to put it down! In this book, Nory, her family, and her friends travel all over Ireland searching for food, shelter, and a trip to Brooklyn, New York. Why? Well, Ireland was full of danger, had poisoned food, and was full of fear. Brooklyn was the complete opposite in their beliefs. Try imagining that! Nory is like me because we both never give up our dreams and care for others as much as we care about our self. Do you think she¿ll make it to Brooklyn? Find out by reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Nory Ryan's Song

    Let¿s go back in time to 1854 when Ireland, a calm gentle place, was taken over by Devlin, the English Lord. Devlin charged rent to take the villagers money and tried to suck out every penny they had. Then, when Nory, a strong and independent girl, thought it couldn¿t get any worse¿ it did. Will she be able to take care of her brother, Patch? Will she need some help from Anna, Nory¿s neighbor, or will they starve? This sad heart- throbbing mystery written by Patricia Reilly Giff will change your life! Nory didn¿t give up, so never give up! Many of Ms. Giff¿s books are historical fiction, for example Lilly¿s Crossing, a Newberry Honor Book, happens during World War 2. All The Way Home is another book set in New York during the 1940¿s. Obviously Ms.Giff loves history. There is history to be forgotten and there is history to be found and all these books bring history to life. These books are reminders that thousands of people did survive these events, even if it was a famine or a war. So keep on reading. Live, love, read. Recommended for people who love history 10 and up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    A very enjoyable book that describes Ireland

    This book is my 2nd favorite. It's my first of Patrica Rielly Giff!!!!! Shes awesome, and I loved the way she describes everything. I cant wait to read Maggy's Door. Its great book for the IRISH LIKE ME! AND ANYONE ELSE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    MUST READ BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I Loved this book! At first I thought i would not like it but i did! I am very excited to read Maggie's Door the sequel to Nory Ryan's Song! I would Highly recommend this book to middle school kids like me!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    READ THIS BOOK !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Nory Ryan's Song is a great book! It is inspireing,and is just great! This is a MUST READ BOOK for middle school readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3