BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nose Down, Eyes Up

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You gotta love Merrill Markoe!

Merrill Markoe does it again: creating a wonderfully delightful dog story that is nothing less than pure fun. Another thoroughly enjoyable book in a long line of great reads! If you like this one, definitely check out Walking In Circles Before Lying Down.

posted by 10954560 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

I have started seeking out fiction books about animals, and I had high hopes for this one after reading the cover. But this book was a big disappointment to me. The tone is too casual and (I think) childish. The characters are flat, unbelievable, and boring. The boo...
I have started seeking out fiction books about animals, and I had high hopes for this one after reading the cover. But this book was a big disappointment to me. The tone is too casual and (I think) childish. The characters are flat, unbelievable, and boring. The book invoked absolutely no emotion for me. If you want to read a book about thinking or talking dogs, I'd recommend The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein or The Dogs of Babel by Carolyn Parkhurst. Both of these are much more worth your time, in my opinion.

posted by Laurann on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my favorite

    I have started seeking out fiction books about animals, and I had high hopes for this one after reading the cover. But this book was a big disappointment to me. The tone is too casual and (I think) childish. The characters are flat, unbelievable, and boring. The book invoked absolutely no emotion for me. If you want to read a book about thinking or talking dogs, I'd recommend The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein or The Dogs of Babel by Carolyn Parkhurst. Both of these are much more worth your time, in my opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    You gotta love Merrill Markoe!

    Merrill Markoe does it again: creating a wonderfully delightful dog story that is nothing less than pure fun. Another thoroughly enjoyable book in a long line of great reads! If you like this one, definitely check out Walking In Circles Before Lying Down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Relaxing read

    This is the second book of hers I have read and while I enjoyed Walking in Circles Before Lying down much more than this book, I still enjoy the author's writing style. She gets to the point and develops her characters very well. Where the story may get a little lost in places, her characters make the books worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Fast read and funny at times.

    Fast read and funny at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Not what I had hoped for

    A little crass, although there were a few parts where I laughed aloud. Still looking forward to sampling other works by this author...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Kinda Cute

    I kinda liked this book. I have 3 4-legged kids, so I could identify. The main character is a total jerk, and the best parts of the book are when he's interacting with the dogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    A bit offensive

    Don't be drawn in by the cute cover as I was. The language used in this book is very bad. The worst. And the story line is not something you would share with your mother. Guess I'm a bit conservative. I was hoping for a dog story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    not for all dog lovers

    i read this book bc i like dogs and it would keep my interest. it only kept my interest bc i just wanted to finish it and move on to another book. the story was childish. i couldn't stand gil and his mannerisms. i cringed everytime i read "beer-thirty" and when he refered to his alter ego as the 20 something... it was more like something-teen. other characters bothered me like gil's ex-wife eden and her new husband chad. they seemed like ken and barbie but more on the dysfunctional side. they were so cliche' and i thought they could've been more original. the cover of the book really bothered me. jimmmy, the advice giving dog, isn't a jack russel, i actually don't think there is a jack russel in the book but i could be wrong. everytime i read jimmy's part, i could only think jack russel when, in fact, he is a bigger black dog with long hair. that sounds dumb but i think it really changed his character for me. the book contained a great amount of profanity for a book that is supposed to be for all dog lovers and don't get me wrong, profanity is used in my daily life so it's no stanger to me but i couldn't imagine giving this to my mother-in-law who also loves dogs.
    some parts of the story were good. everytime the dogs talked it was so funny, and it made me think about my dogs ("so THATS what they are thinking!"). near the end of the book gil runs into an old girlfriend at a bar and that cracked me up, it actually made me laugh out loud. gil seems to grow up at the end and i enjoyed that bc it became less juvinile.
    overall i would say i wouldnt recommend this book. it isnt for every dog lover which is what was said about the book. i think i knew it was going to be a "that kind of book" when the f word was used in the second sentence. if you are a dog lover i recommend "the dogs of babel"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Great cover story, disappointing read.

    I eagerly dived into what looked like an intriguing story about a dog that communicated with its human, only to find that the dog story was quite secondary to a raunchy description of a middle-aged man's troubled and tacky existence. There was little redeeming value to the story, though it got amusing from time to time when the dogs described why they behave as they do. I was not amused with the needless sexual antics and uncouth language that added little to the story. If you picked this book up as a dog-lover, which I did, the disappointment is palpable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific pooch lit parable

    Forty something Gil works as a handyman at an elderly couples' vacation home where he also resides for free. His girlfriend Sara works as an animal communication expert, which has enabled Gil to understand what his four dogs want.

    He is taken aback when he realizes the top canine in his pack Jimmy the alpha is providing lessons and lectures to the neighborhood dogs on a variety of surviving with human topics. Jimmy teaches the other dogs how to properly beg especially for treats and the merits of indoor vs. outside peeing in nasty weather.

    When Gil meets up with his former wife, she offers him work remodeling her guesthouse. He accepts, but Jimmy persuades him to take him with him. As he ignores Jimmy for time with his remarried former wife, Gil makes it clear to his four legged BFF that he is not his companion's biological father. Upset to know he is adopted Jimmy seeks out his biological parents especially his mother; not realizing how nearby she is.

    This is a terrific pooch lit parable that focuses on what makes a family without being overly too cute. Jimmy and Gil are a wonderful pairing as Jimmy assumes the man who raised him is his daddy until he learns the shattering truth. His observations on family, love, and loyalty will obviously provide dog lovers with a charmer, but other readers will appreciate the wisdom of Jimmy's teachings starting with the title.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awwwww

    Really cute book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I just love the voices Merkoe gives the dogs.

    Maybe it's not original to have dogs speaking to humans, but her dogs have personalities you can stick to different breeds. The main character in this book is Gil, a divorcee in his late forties who's constantly fighting with his 22 year old self. He finds he can hear his dogs, which is ironic since his girlfriend is an "animal whisperer" who CAN'T hear dogs and is always so wrong in her interpretations. Jimmy, Gil's alpha dog, goes through an identity crisis when he discovers he was adopted, is not Gil's biological son, and will not one day lose most of his hair, walk on two legs, or drive a car. "Nose Down, Eyes Up" is for all pet lovers, a funny and touching adventure about owning animals and how they become family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2