Customer Reviews for

Not a Fan: Becoming a Completely Committed Follower of Jesus

Average Rating 4.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book

The writer takes an honest and sometimes humorous look at what it means to be devoted to the Lord instead of a shallow faith that cannot get you through the storms of life. He encourages you not to look at others, but to look at your own heart and see where you really a...
The writer takes an honest and sometimes humorous look at what it means to be devoted to the Lord instead of a shallow faith that cannot get you through the storms of life. He encourages you not to look at others, but to look at your own heart and see where you really are. This is not make me feel good about me book. It is about your realationship with God being REAL.

posted by 9655288 on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Be wary

This book has a great message but honestly it is very repetitive. The entire message can be brought forth with two chapters tops. My wife and I found it very hard to read through the entire book together. Kyle Idleman has his heart in the right place but he should fl...
This book has a great message but honestly it is very repetitive. The entire message can be brought forth with two chapters tops. My wife and I found it very hard to read through the entire book together. Kyle Idleman has his heart in the right place but he should flesh out any future books he may write and bring something new to every chapter rather than the same thing the previous chapter said.

posted by Coffee_and_chess_lover on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Fan or follower?

    Fan vs Follower! The theme question of the book Not a Fan is whether we are truly followers of Christ or just fans. A true follower is what Jesus wants us to be, but many of us fall short and are in the "fan" category. Throughout the book, symptoms of fans are described, along with traits of true followers. I like the premise of this book, the understanding that following Christ is not a shallow addition to our lives, but actually a different life, of denial, of death to ourselves. There were several parts of the book that I didn't love, such as hints that making our children obey and follow Biblical guidelines is setting them up for a lifetime of fandom rather than true following. I really don't agree with that-the "Train up a child in the way he should go. . ."verse in Proverbs tells parents they should do this. I DO agree that just following the "rules" isn't the fullness of following Christ, but it is a good place to start with our children, definitely followed by the teaching of the necessity of the personal relationship of a disciple. I certainly appreciated that the points Idleman made in the book were backed up with Scripture. This isn't just a man's opinion or thoughts, it is the teaching of Christ. The book was a pleasant read, filled with cultural references (and some just plain silliness!) from today. That doesn't speak well to a long-lasting, "classic", but who knows, maybe the content will prevail and the cultural references will be overlooked or seen as cute comments fifty years down the road. All in all, it was a good read. Challenging, thought provoking, and even action/attitude altering! I received a free copy of Not a Fan from Zondervan books as a part of its blogger review program. Thank you Zondervan!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you musth check it out!

    This book lays it all on the line on what we must to for the One who laid it all on the line for us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    I so enjoyed this book!

    Reading this book really made me think if I was just doing "Lip service" to being a Christian, and I pray that it helped me to do more! Every Christian could benefit from reading and really being honest with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Amaizing

    This book is just great!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Great book! Will definitely reread....

    This was a great book and a very easy read... Since I am a sports fan, the analogies of fan versus follower are all on point and relateable. I have already begun recommending it to others who are serious or want to be more serious about their life and walk as a Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Interesting Concept

    I got this book from a recommendation of an employee. She told me about the movie but I couldn't find it so I got the book. I am happy to report, I am not a fan!

    This is a very interesting concept and one that every Christian should ponder in their walk with the Lord. It helped me to see certain aspects of my life and make them better, forsaking everything else, and putting God first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2