Customer Reviews for

Not My Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 361 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read.

As a mother, who like Susan, experienced this myself as a young person I found the book interesting. I found it very realistic to the reactions felt when living in a small community... despite the fact that the situaion ultimately affected NONE of those characters who ...
As a mother, who like Susan, experienced this myself as a young person I found the book interesting. I found it very realistic to the reactions felt when living in a small community... despite the fact that the situaion ultimately affected NONE of those characters who were most strongly against it! I think it's a good topic for today, because even though teen pregnancy is not new pact behavior offers it a new twist. Good book!!!

posted by Nutty4Novels on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not one of her better books

Boring, boring, boring. I will have to admit I finished it to the end, hoping it would get better as it went along. In my opinion, this was the worst book she has ever written. I was very disappointed.

posted by ReaderNancy on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Read.

    As a mother, who like Susan, experienced this myself as a young person I found the book interesting. I found it very realistic to the reactions felt when living in a small community... despite the fact that the situaion ultimately affected NONE of those characters who were most strongly against it! I think it's a good topic for today, because even though teen pregnancy is not new pact behavior offers it a new twist. Good book!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Coming of age book right through to a grandmother.

    Lots of good lessons and food for a LOT of thought on teenage prgnancy. Wonderful, thought provoking storyline, heartfelt, heart yanking moments that will stick with you. Worth your time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Barbara Delinski gives us yet another poignant look at life in Not My Daughter.

    What would you do if your seventeen year old daughter told you she was pregnant and what if that wasn't the end of it.
    The story line/plot of this book is engaging, worrisome and very unique in a way only an outstanding storyteller could. She brings us the story through the voices of the young women and the voices of their mothers and families. She gives us a good look at small town America and what could happen if the continuity of that town was broken. Her characters are rich and colorful and so three dimensional that they jump off the page. You will laugh and cry with them, hope and fear with them and above all you'll cheer for them. The novel goes deep into the relationship between mothers and daughters. The dangers of youthful pacts and the consequences they bring. Her flowing dialogue keeps us turning pages as she tells her story. There is romance involved in the novel and it's portrayed wonderfully but it's not the major point of the story.
    This novel would appeal to all readers who love a great story. To women who have teenage daughters or granddaughters. To those who enjoy a coming of age story. To anyone who loves great literature.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Read

    Barbara Delinsky did a fascinating job with her characters. I enjoyed the story line. The idea of a pregnancy pact is not ever at the forefront of my mind. What I liked is the way things worked out. NOt perfectly but fairly realistically. The dynamics of a small town were captured as were the nuances of female relationships. I think this is a great discussion book for moms and daughters as well as a book club.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WHAT MAKES A GOOD MOTHER?

    A gifted voice performer Cassandra Campbell narrates with ease in both Italian and English. She has countless audiobooks, documentaries, and commercials to her credit plus on stage performance experience. She brings depth and clarity to her reading of NOT MY DAUGHTER.

    Single mom Susan Tate has done all right for herself and her daughter, Lily, now 17. The principal of the local high in Zaganack, a small close knit community Susan is proud of Lily who excels not only scholastically but also in sports. Truth be told, Susan might be even prouder of their mother/daughter relationship. They're close, honest and open with one another.

    Thus, Lily's words were a shocker. "Susan never saw it coming. She only knew that her daughter was different. The girl who had always been spontaneous and open had suddenly grown opaque." She is pregnant. Hearing that confession from Lily and having the fact corroborated by a doctor brought back what Susan's mother had said to her years ago, "You've shamed us, Susan. What were you thinking?" She, too, had been pregnant in high school and refused to marry the father of her child.

    Inspired to a degree by the Gloucester, MA pregnancy pact Barbara Delinsky has fashioned a riveting, emotion packed story about three high school girls who make a similar agreement. The effects on both the girls and their families are thoughtfully explored as each copes in a different way.

    As the high school principal Susan is, of course, now at risk with some perhaps thinking she is not fit to lead young students. She has fought hard for not only her job but for financial independence. Lily's actions force her mother to re-examine the mother/daughter relationship, as well as the part she may have played in Lily's choice consciously or subconsciously.

    Yet, at its heart NOT MY DAUGHTER is a story of love and forgiveness. Delinsky's characters are authentic, so real, and ultimately sympathetic. And her story line may lead some to discover just how many ways there are to be a good mother.

    - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    good book

    I enjoyed this book. Nice little vacation for my brain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    Good book for moms. It shows the complication of a mother daughter relationships and standards mothers face.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!!

    I totally enjoyed Barbara Delinsky's newest book. It is a well investigated storyline and very applicable in today's world.
    Heart wrenching. I felt as though I was going through all the events myself.
    Actually did not want the story to end. Bravo Barbara!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book Club Read

    This was a good book with enough substance to make it a good Book Club choice. The edition I read had questions in the back designed to start discussions, but I don't think you need them. The book really had me thinking about what it means to be a good parent...and just how quickly a teenage kid can get off track!

    The characters were easy to get to know and the friendships the women shared felt real. Delinsky also wove in enough aspects of the women's lives to let you see them in three dimensions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great story

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Not My Daughter

    Friendship proves to be a continuous theme in this story. Good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A look into an epidemic

    I thought this book was very interesting. It showed several girls who actively were trying to be parents and not a one night mistake. The mother was very loving, and the community backlash and final acceptance was realistic. I put this book down and it changed how I looked at others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Love this Book

    I loved this book. Bought at an airport because I had a 2 hour wait so glad I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A must read for parents of teenagers

    This book reminded me of the teenage pregnancy pact in Gloucester MA a while ago. The story was well-written and kept my attention. I was waiting to find out when the parents of the first girl would finally realize that their daughter started it all. It is a timely topic and a must read for parents and daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WHAT MAKES A GOOD MOTHER?

    Single mom Susan Tate has done all right for herself and her daughter, Lily, now 17. The principal of the local high in Zaganack, a small close knit community Susan is proud of Lily who excels not only scholastically but also in sports. Truth be told, Susan might be even prouder of their mother/daughter relationship. They're close, honest and open with one another.
    Thus, Lily's words were a shocker. "Susan never saw it coming. She only knew that her daughter was different. The girl who had always been spontaneous and open had suddenly grown opaque." She is pregnant. Hearing that confession from Lily and having the fact corroborated by a doctor brought back what Susan's mother had said to her years ago, "You've shamed us, Susan. What were you thinking?" She, too, had been pregnant in high school and refused to marry the father of her child.
    Inspired to a degree by the Gloucester, MA pregnancy pact Barbara Delinsky has fashioned a riveting, emotion packed story about three high school girls who make a similar agreement. The effects on both the girls and their families are thoughtfully explored as each copes in a different way.
    As the high school principal Susan is, of course, now at risk with some perhaps thinking she is not fit to lead young students. She has fought hard for not only her job but for financial independence. Lily's actions force her mother to re-examine the mother/daughter relationship, as well as the part she may have played in Lily's choice consciously or subconsciously.
    Yet, at its heart NOT MY DAUGHTER is a story of love and forgiveness. Delinsky's characters are authentic, so real, and ultimately sympathetic. And her story line may lead some to discover just how many ways there are to be a good mother.
    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    Teenage pregnancy has always been a controversial issue. What happens when three girls, with bright futures, form a pact and intentionally become pregnant? Who's to blame? Most importantly, what is the driving force for making such a pact?

    In Barbara Delinsky's latest novel, Not My Daughter, we meet Lily and her friends, Jessica and Mary Kate, three academic achievers, well-liked by the students and faculty, and who are also pregnant. Lily is Susan's daughter. Susan gave birth to Lily at a young age and doesn't want her daughter to face any of the problems she had when she became pregnant. And one more thing: Susan is the principal at Lily's high school.

    Teenage pregnancy is difficult to discuss and deal with as Susan quickly comes to realize. She's treated unfairly when it's revealed Lily is one of the girls who is pregnant. Susan's life is scrutinized at every angle and some feel she's not the right person to run the school as she cannot prevent her own daughter from getting pregnant.

    Are Susan and the other mothers being treated and judged too harshly? Are parents to blame when an unwanted pregnancy occurs? Is the responsibility solely placed on the two individuals who are about to become parents? These are some of the questions Ms. Delinsky tackles in Not My Daughter.

    I enjoyed reading this book. A look inside the three girls' reasons for becoming pregnant was both alarmingly and naive. I did want the author to delve deeper into the unknowing fathers' perspectives. How did these young boys feel after hearing these girls were pregnant? The author, however did spend some time with the father of Lily's baby and the growth of their relationship.

    I recommend reading Not My Daughter. I'd also consider it as a book club selection. There's a reading guide included that will help facilitate a discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Heartwarming, Captivating

    I really got lost in this one. I enjoyed the story. I would recommend it to anyone. It is a good read with a great topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Good

    I couldn't put this book down...literally read it in two days. It was an easy read and very interesting. I didn't love all of the characters and something about the author's style was a little irritating. Other than that it was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    profound family drama

    In Zaganack, Maine, the three high school students BFFs Lily, Mary Kate and Jess forge a pregnancy pact. Soon afterward, seventeen years old Lily informs her single mom Susan, who also happens to be the high school principal, that she is carrying a child. Susan is stunned that her daughter would do this as she failed to learn from her mom that kids having kids is not good. Kate and Sunny learn their teens Mary Kate and Jess respectively are also pregnant.

    Meanwhile the school board of old men blames Susan and her progressive example for the outrageous pact. As each of the parents struggle, Susan reflects back on what her father and mother did to her by kicking her out of their home so she turns to her daughter's father global photojournalist Rick for emotional help especially when Lily's pregnancy has health issues and the boys involved along with their parents are unsure of their roles.

    This is a profound look at a deep societal issue involving teen pregnancy. The cast is especially strong as the townsfolk specifically the board, the mothers and their pregnant daughters, and to a lesser degree the involved males are fully developed so that the readers understand their perspectives and hidden agendas. Susan especially is an incredible protagonist as she sort of goes through the phases of grief. Although the ending is to sugary perfect with resolution, fans will appreciate the road to get there.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6