Customer Reviews for

Not My Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 361 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read.

As a mother, who like Susan, experienced this myself as a young person I found the book interesting. I found it very realistic to the reactions felt when living in a small community... despite the fact that the situaion ultimately affected NONE of those characters who ...
As a mother, who like Susan, experienced this myself as a young person I found the book interesting. I found it very realistic to the reactions felt when living in a small community... despite the fact that the situaion ultimately affected NONE of those characters who were most strongly against it! I think it's a good topic for today, because even though teen pregnancy is not new pact behavior offers it a new twist. Good book!!!

posted by Nutty4Novels on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not one of her better books

Boring, boring, boring. I will have to admit I finished it to the end, hoping it would get better as it went along. In my opinion, this was the worst book she has ever written. I was very disappointed.

posted by ReaderNancy on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Great

    Another great read. Couldn't put it. Down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Captivating

    Listened to audio version and looked forward everytime i hopped in my car. Finished in a matter of days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Great Read!!

    I loved the book then again I love pretty much anything she writes!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great story

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    This is a PERFECT book for ANYBODY! You MUST read it!

    Susan Tate a single mother finds out that her seventeen-year old daughter Lily is pregnant, along with her two best friends Mary-Kate and Jessica. The girls created a pregnancy pact, and all three pregnancies were planned the summer before their senior year started. The catch is none of the boys who were with each of the girls knew that Lily, Mary-Kate or Jessica wanted a child at a young age. Lily's mom Susan had become pregnant herself at the same age and was aware of the difficulties of a young teenage mother without the support of her parents. Susan was not going to allow the abandonment of what her parents did happen to Lily. Even though the “pregnancy pact” put an enormous amount of stress on her job, relationships and she she was determined to help her only daughter though this time in her life. Meanwhile friendships are tested between the three girls and one of their other friends that were supposing the fourth girl to be a part of the “pregnancy pact”. Making this decision the three girls never took into consideration or thought how having a child at a young age would affect their lives and others such as their parents and the boys who are the baby fathers. This novel brings up a big question on whether there is such thing as a "good or perfect mother" in society and how most people judge the mistakes of moms everywhere. "Not My Daughter" has a combination of friendship, loyalty, and love that makes you enjoys and continues reading chapter after chapter! Overall this novel deals with the everyday struggles such as mother daughter relationships, teenage pregnancies, and social issues that average families go through. This is a must read for anyone in high school and avid readers seeking a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Not my Daughte Barbara Delinsky

    Introduction
    Not my Daughter is a story about three girls who decide to form a pregnancy pact. The girls were unaware of the consequences that would follow this decision for them and for their parents. This decision that these three girls made put an extreme amount of trouble on the small town of Zaganack. These girls thought everything was going to be perfect but that all turns around.
    Description and summary of main points
    The girls decide to get pregnant and completely exclude the baby’s fathers from everything. They all planned to keep it a secret until it was inevitable but that failed when Lily’s mother Susan got suspicious and she had to tell her. Susan soon found out about Mary Kate and Jess but it was not until later that their mothers Sunny and Kate found out about the pact. Susan was disappointed in Lily because she herself was a teenage mother and made sure Lily knew how hard it was. Sunny was really embarrassed that Jess was a pregnant teen and Kate was angry because she already had five kids in the house of her own and there was no room for another.

    The three mothers have been best friends for years and so have their daughters but Pam Abbey’s mom another friend of Lily’s is new to the group. On Saturdays the moms get together and dye yarn for PC Wool catalogue. They discus and vent about the girls being pregnant none of the moms get it their daughters are the top athletic, social, and academic students. All the blame is put on Susan because she is the principal of the high school and she was a teen mother herself so the school board is disappointed in her for not preventing this in her daughter.

    While Susan is fighting for her job her father dies and old feeling come back. Susan’s parents gave her money and kicked her out when they found out she was pregnant with Lily. Susan was especially angry that she never got the chance to talk to him before he died so they went to her hometown. Susan’s brother was mad that she showed up and told her to leave but Susan persisted to stay. After the funeral they went back home for Lily’s sonogram they find out that Lily’s baby has a serious health condition and will need surgery before birth to correct it.

    Although Abbey knows Lily was mad at her she and the other girls gathered to support Lily while the mothers comforted Susan. While she was gone an open meeting was held for her job and she was kept up to date by Abbey who was going to the hospital with them. She ended up keeping her job and the surgery was over after a couple of hours. Everyone was grateful that Lily’s baby was ok several weeks later all the girls had their babies and they were all fine but Jess’s baby had reflex disorder so it was hard for her to take her anywhere.
    Evaluation
    I thought this was a very good book and it made a point about how much trouble teen pregnancy can cause and what kind of things can go wrong. If your looking for a good book pick this one up at your local library or bookstore.
    Conclusion
    My conclusion is that when you’re young you are unaware of consequences that can follow your decisions. Young people can make decisions without thinking them completely through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Excellent!

    This was a great book. Very powerful, very emotional. Delinsky did a great job with this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Not My Daughter

    Friendship proves to be a continuous theme in this story. Good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Mature 13?

    Okay for a mature 13 year old?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could have been better.

    What i like about books is that they have to feel real to me. This book however felt more fairytaleish. Susan's parents somehow were the most real to me. They made me mad. Which im sure is what the author wanted. The rest of the people though, i didnt care for them. They were nice people, but, thats as far as i thought. Both with a happy ending and not so realistic stuff (ie: Susan and Rick were not believeable, the town was way overboard.) I didnt care too much. I think thr story would have been better coming from Lily's side of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book

    I cried and cheered with the characters. I felt each character struggles, challenges and triumphs as if they were my own. Beautiful storyline and beautiful narration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    great book~!!!

    it shows how teenagers nowadays are so experimental and outrageous.!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Once again Barbara delivers!!!!!

    Just finished another Barbara book. Once again the author delivered a fabulous read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A look into an epidemic

    I thought this book was very interesting. It showed several girls who actively were trying to be parents and not a one night mistake. The mother was very loving, and the community backlash and final acceptance was realistic. I put this book down and it changed how I looked at others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Love this Book

    I loved this book. Bought at an airport because I had a 2 hour wait so glad I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    missing the punch.

    NOT MY DAUGHTER is all about the struggle of teen pregnancy. What would you do if your 17 year old got pregnant? Not to mention she chose to be pregnant herself? What this effect your job, and the people in your life? Even though NOT MY DAUGHTER is a fictional story, it's loosely of the so called pregnancy pact that came from MA.
    It's an easy story to read, you soon forget you are and land up 20 pages later, yet something is missing. It's missing the punch and the excitement. Everything barrels down to the Town Hall meeting, and then poof, it all dissapears. I would suggest to get it from your library, not spending your money on it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Love this author, but not her best

    I buy every book that Barbara Delinsky writes. Delinsky takes us through the journey of a group of girls who make a pact to all have babies at the age of seventeen. She does a great job putting us in the characters' worlds and it is an emotional ride. I didn't feel myself getting lost in the story as much as her other books. I didn't finish the book thinking how much I loved the book. I accepted it was a great premise. I connected, but not wholeheartedly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Story about a high school administrator and her teenage daughter's pregnancy.

    I have always enjoyed Ms.Delinsky's books because of the interpersonal relationships, however, this one seemed to be written "on remote control". The characters were superficial and the relationship between the main characters was unrealistic. It seemed like a "fairytale", not real life, even after she wrote of vital decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A must read for parents of teenagers

    This book reminded me of the teenage pregnancy pact in Gloucester MA a while ago. The story was well-written and kept my attention. I was waiting to find out when the parents of the first girl would finally realize that their daughter started it all. It is a timely topic and a must read for parents and daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WHAT MAKES A GOOD MOTHER?

    Single mom Susan Tate has done all right for herself and her daughter, Lily, now 17. The principal of the local high in Zaganack, a small close knit community Susan is proud of Lily who excels not only scholastically but also in sports. Truth be told, Susan might be even prouder of their mother/daughter relationship. They're close, honest and open with one another.
    Thus, Lily's words were a shocker. "Susan never saw it coming. She only knew that her daughter was different. The girl who had always been spontaneous and open had suddenly grown opaque." She is pregnant. Hearing that confession from Lily and having the fact corroborated by a doctor brought back what Susan's mother had said to her years ago, "You've shamed us, Susan. What were you thinking?" She, too, had been pregnant in high school and refused to marry the father of her child.
    Inspired to a degree by the Gloucester, MA pregnancy pact Barbara Delinsky has fashioned a riveting, emotion packed story about three high school girls who make a similar agreement. The effects on both the girls and their families are thoughtfully explored as each copes in a different way.
    As the high school principal Susan is, of course, now at risk with some perhaps thinking she is not fit to lead young students. She has fought hard for not only her job but for financial independence. Lily's actions force her mother to re-examine the mother/daughter relationship, as well as the part she may have played in Lily's choice consciously or subconsciously.
    Yet, at its heart NOT MY DAUGHTER is a story of love and forgiveness. Delinsky's characters are authentic, so real, and ultimately sympathetic. And her story line may lead some to discover just how many ways there are to be a good mother.
    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19