Customer Reviews for

Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Very interesting

    Got the book, read it, laughed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Heres my 6 word memior.....

    My life started with her cry....... which is talking about when my sister was born and i heard her crying through the phone on her first day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Life summary in a sentence!

    I love this book and plan to buy the sequel. These six word memoirs are short yet profound. You will run through many emotions and you have a peek into the lives of others: happy, sad, shock, horror. I used this book as a springboard to have my elementary school students do a six word statement about themselves. The results were amazing. What a great tweet a six word statement would be. I am fascinated by the concept as each day/month/year our six word life snapshot will be different. I would love to see people trying to put in six words their life at this moment and then continue to do it through the many other moments in their life. For non-writers...what a great way to get your life on paper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun quick read

    This is a great collection of six-word memoirs from an awesome array of people. Celebrities whose memoirs appear include Aimee Mann, Amy Sedaris, Mitali Perkins and more, but the really great memoirs come from us everyday folk.

    "Can't read all the time. Bummer." (140)
    "I love my lady ... and bacon." (127)
    "I'm ten, and have an attitude." (83)
    And the story of my life, written in six words by someone else:
    "I wrote it all down somewhere." (43)

    This is a quick read that will make you both laugh and think and will leave you with a very dog-eared book of lines to go back to later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible.

    At times, depressing, others touching and completely inspiring. If you liked this, you'd LOVE Post Secret too.

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    not quite what i was expecting when I bought the book online

    thats all

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You will not be disappointed in this book!

    I love this book and have given it to many people as gifts! It was very touching to read the 6-word memoirs of famous as well as not-so-famous people. Some are sad, some are funny and entertaining, some are very poignant. It has inspired my friends and me to write several of our own memoirs and share them together. We all agreed that we'd find ourselves thinking of words to describe our lives (or at least parts of life) and silently counting on our fingers to see if we had exactly six words. The book really helped us to know and understand ourselves and each other in new ways and was lots of fun. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm trying to boil it down.....

    ...to just 6 words! This is fun. Great for reading in the john, conversation starters, a great party game. I gave a copy for Christmas, and if I can't borrow it back, I'll buy another copy for myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Little slices of humanity

    Just bought a copy and I love it! Full of amazing 6-word stories from hundreds of people, most I didn't know, but lots of interesting celebrities too! Stephen Colbert's was funny, Joan Rivers too. How did they get all these great people in their book? Who cares, when we get to enjoy the fruits of their labors. Hurray!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2