Customer Reviews for

Not Quite a Gentleman

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book made me buy all her other works...

After reading historical romances for about a year, I felt like I had exhausted the market. Something about this time period (1700-1900) speaks to me and to me the romance is always so much better than with a contemporary romance. So i'm always looking for new authors, ...
After reading historical romances for about a year, I felt like I had exhausted the market. Something about this time period (1700-1900) speaks to me and to me the romance is always so much better than with a contemporary romance. So i'm always looking for new authors, new plots, new characters to fall in love with. After reading some reviews I decided to order this book by this author, whom I had never heard of. Let me say, it was the first book I had read in a while that had totally captured my attention. The two main characters were soooo well written, I fell in love with them immediately. The chemistry was awesome and as some other readers have said, the dialogue was unstoppable. I found myself laughing out loud frequently. I loved the heroine. She was outspoken and adorable without being tiresome and totally stubborn. To me alot of the time, the heroine is usually the one I look to to carry the story line and develop it. She is representing women in way and I hate when they make the heroines brats or idiots. This book really made me believe they were two people in love and the story captured me. I went online the next day and ordered all of Ms. D'alessandro's other historical works. I hope I'm not disappointed!

posted by Anonymous on October 19, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Annoying

I have been reading this author's work, and have been enjoying it. This book, however, just annoys the crap out of me. I know its fiction, not real life. I know its historical, showing how women start standing up for themselves, instead of being used, but come on! T...
I have been reading this author's work, and have been enjoying it. This book, however, just annoys the crap out of me. I know its fiction, not real life. I know its historical, showing how women start standing up for themselves, instead of being used, but come on! The female character in this novel just uses the "Ladies' Guide" to behave like a spoiled brat. She throws temper tantram after temper tantram, all while interfering in an investigation into a treasonous murderer. Poor little princess didn't like it when she realized she was an empty-headed bimbo and had been treated like one. And we, the reader, are supposed to believe that the hero respects her for her ill-timed, and poorly executed attempt at gaining "independence". Not likely. You gain respect by earning it, perhaps by acting like a grown up and putting potential murder victims needs above your own wants. You do not gain it by blackmail. Unrealistic and completely unrelatable characters and storyline.

posted by cassandrascurse on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    This book made me buy all her other works...

    After reading historical romances for about a year, I felt like I had exhausted the market. Something about this time period (1700-1900) speaks to me and to me the romance is always so much better than with a contemporary romance. So i'm always looking for new authors, new plots, new characters to fall in love with. After reading some reviews I decided to order this book by this author, whom I had never heard of. Let me say, it was the first book I had read in a while that had totally captured my attention. The two main characters were soooo well written, I fell in love with them immediately. The chemistry was awesome and as some other readers have said, the dialogue was unstoppable. I found myself laughing out loud frequently. I loved the heroine. She was outspoken and adorable without being tiresome and totally stubborn. To me alot of the time, the heroine is usually the one I look to to carry the story line and develop it. She is representing women in way and I hate when they make the heroines brats or idiots. This book really made me believe they were two people in love and the story captured me. I went online the next day and ordered all of Ms. D'alessandro's other historical works. I hope I'm not disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Very Good

    This was a very good book you will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Annoying

    I have been reading this author's work, and have been enjoying it. This book, however, just annoys the crap out of me. I know its fiction, not real life. I know its historical, showing how women start standing up for themselves, instead of being used, but come on! The female character in this novel just uses the "Ladies' Guide" to behave like a spoiled brat. She throws temper tantram after temper tantram, all while interfering in an investigation into a treasonous murderer. Poor little princess didn't like it when she realized she was an empty-headed bimbo and had been treated like one. And we, the reader, are supposed to believe that the hero respects her for her ill-timed, and poorly executed attempt at gaining "independence". Not likely. You gain respect by earning it, perhaps by acting like a grown up and putting potential murder victims needs above your own wants. You do not gain it by blackmail. Unrealistic and completely unrelatable characters and storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Excellent author!

    I've been hooked on romances for almost a year now, and have read boatloads of them. This one sticks out for me because the interaction between the protagonists is so well done. The dialogue is absolutely unmatched in any other romance genre book I have read. There is obvious instant physical attraction, but the meat of the book is made up of showing how conversations and interactions evolve into a true love relationship. I'm definitely going to check our this author's other works. I think I have found a new favorite!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    intelligent extremely well written Regency who-done-it

    Her father orders Lady Victoria Wexhall to leave London for the home of Viscount Sutton in a remote part of Cornwall as he wants a match. However, at Wexhall¿s estate is the viscount¿s younger sibling Nathan Oliver, a retired spy who kissed Victoria three years ago that first kiss remains imprinted in her heart though the rascal vanished without a trace immediately afterward. He came home to search for jewels stolen from him while he was on an espionage mission before he ever met Victoria who he has not forgotten since the kiss. Immediately upon seeing one another, Victoria and Nathan know that the deep attraction they felt three years ago remains as strong as ever. However, he fears acting on his desires at least until he completes his current investigation because he wants no harm to come to the woman he admires. She, on the other hand, refuses to allow him to sneak off, and quickly forces herself into the inquiries. --- NOT QUITE A GENTLEMAN is an intelligent extremely well written Regency who-done-it starring two strong willed delightful sleuths, a professional and an amateur, who also have a past together. The story line is action-packed yet the beauty of a Jacquie D¿Alessandro novel is that the author makes her era come alive through her fully developed lead characters. Fans will root for Victoria and Nathan to solve the case and remain with one another for a lifetime of love. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    This One Is A Keeper...Not Quite A Gentleman

    I selected Jackie D'Alessandro's book 'Not Quite a Gentleman' to buy and read as the reviews seemed good for her. It's hard to find new authors that are really good. What a surprise that I read this book and was sad to see the end of this story appear. As the other reviewers noted, Nathan and Victoria's story was a wonderful one. It is nice to see a couple meet - feel the instant attraction and interest in one another but, then history has a way of making people part and take other roads. Fortunately, these two were destinted to meet up again and see if the magic of the first meeting still existed and did it ever. If you enjoy strong leading men and equally strong leading women you will love this book. I enjoyed that the leading man was not your usual duke, price or the like - instead he was a second son without a title or inheritence and instead chose to become a simple country doctor. Nathan's kindness, charm, wit and physical appeal all outweigh what society says is best for a man. In turn, Victoria embodies all that high levels females have at this time in history - beauty, grace, charm and a good blood line. She thinks she needs the same in a man to be happy but, fortunately destiny had a way of giving her Nathan which is really what she needed. A truer case of what you really want, isn't right for you and what you think you don't want - you need the most. You'll enjoy hearing about all of Nathan's animal friends, hearing about his family, her family and the backdrop of spies, lost royal jewels and who can be trusted and who can't. The relationship between Nathan and Victoria develop in such a soft, gentle, beautiful and REAL way that you'll have trouble putting this one down. The intimate scences are extremely well written and very erotic and sensuous while still being very tasteful. I would give the scences a 9 out of 10 - just enough without going over-board. It fitted to the story line perfectly. I can't wait to purchase a few more books from this author as she won me over with this story. She is a talented writer and I can't wait to meet more of her enjoyable characters and story lines. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Wonderfully Entertaining

    I have considered Ms. D'Allesandro to be one of the top five authors writing historical romances today since her debut novel RED ROSES MEAN LOVE was published. This novel is as outstanding as her other novels. She breathes such life into all of her characters that immediately draws the reader into their world. She can create an erotic scene with the barest touch of a hand. Her hero and heroine are always honest and intelligent. Her touches of humor are perfectly placed and always make me laugh. The passion between Victoria and Nathan sizzles and delights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great Read!

    Enjoyable book to read. Will read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Quite enjoyable

    Interesting characcters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    A Romance that Seduces You!

    This book is absolutley amazing. It is about a woman that was given her first kiss by a man that dumped her immediatly afterward. The woman, Lady Victoria Wexhall, then decides to get revenge on the man, Nathan Olilver, by doing the same to him. Seduce and destroy. As she tries to ruin the man, she finds herself getting in the middle of a hunt for lost jewels, but importantly, falling in love. This book made me want to read every other book written by this author. She is an amazing writer, and this book deserves every positive word in the english dictionary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Surprisingly Romantic

    Given the start of this book I was preparing myself for a real let-down. In the beginning Victoria claims a desire for revenge for a matter that was so trivial and no reasonable individual would find so offensive as to need to plot revenge. The main characters then go on to make baselss assumptions about each other for no apparent reason. Fortunately it goes up from there and the highlight of this book is in the dialogue between Victoria and Nathan. It's refreshing to see an actual relationship unfold. The background mystery is less than thrilling and lacking clarity but the relationships are well done, so that can be overlooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    The Best Book I have Read In A long Time

    It was a great mixture of suspence and romance. I love not knowing what is going to happen next. Also the 'Who done it' endings are always the best to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1