Customer Reviews for

Not Taco Bell Material

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Even when you disagree with Adam Carolla, you have to concede th

Even when you disagree with Adam Carolla, you have to concede that he has a point. This is no hyper-edited glossy celeb bio. This is an angry ranting middle-aged white dude with a beautiful sense of irony, often a crude sense of humor, and a way of looking at things t...
Even when you disagree with Adam Carolla, you have to concede that he has a point. This is no hyper-edited glossy celeb bio. This is an angry ranting middle-aged white dude with a beautiful sense of irony, often a crude sense of humor, and a way of looking at things that makes a reader think and laugh.
Adam's humor is often self-deprecating, but he doesn't mind bringing down anyone and everyone a notch or two. This has occasionally made those who don't understand his humor or irony think that he's racist or bigoted. He makes many cracks about women that used to irritate me until I'd catch myself doing the very thing he'd yelled about...and realized he's right.

If you like the book, I recommend that you also get the audiobook, as Adam eschews the traditional format and starts ranting tangents that are not in the book. It's the audiobook version of a director's cut and is worth every penny. I'm only 2 hours in and already there's a bunch of material not in the ebook!

posted by BooksAndBeer on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book is a perfect example of what happens when someone lose

This book is a perfect example of what happens when someone loses their edge. Put me to sleep. But after The Hammer, I suppose this was to be expected.

posted by Cassandra27 on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Even when you disagree with Adam Carolla, you have to concede th

    Even when you disagree with Adam Carolla, you have to concede that he has a point. This is no hyper-edited glossy celeb bio. This is an angry ranting middle-aged white dude with a beautiful sense of irony, often a crude sense of humor, and a way of looking at things that makes a reader think and laugh.
    Adam's humor is often self-deprecating, but he doesn't mind bringing down anyone and everyone a notch or two. This has occasionally made those who don't understand his humor or irony think that he's racist or bigoted. He makes many cracks about women that used to irritate me until I'd catch myself doing the very thing he'd yelled about...and realized he's right.

    If you like the book, I recommend that you also get the audiobook, as Adam eschews the traditional format and starts ranting tangents that are not in the book. It's the audiobook version of a director's cut and is worth every penny. I'm only 2 hours in and already there's a bunch of material not in the ebook!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Another great one from Ace.

    GET IT ON ACE MAN!!!! I've been impatiently waiting for the release of this book ever since I put down the last one and as I expected, it was worth the wait. If you listen to the podcast (as you should if you're not retarded), a lot of this will be things that Adam has touched on and sometimes ranted about before. However, there are plenty of unheard tales and little nuggets that will give you more insight into the life of Ace Rockolla. Do yourself a favor, buy the book and you will not regret it. While you're at it, tell a friend, support the podcast and keep the pirate ship afloat!!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Excellent Read

    This book shows what you can achieve on your own without help from family or goverment. Hats off to Mr. Carolla.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    I like hilarious reads and this month has been a good one for me

    I like hilarious reads and this month has been a good one for me. I decided to make my weekend a relaxing one and starting off with The Oaf, and then capped it with Adam Carolla's Not Taco Bell Material. The characters are witty and serve their purposes pretty well. The pace is fast and the descriptions succinct. On top of all of that, the writing is smooth and the lines made it the fun book that it is. This book of a beautiful mind deserves all the credits it has been given.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Funny and inspiring

    A great look at one mans growth and life from each house he lived in. Super funny

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Had to buy it 3 pages into the sample!

    All I can say is I loved it...and it's the only Nook book I've paid this much for, and worth every penny! I laughed in every chapter and appreciate him so much more knowing his background. Highly recommend to anyone who's ever laughed at only even one of his jokes; funny and still touching.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Fun read!

    I really enjoyed the book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    This book is a perfect example of what happens when someone lose

    This book is a perfect example of what happens when someone loses their edge. Put me to sleep. But after The Hammer, I suppose this was to be expected.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    This book would make great toilet paper! ZERO STARS

    I have never read a book like this in my life - it is one boy's wet dream of a life - I have never read a book with so much pee, poop, puke, etc. in it. Most lousy books have something to recommend them, but this stinker is AWFUL! I can't believe I bought such a piece of drek. This guy keeps telling us how he is a "celebrity", however, I have never even heard his name before. Please do yourself a big favor and DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS BOOK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Bobthebuilder1234567890@$%(:::::)\=]

    Hi

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    The Ace Man Comes Through Again

    Great fun once again. I buy a taco from you any time!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Hilarious

    Loved this book as much as his first. Laughed all the way thru and learned a few things along the way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    funny

    Tells it like it is a no hold back kind or guy, very entertaining!!! WORTH YOUR TIME----------

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Very Funny

    The language is a little raw, but that is Adam Carolla. Enjoyed his life story. Title is perfect. Not for kids.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    A great follow-up to In Fifty Years We'll All Be Chicks. Before

    A great follow-up to In Fifty Years We'll All Be Chicks. Before you jump to the conclusion that it's trash based on his comedy and podcast, give it a chance. You'll be surprised and probably won't want to put it down. Without being a spoiler, look out for the Tan Gents, little nuggets of wisdom. I still want to know how he fixed up his pickup to become "theftproof" by cutting off the fuel supply for one or two blocks? I was rolling on the floor after reading that one!! Sheer genius!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Way too funny! Who knew this guy had such a crazy life!

    Way too funny! Who knew this guy had such a crazy life!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Phenomimal

    Inspriational. Endeering. Hillarious and life changing for me. Not since his first have i had a life changing book grace my eyes like this one. A must buy. Especially for podcast listeners

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Awful...

    I read this book because of Dennis Prager's interview with Mr. Carolla. It's awful - not because of the cussing and the utter and relentless crassness but because of the total lack of any gratitude.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Hilarious!

    Adam takes us on a walk through his incredibly interesting journey in an engaging, thought provoking, and hilarious way.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    What a sad, pathetic childhood. Now a genius.

    What a sad, pathetic childhood. Now a genius.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4