Customer Reviews for

Not Without Hope

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What an amazing thing hope is. And what amazing things you can do with just a sliver of it.

I cried and then I cried some more. Never in my life have I read a book that touched me to the core as did Not Without Hope. Never in my life have I read a book that inspired me as did Not Without Hope. This story is a demonstration that when you think you can't go o...
I cried and then I cried some more. Never in my life have I read a book that touched me to the core as did Not Without Hope. Never in my life have I read a book that inspired me as did Not Without Hope. This story is a demonstration that when you think you can't go on...you can. This story reveals the amazing human spirit. After reading this, you will be filled with gratitude for everything that is right with your life and for every relationship you have. You will be humbled. You will be grateful for your family and your friends. You will be happy to be alive. You will be heart-broken for all that was lost. You will know absolutely what is important in your life. You will know absolutely where your priorities lie. You will know absolutely the small stuff should never be sweated. And you will be amazed at what can be accomplished with just a sliver of hope.

posted by RonFields on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring story

This story made me want to hug Nick! Sad. Inspiring. A lot of emotions reading this book. Only three stars because it was very boring at parts, a lot of the same but the same thing happened for many hours in his life... worth reading.

posted by 10477601 on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    This book was too good to put down.

    I was able to finish this book in an afternoon. I often felt as though I was right there with the main character, and only survivor, of a small capsized boat 75 miles off the coast of Florida. The horrific events that took place as four football players, two from NFL teams, struggled against hypothermia and raging seas bore witness to the human spirit. At one point, I did have to walk away and clear my head for several minutes as the story was so intense. The only criticism is that, in an effort to make the book longer, it became somewhat repetitive near the end. Highly recommended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Riveting, Eye-Opening, a Page-Turner

    While this is not the greatest of literature in terms of writing style, it is sincere and deeply moving as the story rolls out in the first person, and it tells the gut-wrenching story of terror and then loss. It is as close to a vicarious experience as you can get. The book reads very quickly, and I recommend it for a quick read you will not forget.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Human endurance as told by the sole survivor.

    The story that could only have been told by the sole survivor. It brings to the reader what "The Perfect Storm" could not--first hand account of a very tragic boating accident, loss of life, and finally rescue. I hope boaters everywhere read this and take something from it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Fascinating

    I live in Tampa and enjoy boating, as well as survival stories. So I was really looking forward to this book. It met my expectations. I could hardly set it down. I couldn't wait to see what happened next, even though I knew the ending. I would give it five stars except the writing is not as polished as it could be - I was confused by what seemed like abrupt transitions from first-person to third-person. Still, it's a great read and a remarkable story of survival.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    The best thing is.....

    Not Without Hope is written by Nick .zSchuyler with, I suppose, help from Jere Longham. Once it got going I could not put it down. I had to get up early to go shooting and was up til 1:30 am standing in the light reading page after page. It is sort of sad how the guys in the book get so battered by the sea so fast. It must have taken incredible strength to last as long as they did. I feel very sorry for them all. Some parts were repetitive I thought and some words were used out of context which I attribute to the Authors possibly being unfamiliar with the words they were writing. That's always a bit of a turn off for serious readers, however, this is a great little book and worth buying if only to be reminded of how delicate we all are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Didn't want to put it down.

    I read an excerpt of this book while waiting in a doctor's office in some magazine there. I couldn't put the magazine down then and went right out and bought the book. It is a gripping account of these courageous men and last hours. It was informative by demonstrating do's and don't that we take for granted on the water; and now I have different outlook on a quick fishing trip. There apparently has been some controversy over this book but it is worth every minute. I believe the point of the book was if you learn one thing from the mistakes of those four souls then it was worth it to Mr. Schuyler. I know I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Amazing!

    Although I had seen Nick Schuyler on Oprah and heard him on the radio, I was riveted by this book. Despite the negative feelings between the families, having to watch anyone die and the feeling of being helpless is a major trauma. I appreciate that Nick wanted to put the story into his own words so that he could honor the others. I hope that he can heal and live and long and productive life. You will not be disappointed by this book! Although I agree with some of the other reviews, the writing is sometimes lacking in substance, I still, literally, could not put it down, it had me up into the wee hours of the night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Great Book

    Only took four sittings to finish.Needed to know more than the media and the real thing did that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2