Customer Reviews for

Not Without Hope

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What an amazing thing hope is. And what amazing things you can do with just a sliver of it.

I cried and then I cried some more. Never in my life have I read a book that touched me to the core as did Not Without Hope. Never in my life have I read a book that inspired me as did Not Without Hope. This story is a demonstration that when you think you can't go o...
I cried and then I cried some more. Never in my life have I read a book that touched me to the core as did Not Without Hope. Never in my life have I read a book that inspired me as did Not Without Hope. This story is a demonstration that when you think you can't go on...you can. This story reveals the amazing human spirit. After reading this, you will be filled with gratitude for everything that is right with your life and for every relationship you have. You will be humbled. You will be grateful for your family and your friends. You will be happy to be alive. You will be heart-broken for all that was lost. You will know absolutely what is important in your life. You will know absolutely where your priorities lie. You will know absolutely the small stuff should never be sweated. And you will be amazed at what can be accomplished with just a sliver of hope.

posted by RonFields on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring story

This story made me want to hug Nick! Sad. Inspiring. A lot of emotions reading this book. Only three stars because it was very boring at parts, a lot of the same but the same thing happened for many hours in his life... worth reading.

posted by 10477601 on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    What an amazing thing hope is. And what amazing things you can do with just a sliver of it.

    I cried and then I cried some more. Never in my life have I read a book that touched me to the core as did Not Without Hope. Never in my life have I read a book that inspired me as did Not Without Hope. This story is a demonstration that when you think you can't go on...you can. This story reveals the amazing human spirit. After reading this, you will be filled with gratitude for everything that is right with your life and for every relationship you have. You will be humbled. You will be grateful for your family and your friends. You will be happy to be alive. You will be heart-broken for all that was lost. You will know absolutely what is important in your life. You will know absolutely where your priorities lie. You will know absolutely the small stuff should never be sweated. And you will be amazed at what can be accomplished with just a sliver of hope.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Great Book

    Enjoyed this book. It was hard to put down once I started reading it. Made you feel like you were right there watching them as they went throught this horror.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    What a fabulous and well written book! How i wish there would be more books like that! It is such a great book that my daughter who is 11 is truly enthralled with it and my husband is waiting to read it next. Sure makes you think about what to have on the boat and to mot overlook.
    Thank you for telling your captivating story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Great Book!!! Highly Recommend!

    This book is a very good book, one you can't put down, harrowing but sad. The book is written by Nick Schulyler, a former college football player turned personal trainer who survived a boating accident that left three of his friends dead, including two NFL players and his best friend a former USF Bulls college football player. The story is about four (4) friends who set out for a deep-sea fishing trip in the Gulf of Mexico. They had planned on a fun and relaxing day drinking a few beers, having some laughs and had planned to get home before an approaching cold front hit. After getting to their fishing destination, and fishing for a short time, the seas began to swell and the winds picked up so they packed everything up and decided to head back to shore. As they started to leave, they realized that the anchor was stuck. The four were inexperienced boaters and decided that the best way to get the anchor to release was by tying the anchor rope to the front of the boat and hitting the throttle. Instead of the anchor breaking free, the front of the boat sank and filled with water and the boat capsized. In order to survive, the men had to try to get to the life jackets under the boat. They had no beacon to alert authorities and their cell phones would not work so far out in the Gulf. They had no food or water as it was trapped in coolers under the boat, so all they could do was cling to the overturned boat throughout the night as the seas got rougher and the clouds got black from the incoming cold front. The four men were continuously being tossed from the boat by large waves and they started to battle hypothermia, hallucinatioms, hunger, dehydration and huge waves. Being athletes, they worked as a team praying together, talking about what they would have done different in their lives and what they were going to do when they returned home. When one fell off the boat, the others would swim out to retrieve tham and help them back onto the boat. Nick Schuyler, the only one able to survive by holding on to the boat's propeller, tells his story about survival and what is what like watching three of his best friends die.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a Harrowing Story

    I read someof the other reviews before I bought this book, but they didn't sway me one way or the other. I am so glad I bought this! What a wonderful story!!!
    Granted, there is a lot of repitition in the book, but what did people expect? He was on that water for 43 hours with nothing but the same thing to do over and over again. He watched these three friends die around him.
    So if there's a lot of turmoil and pain still surrounding the whole situation, I think he deserves a break for watching three people die. People he cared about and called friend.

    As for the book, I think it was well written and it's told as though he is actually talking to someone rather than writing it himself.

    I think this book is worth reading, no matter how much it repeats itself.

    To Nick: I hope you find peace with this tragedy, sweetie. I really do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    D Rip

    This book is so sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Human spirit at its best

    Nick and his friends do something they just didn't think through. Having boated and been in high seas the fact that anyone survived this disaster is nothing short of a miracle. The book read quickly and I thought it was well written. You could see the heart of Nick , his anguish and his determination to stay alive. This is the human spirit at its best and how when faced with the worst of conditions our will to survive surmounts any obstacle put in our path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    And then there was one...

    I saw Nick on Oprah and thought...let me grab this book. I bought a 2nd book for a friend as well.

    I felt this was something that I wanted to read and see what he learned...as we don't have time to make all the mistakes in this life.

    I so enjoyed this book! I couldn't put it down and finished it in a such a short time...I imagined how frustrating everything seemed and how unbelievable this was. The big question, how could this happen?

    Life happens all the time and in many shapes and forms...when we share these types of stories...it's a reminder that you never know what will happen in your life...your decisions will make all the difference!

    I recommend picking up this book and getting a group of friends...read it outloud. Share this task...and talk about it...hear all the points of view there. Grow, live better and brighter...you never know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Excellant reading

    I followed this story as it was happening. We are boaters also owning a 24 ft Everglades boat. I felt so bad for all on the boat. I find this book very interesting & I would recommend it to anyone. Good reading & lessoned learned to all boaters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Amazing story!!

    I literally couldn't put this book down. A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2