BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Not Without My Daughter

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    I'm an American female sophomore in Highschool, with my best male friend being an Iranian

    Having my best friend being an Iranian, my curiosity for this culture grew. Flipping the channels one day, I came across this movie, and was moved by it. I decided to read the book--which I'm not much of a book reader, but once I started, I couldn't put it down. The book is so incredible. It taught me a lot about how life is in Iran. Betty's courage was unbelievable, and brought tears in my eyes thorughout the book. She taught me to believe, and if you do, it will happen. Just like what her dad had said to her, 'Where there's a will, there's a way.'... Through this book, I feel I understand my Iranian friend a lot better, which brought us closer, sharing our cultural differences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    i was a muslim and im so disappointed and embarassed by it all..

    i felt for her. i just do not understand how can one be so unfeeling ( moody ) betty gives me the sense of being what you want, be strong and be positive. she is my role model, and given a chance i really want to meet her and give her a BIG hug. anyone ...help me..how am i to contact her?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    This book had me on the edge of my seat all the way through. This is a story of a courageous woman who races against time to save herself and the fate of her daughter. Stuck in a country where women have no rights and Americans are despised, she must find a way to escape, with her daughter, back to the safety of America. This is truly one of my favorite books;However, I do not recommend the movie. The book is much better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    A cautionary, inspiring tale of hope and perseverance against all odds

    This was my first favorite book, dont watch the movie though, its nothing to compare, the book is culturally eyeopening, heart wrenching, edge of your seat, inspirational, and OMG I cant believe this is real stories! you will never appreciate your freedom and choices as an American women as much as you will after reading this book and you will know not to ever make the mistake she did.
    I took this book to an inmate I was supporting at the county Jail, this book circulated through out the entire womens population, with a waiting list for who was next in line to read it! I hope to get another copy just to pass it on again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Thought provoking

    The courage of Betty and her daughter is amazing and leaves me wondering how they are carrying on today. The novel is insightful and thought provoking, at times frightening to realize how cruel people can be. The book helps us realize how fortunate we are for the freedoms we have in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    A Great Story

    Not Without My Daughter was an amazing story not because it was enjoyable to hear the struggles that Betty had to endure, but rather the fact that she did endure them and found a way out-it was inspiring to see this woman and daughter that seemed to be completely alone and helpless in a foreign country find a way to communicate with their family back home and find people that they could trust to make plans for them to escape out of the hands of their keeper. At the beginning of the book especially, I could tell that getting on that plane was a bad idea and I wish I could have been there and told them not to get on, but instead I had to read as they fell into the trap set by her husband, hoping that it wouldn't end until they were safe again. Probably most of all though, this book made me appreciate my freedom in America. Betty went from growing up with all sorts of freedoms to being trapped in a home 1,000s of miles away with nowhere to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    BETTY MAHMOODY'S ORDEAL

    I have watched the movie 'Not Without My Daughter' many times and I always feel the same way when it ends. Envisioning myself in her place and ending up doing the same things she did to get through her ordeal. This movie should not be criticized for it's protrayal of the United States or Iran but should just simply be understood as a womans true account in her eyes of her horrible situation she went through and doing what she could in attempting to save herself and her daughter. End of story. If Dr. Mahmoody wants to tell his side of the story then I would be more then happy to read it too. God Bless Betty and her daughter. I wish I knew how they were doing now. Great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Now that the fifteen British mariners have been released from Iranian captivity and repatriated, if you're interested in forming an impression of what it's like to live among typical Persians, whose habits of personal hygiene may surprise you, revisit this book while copies remain available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    this book will seriously move you to tears..

    a classy read!it really makes the sayin true'..where there's a will there's a way'...very heart touchin..i'll end with what i started off....a classy and a wonderful read.!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    We Do Understand

    Betty's tale is a remarkable journey upon which we all learn the power of human will. Betty has written the story based on HER experiences not those of the audience of readers. Some readers seem to be angered by her story, but it is not their story. Betty does not claim to state the opinions of all Americans or Iranians. I have known many Iranians in my life that have told of similar stories. I grew up with an Iranian family who are still very close to me today. I do not think of them as the characters in the book. We all don't like to hear something negative about our culture, but it sometimes happens. It does not mean we judge the entire culture by this book, it is ONE story not the New York Times. Let Betty speak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    To hell and back

    I watched this movie in my sociology class and at first I didn't think it would be that interesting. After the movie was over, I couldn't believe that this woman had experienced all that struggle and lifestyle. I could only imagine how she felt when she went along with her husband trusting him and then he betrayed he and turned violent and controlling towards her. It really is an inspirational movie, I can't even imagine all the intricate details that also went on that the movie did not illustrate. It really does seem that she has been to hell and back and made it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    This is a TRUE story

    Loved 'Not without my Daughter' and felt so sorry that Betty had such a struggle to get out of Iran with her daughter! Makes one think about the treatment of women in other countries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    Outstanding!!!!

    A exceptionally well writen book that sheds tremendous insight into the Islamic faith and culture of Moslems in the middle east. I saw the movie years ago and it inspired me to finally read the book. I was fascinated to learn about Betty's triumph in overcoming hardship and abuse in Iran. This is definitely a must read book, especailly given the state of affairs the US is having today with the middle east. This story makes you proud and glad to be an American!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Great book on understanding human and womens rights

    I'm glad to see so many younger people reading this book. Searching around I read reviews by some who found this book biased and some said Betty did not understand the culture. Whether she understood it or not is irrelevant. What happened to her is a severe violation of basic human rights in America. Some have said she had no respect for the laws of Iran, but where was the respect for Betty and Mahtob's rights? Betty had every right to expect to be able to return to her country and every right to take her daughter with her. While some view her escape as a kidnapping, I say good for her! She has saved her daughter from a life that would prevent her from opportunity and education. I admire Betty's strength in continuing her efforts to protect children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    kristin ,14 westerly r.i

    i think that the book was fabolous maybe some parts people can obviously get offended by as we saw but they dont know what it was like for betty in iran i know this because my father is in the millitary and we went to the middle east it honestly isnt the best place no its not as harsh and whatnot as they say in the book BUT the book was also taken place in 1986 i know anerica isnt 100% innocent either but its not about that its about not with out my daughter. i personally thought it was the best book i have ever read. i had to read it for summer reading in portsmouth middle school to go to the 9th grade. i can honestly say i loved this book and i recomend it to EVERYONE! i myself i really hate reading books and after i read this book ive been wanting to read more and more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    Great book!

    I'm a 14 year old American and i absolutely loved this book! I think it gives good insite into the Iranian lifestyle and ahows how oppressed women really are. I reccomend this to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    Wonderful Book

    Book Review of: Not Without My Daughter By: Jill in Ohio I absolutely loved this book. I read it in my twelfth grade English class in high school. Although I don¿t know much about the country of Iran seeing how I¿ve never been there, I did study their culture, religion, and lifestyle in high school. I do know enough about Arabians that live in Iran to know that women are treated inferior to men and they must do exactly what their husbands say in order to steer clear of conflicts. This book was a very good and true representation of Arabians that live in Iran from my knowledge source. I don¿t think that all Arabs are like this especially the ones living in America that have been Americanized. Moody was a good representation of that concept because while his family lived in America he was portrayed to be a very happy, loving husband/father, but when he lost his job and they went back to his country his personality changed drastically. While in Iran surrounded by his huge family they swayed his decisions, and he became very moody and mean to his wife. He started beating her and took away all of her freedom. All of the other Arabian women and American women who were married to Arabians and had lived in the country now for some time were used to this sort of treatment and tried not to provoke the men in their lives in order to stay safe and resist conflicts. This to me would be very scary and hard to do, because they are forced to just give every right they have up. I think that Betty was a very brave woman to attempt to escape and bring her daughter and herself back to safety and freedom, and luckily she succeeded. This book was very interesting. It was one of the only books that I had read in high school that really held my attention and really made it hard for me to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    the most touching novel i have ever read, and most certainly the best book i ahve ever read

    i totally enjoyed this book. It touched me and made me think about how brave betty was and how much she loved her daughter. I loved this book so much that i was actually upset when i finished it! I am only 14 and if i was in a book shop i would not pick this up but my mum told me read it and i did and is is the best book i have ever read i truly loved reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    Great!!!!!

    I saw this movie and read the book, and it was the most inspiring movie I have seen in a long time, maybe even the best!!!! Well hope you all, sometime in life, are able to read this book or watch the movie. God Bless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    Not Wihtout My Daughter

    My Name ia Allie Petrie and I read this book for a Honors 9 Goegraphy Application Project.I think that the theme, movement, of the five themes of geography really has a place in this novel. All throughout the whole thing she is going from house to house, to the market, taking her daughter to school, getting back to America. I am really glad that I read this book because I had no idea it was like that, anywhere. I guess I was just a poor little sheltered American girl who was totally clueless, but this book really opened my eyes.I guess I knew that woman were not treated equally as men in other countries but I didn't know that they were treated like dogs, had no rights at all. This book changed my life.I'm glad I read it and I'm really glad she wrote it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2