BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Not Your Mother's Slow Cooker Cookbook

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I love this cookbook!!!

I have now cooked every recipe in this book and have not had one bad experience. In fact my family raved about every single one. I will definitely buy more books from this author!

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Some good recipes, some disappointments

I have made several recipes from this book to rave reviews - so don't for one second think that the recipes are not top notch. They really are very good. Here's the problem: this is a slow cooker book that requires you to do some cooking on the stove before using the...
I have made several recipes from this book to rave reviews - so don't for one second think that the recipes are not top notch. They really are very good. Here's the problem: this is a slow cooker book that requires you to do some cooking on the stove before using the slow cooker. It's an ingenious way to use the device for more complicated cooking but it also STINKS if you want to have an easy meal prepare itself. I am not fond of the extra steps. This isn't a book for the busy person.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Some good recipes, some disappointments

    I have made several recipes from this book to rave reviews - so don't for one second think that the recipes are not top notch. They really are very good. Here's the problem: this is a slow cooker book that requires you to do some cooking on the stove before using the slow cooker. It's an ingenious way to use the device for more complicated cooking but it also STINKS if you want to have an easy meal prepare itself. I am not fond of the extra steps. This isn't a book for the busy person.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    I love this cookbook!!!

    I have now cooked every recipe in this book and have not had one bad experience. In fact my family raved about every single one. I will definitely buy more books from this author!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    A good supplement to other cookbooks

    I've cooked only a few recipes from this book, and although they were good, they weren't excellent. Like some other reviewers, I'm inclined to use my slow cooker for complete meals that I can prepare early in the day and then forget about until mealtime. This book has several recipes that require adding ingredients during the cooking process, and I doubt that I will prepare those dishes. However, what's good about this cookbook, for our cooking style, is that it gives me ideas of ingredient combinations. For that, it's a good supplement to other cookbooks on my shelf.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-have for working moms or families on the go who want to eat healthy!

    I initially bought "Not Your Mother's Slow Cooker Recipe Book for Two" for my sister for Christmas. She is a nurse and her husband is a soccer coach. They are constantly on the go, but try to eat a healthy, home-cooked meal for dinner each evening. She sang the praises of that book so much I bought this one for my crazy-busy family.

    The authors give a thorough lesson on slow cooking and the book is filled with how-to tips and serving suggestions. Each recipe's "lead-in" is interesting and often gives the background of the recipe. If a recipe is the work of another cook or author, credit is given along with a mention of the recipe originator's other work. Additionally, the recipes are easy to follow, healthy, and certainly not an average slow cooker meal.

    I have personally cooked about a dozen recipes from this book and each is tasty and as well-prepared as if I had used a conventional cooking method. Don't be fooled into thinking you can just throw in 3 or 4 ingredients and leave it all day, however. A considerable amount of prep work is often necessary for these recipes. Also, some do require additional steps while the recipe is cooking, such as "add pasta and cook for an additional hour" type instructions, but after preparing a recipe or two, you'll be hooked on the results.

    With the ethnically diverse and health-conscious recipes in this book, you'll never be bored and your meals will cook while you go about your busy day. This cookbook will be on my shelves and its recipes on my table for many years to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Not Your Mother's slow Cooker Cookbook

    I had great hopes for this book - the recipes looked interesting and varied.

    However, to date I have been very disappointed with the results. The recipes result in bland, uninteresting meals.

    Overall a great disappointment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    This book is definitely different from other slow cooker cookbooks!

    I've always loved using my slow cooker, but the cookbooks I usually found were outdated. I couldn't wait to sit down with this cookbook after receiving it for Mother's Day. The use of fresh ingredients and the updated recipes suit my family's lifestyle much more than the old slow cooker cookbooks I had been using. I've already made a couple of recipes to rave reviews from the family. The recipes are varied and interesting, taking traditional recipes from India, Morocco, Mexico, and other locales and adapting them for the slow cooker. I highly recommend this cookbook to anyone trying to feed their family well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Nutritious & Delicious

    Great book with meals that you feel happy to feed your family. Some slow cook books are too heavy. There are several family favs in here!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Great Cookbook

    As the title indicates, this is not your mother's cookbook. It has recipes that you wouldn't normally associate with the slow cooking method and expands your options. I have tried several recipes since purchasing the cookbook and have purchased copies for my daughters who depend on their slow cookers frequently. To date, none of us have expeerienced any problems or failures with any of the recipes. I recommend this cookbook for busy moms and women (or men) who go off to work every morning and want to come home to a good meal already prepared and waiting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A Must For the Slow Cooker Cook

    This book is my go to book for all things "slow cooker". I often take the recipes and use them as a guide for converting some of my favorite regular recipes to slow cooker use. I have also taken some of these recipes and changed them so I could do them on the stove top in a pinch.
    I have bought this book as gifts for a few people who have started using slow cookers and have also recommended it to people who were debating which book to buy in the store.
    My favoorite is brisket with coke. My daughter's favorite is a Mexican Chicken dish. I have also enjoyed a Moroccan chicken dish.
    This is the book to buy for new slow cooker recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Great Slow Cooker Recipes!

    I've tried close to 10 different recipes in this cookbook and all of them were delicious. The instructions are easy to follow and really straightforward. I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a slow cooker cookbook. The only thing missing is the calorie count per serving, but otherwise, it's a worth buying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2