BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Not a Box

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Lol!

    Oh my box! this is the most funnist book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2014

    Simple, but powerful.  As a kid, my favorite toy was a pot.  Or,

    Simple, but powerful.  As a kid, my favorite toy was a pot.  Or, should I say, a not a pot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    First of all, I love the "packaging" of this book. The

    First of all, I love the "packaging" of this book. The cover looks like a parcel -- so cute and so clever.
    Then there is the rabbit. "Not a Box" has drawn comparisons to "Harold and the Purple Crayon", another very good, buy-worthy book, but in some ways I prefer this book. Because of the rabbit. The rabbit is drawn in that deceptively simple way (rather like Mo Willems' pigeon), is nameless and gender-neutral. Any child can relate to the rabbit. 
    When my son was about a year and a half, he began to empty all the toys out of his toy box (and scatter the toys ALL over the family room floor) and then try to climb into the empty toy box. For his safety and my sanity, I had to move his toy box and set up an empty box in it's place. Now he climbs into the empty box. I remember doing this when I was very young. See, any child can relate to a rabbit with an imagination and an empty box.
    The story and illustrations are easy-to-follow, toddler-simple. This book works great for story time with a large group of children, or story time with just one child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    A wonderful book!

    This is an excellent book for young children. All children love boxes and it sparks their imagination on so many levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Lol

    Lol funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Adorable

    It is so good!!!!! I have read it sixteen times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?BUENO! ?Me tengo leer 16 tiempo! ?-? :P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Cute Bunny. by NOVA

    coming ftom a boy that sounded wierd. Well that bunny is cute. I recemond for older or younger kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    not a box

    well i have not yet read it but i think it is AWEZOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    GREAT Book

    i absoulutly loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    One of my new favorite children's books ever

    From the cover and paper choice to the adorable illustrations and perfectly chosen text, this book wins top honors from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Great book for kids!

    My five year old loves this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's definitely Out of the Box!

    The kids LOVE it! The concept is interesting and it sparks a lot of discussino with my 2 & 3 yr olds. They want to to read it over and over and tell me what the box is this time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    One of our favorites

    It captures that imaginary play that all our kids engage in. Simply illustrated with creative ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    a wonderful jumping off point

    This is a very simple book from outward appearances. However, I see this book as a way to begin a writing assignment or to spark creative thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I bought this book for all my nieces and nephews and hope that this holiday season when they tire of their presents, they use the power of imagination and their empty gift boxes to transport themselves to wherever their fancy takes them. A wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1