Customer Reviews for

Not a Day Goes By

Average Rating 4.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Eye catching

    I read this book in a day and a half. That was real good because, i'm the type of person who does not just go and pick up any book and start reading it. When I read the first chapter, I didn't want to put the book down! Harris is the type of author who can realte to most men and women; who catches your attention, and who is not afraid of what the outcome may be. He is an inspiration to many, including myself. I am sure that many of us can relate to some of his novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    Switching LANES!!!

    I was OUTDONE and this ending just hunted me for a while. I knew Basil could not have truly changed but for some reason I hoped and prayed he did. The book was an easy read very quick to get through some what predictable but still worth the read. Thanks E Lynn for such a Colorful and seedy character, Basil had me on his side for a moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2001

    Like a peach!

    This book was like a peach-- juicy and light. It was a very entertaining, fast read. I loved the characters. This is not Toni Morrison, but you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    Wicked!!

    You really got a feel for the characters in this novel. They were some of the most superficial people you never want to meet. Being that this was my first experience with E.Lynn, I was shocked by the shallowness but captivated by the drama. Overall a good read if your not looking for something intellectually stimulating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    How Many Times?

    How many times? ....is what the title should have been....how many times is Basil going to get away with this kind of stuff....and that Yancey....well let's just say, I think Basil has met his match! Keep up the good work E.Lynn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    A great and wonderful book.

    The book keep me on my foot the whole time. I had to fead the book again. You can feel the characters and what they are going throught.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    I LOVE E. LYNN HARRIS

    I love Harris's works. I especially love how he reuses his characters throughout his works. If you liked this book read the trilogy; Insivisble Life, Just as I am, and Abide with ME. Remember the characters, you will see them again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    I Was Surprised For Minute...

    I was surprised at how drasticly Basil's personality changed in such a short period of time. I was almost disappointed because suddenly he was 'supernice'--not the playa I was used to in previous novels. However, he definately met his match in Yancey Braxton. I love the way Harris' builds momemtum througout his books, making you eager to turn the page. I only hope that Basil and Yancey will eventuall 'grow up.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    ONE OF HIS BEST BOOKS

    E LYNN HARRIS HAS DONE IT AGAIN. HE KEEPS YOU WANTING MORE IN EACH AND EVERY BOOK HE WRITES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    I DON'T CARE WHAT ANY ONE SAYS THIS BOOK WAS GREAT

    This is 1 of the best books i have ever read , i have read all his books including got to be real and his writing is wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    Can't Put It Down!!!!!

    This book was definitely a good one. With the two main characters supposedly in love, one never knows what's going to happen on the next page. It is a very entertaining book that is easy to read and holds your attention right to the very end. However, the ending is very sad, leaving you with the idea of 'Does any body win in today's society?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    These books are on fire!!!!

    E,Lynn Harris has opened up a new world for me. I love his books, I really enjoy his books , they are very realistic. When i read his books i feel that i know the people in the books as if i was there with raymond and all those other spectacular charaters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2001

    Incredibly disappointed

    In one word? Horrible!This novel was a complete waste of time and had it not been for a sense of 'loyalty' in a way to E.Lynn Harris because of his phenomenal books in the past,I never would have finished his book. The character 'Basil' has been used to death and it's time to let him go. I found the book very superficial and almost too easy to read. E.Lynn!?! What happened hon'? Anyone who has read any of Harris' first novels would easily be able to tell that this one did not measure up to the E.Lynn standards from the past. A complete disappointment.It's time to stop rewriting the same story over and over again and be creative with something new.Though I originally gave this review one star, I see that two stars means that it was disappointing so I'll change it to two.Better luck next time Mr.Harris.You could do a lot better(can't you?).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    If you don't have this book, get it!

    Not a page goes by with out a laugh, gasp, or tear. Reading this book was like reading a series of letters from old friends. You can get lost in the fictional world Harris has created and frankly I wasn't looking for a way out. All I can say is this, If you like to be entertained get this book you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    Excellent

    I really enjoyed the views that were covered in this book, especially enjoyed discovering the underlying reason why Basil and Yancey felt they way did toward love, though I wish Yancey would have just smacked her mother one good time. I definately think this book deserves a part two, or even maybe the character Yancey continuation after Basil

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    PHENOMENAL!

    This is the first book I have read by Mr. Harris and it was absoulutely excellent. I'd heard of him before but never read any of his books. 'Not A Day Goes By', has made me a forever fan of E.Lynn Harris. I will be picking up his other books very soon,I can't wait to read them. I have never been so attached to a book to the point where I read it while I'm in the bath tub and loving every minute of it. I can picture Yancey and Basil as if they were right in front of me and I was watching their relationship like a movie, thats one reason why I love to read. Thank you Mr. Harris for making my reading experiences so much better. Thank God for you, you are so talented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    Another Winner!

    his skills as writer are never more evident than with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    OUTSTANDING!

    This is the third book I have read by E Lynn and as usual, he leaves no stone unturned. I started out really upset with the character portrayed as Yancey, but if you start to feel as I did, just wait until you get to the end! An awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Good story but lets move on.

    I enjoyed this book as I have most of E. Lynn's other work. He really is a good writer and storyteller, which is exactly why he needs to move on to some other folks. Use some of that creativity and introduce us to some new fabulous people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    not a day goes bye

    i enjoyed this book it will have you from the beginning to end not wanting to put it down. this i highly recommend that you read this it is one of his greatest books that he has wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8