Customer Reviews for

Not a Drop to Drink

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Ten Likes/Dislikes: 1. (+) Lynn, the protagonist - Kick-ass pro

Ten Likes/Dislikes:

1. (+) Lynn, the protagonist - Kick-ass protagonist extraordinaire. Lynn had to kill her first man at the age of nine (first line of the book - not a spoiler) and has always had to help her mother purify water for them to store and later drink. Help...
Ten Likes/Dislikes:

1. (+) Lynn, the protagonist - Kick-ass protagonist extraordinaire. Lynn had to kill her first man at the age of nine (first line of the book - not a spoiler) and has always had to help her mother purify water for them to store and later drink. Help her gather wood and cook the game that they muster before the winter chill sets in and forces them to hibernate in their all-too-vulnerable house. This has made Lynn into a pragmatic, no nonsense heroine who is willing to get the job done right and well even when the task is hard. Does that mean she's not emotional? Not at all. Given the things that Lynn has to do and given how she suffers, it's easy to identify with her and her struggles. And hey, this protagonist knows how to wield a shotgun. Knows to strip a body for goods and to take night watches on the roof of her house -- it's hard not to admire someone who's so determined, so smart and loyal and fierce and utterly competent.

2. (+) World-building - This is where the book excels. Mindy McGinnis paints a world that is so stark and realistic that it's frightening. Honestly, as she unveiled how the world degenerated, I realized that that kind of situation could actually happen. And you know it takes true talent to make that backstory and the individual details of the world itself come to life. You learn of Lynn's water purification system, the cholera endemic, and survivalist details like how to cure animals, how to witch water and set fires that don't just give off smoke. You learn about the city and its population standards and law makers and the wild where Lynn lives, and how the Shortage originated and was handled politically across the world. You learn about coyotes and gangrene and both the ugly and beautiful sides to nature. To contrast all the lovely details are random famous English poems (i.e. one from Yeats, some from Frost, etc.). The plot is firmly set in the little every day details of this world and what it means to live when water is in limited supply.

3. (+) Romance - Here's the thing: Eli doesn't do much for me as a romantic interest - we don't learn a lot about him - but I'm okay with that because the focus isn't on the romance, that side plot. The romance is good for what it is. A lightening factor. A thread of hope and love in a dark world, brimming with the stink of death and the chill of harsh winters. Eli is a city boy matched to the country girl, Lynn, and he teases her in such a way that immediately endears me to him. He never mocked Lynn for her ignorance, instead treating her with a soft kindness that made him adorable. He alternates between brave and desperate, teasing and gentle, secretive and real, but at the end of day, like Lynn, he's only trying his hardest for the ones he loves.

4. (+) Unconventional - You know that Frost poem that says "I took the road less traveled by--and that has made all the difference?" This book quotes that and quite appropriately given its unconventional context. For one, you've got a dystopia that doesn't involve a lot of action and isn't wholly symbolic a la Matched or poetic a la Wither. Instead you've got a dystopia that focuses on the harsh edges of humanity and the thin balance between survival and morality and meaning. You've also got a feminist bent on a wildly harsh, almost Western-esque (minus the Ohio setting) story and an author who's willing to take huge risks across the board. And because this book was so unconventional, I was honestly thrown for a loop when it came to some of the plot twists.

5. (+) Humor - If this story was only about survival, I probably wouldn't have been as interested or drawn to its characters. What makes this story work are the few bouts of humor, sometimes bleak and dark to fit the story but most of the times humor due to Lynn's ignorance. Having been raised in the middle of nowhere with only her Mother and paranoia for company, Lynn doesn't know how to flirt and has that awkward sex-ed talk way too late in her life. Yes, a lot of books have humor based on sexual naivete, but there's a wonderful authenticity to this shown in Lynn's pragmatism and no nonsense attitude except for when the right moment comes. It works well with the feminist aspects.

6. (+) Character Growth & Relationships - Particularly the strong female relationships - let me mention that off the bat; if you're looking for more strong friendships in YA lit, look no further than this book. In order to grow, Lynn must make open herself to strangers instead of blithely shooting at everyone who dares to approach. In doing so, she meets some particularly awesome characters who become her family, her meaning, her guides to how to live the life that she wants/needs but doesn't realize just yet. I thought that each of the relationships that Lynn had with the characters (even if I wanted more information on the characters themselves) was well developed.

7. (+/-) That Special Spark - Really, Not a Drop to Drink is everything the synopsis says the book is: Minimalist prose. Kick-ass, competent heroine. Not a lot of action, but a lot of thought-provoking details on the wilderness and how to survive and what it means to survive (the themes are really great, explored well and have the potential to be extensively discussed). This was a great read and executed well. However, it probably won't make my favorites list, because as much as I appreciated the quiet steadiness of this novel, a part of me also longed for more excitement. As usual, special spark = personal preference.

8. (+) Writing - The summary describes this writing well:  there is not a single wasted detail on the setting, the labor involved in various tasks, etc. and when it comes to action? Ooh, the bloody images. McGinnis does not spare you, which of course fits with the survivalist feel. This also means for some beautifully simple yet evocative prose (Another low moan rose from the grass. "That was a good shot," Mother said, nodding toward it. / "Not good enough." / Mother shrugged. "It was dark." She rose and stretched out her stiff body, a sign that she truly felt safe. "You'll get better." / Another cry. Mother licked her finger, tested the wind, and fired once into the night. / Silence fell. (p. 21 in e-arc, quote may change later.)). There are also a lot of scene breaks.

9. (+/-) Pacing - Because this book focuses on the every day life of Lynn and the others near her pond, the times when things do happen seem to hit you in the face, if that makes sense. The book has a traditional, linear storyline in the sense that you can tell Lynn's got her character arc and that the book builds to a climax, but the climax, while epic and brutal, wasn't as long as I would have hoped and in between those spurts of action, I felt restless, wanting more.

10. (+) Cover - This is still quite possibly my favorite cover of 2013. The bold font, the symbolism in the colors, the depiction of the plot and the setting, Lynn standing on her roof, shotgun in hand. SO beautiful.

If you're a lover of the wilderness, of the scope of the settings in the Fire and Thorns trilogy, this book is for you. If you wanted less visceral, heart-pumping action from The Hunger Games and more focus on the survivalist aspects, this book is for you. In fact, some of the action reminded me of No Country for Old Men (the blood spatter! the hard choices! Lynn and her shotgun and spending "every minute living working against dying"), but this book also has a feminist twist. The author described this book as Little House on the Prairie on steroids, or LHotP meets The Hunger Games. These are both truly accurate descriptions, and although this book fell just short of being a favorite, I can do nothing but recommend it and hope that it flies off the shelves and gets well stocked at libraries.

posted by ChristinaReadsYA on September 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Too many plot spoilers too full of themselves rewriting the book including the reviewer with her synopsis and her likes and dislikes. Excuse me? We have the overview as a synopsis. We dont need your idea of a synopsis which includes giving away the entire book, and we r...
Too many plot spoilers too full of themselves rewriting the book including the reviewer with her synopsis and her likes and dislikes. Excuse me? We have the overview as a synopsis. We dont need your idea of a synopsis which includes giving away the entire book, and we really dont care about your likes and dislikes either.

posted by 8888649 on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ten Likes/Dislikes: 1. (+) Lynn, the protagonist - Kick-ass pro

    Ten Likes/Dislikes:

    1. (+) Lynn, the protagonist - Kick-ass protagonist extraordinaire. Lynn had to kill her first man at the age of nine (first line of the book - not a spoiler) and has always had to help her mother purify water for them to store and later drink. Help her gather wood and cook the game that they muster before the winter chill sets in and forces them to hibernate in their all-too-vulnerable house. This has made Lynn into a pragmatic, no nonsense heroine who is willing to get the job done right and well even when the task is hard. Does that mean she's not emotional? Not at all. Given the things that Lynn has to do and given how she suffers, it's easy to identify with her and her struggles. And hey, this protagonist knows how to wield a shotgun. Knows to strip a body for goods and to take night watches on the roof of her house -- it's hard not to admire someone who's so determined, so smart and loyal and fierce and utterly competent.

    2. (+) World-building - This is where the book excels. Mindy McGinnis paints a world that is so stark and realistic that it's frightening. Honestly, as she unveiled how the world degenerated, I realized that that kind of situation could actually happen. And you know it takes true talent to make that backstory and the individual details of the world itself come to life. You learn of Lynn's water purification system, the cholera endemic, and survivalist details like how to cure animals, how to witch water and set fires that don't just give off smoke. You learn about the city and its population standards and law makers and the wild where Lynn lives, and how the Shortage originated and was handled politically across the world. You learn about coyotes and gangrene and both the ugly and beautiful sides to nature. To contrast all the lovely details are random famous English poems (i.e. one from Yeats, some from Frost, etc.). The plot is firmly set in the little every day details of this world and what it means to live when water is in limited supply.

    3. (+) Romance - Here's the thing: Eli doesn't do much for me as a romantic interest - we don't learn a lot about him - but I'm okay with that because the focus isn't on the romance, that side plot. The romance is good for what it is. A lightening factor. A thread of hope and love in a dark world, brimming with the stink of death and the chill of harsh winters. Eli is a city boy matched to the country girl, Lynn, and he teases her in such a way that immediately endears me to him. He never mocked Lynn for her ignorance, instead treating her with a soft kindness that made him adorable. He alternates between brave and desperate, teasing and gentle, secretive and real, but at the end of day, like Lynn, he's only trying his hardest for the ones he loves.

    4. (+) Unconventional - You know that Frost poem that says "I took the road less traveled by--and that has made all the difference?" This book quotes that and quite appropriately given its unconventional context. For one, you've got a dystopia that doesn't involve a lot of action and isn't wholly symbolic a la Matched or poetic a la Wither. Instead you've got a dystopia that focuses on the harsh edges of humanity and the thin balance between survival and morality and meaning. You've also got a feminist bent on a wildly harsh, almost Western-esque (minus the Ohio setting) story and an author who's willing to take huge risks across the board. And because this book was so unconventional, I was honestly thrown for a loop when it came to some of the plot twists.

    5. (+) Humor - If this story was only about survival, I probably wouldn't have been as interested or drawn to its characters. What makes this story work are the few bouts of humor, sometimes bleak and dark to fit the story but most of the times humor due to Lynn's ignorance. Having been raised in the middle of nowhere with only her Mother and paranoia for company, Lynn doesn't know how to flirt and has that awkward sex-ed talk way too late in her life. Yes, a lot of books have humor based on sexual naivete, but there's a wonderful authenticity to this shown in Lynn's pragmatism and no nonsense attitude except for when the right moment comes. It works well with the feminist aspects.

    6. (+) Character Growth & Relationships - Particularly the strong female relationships - let me mention that off the bat; if you're looking for more strong friendships in YA lit, look no further than this book. In order to grow, Lynn must make open herself to strangers instead of blithely shooting at everyone who dares to approach. In doing so, she meets some particularly awesome characters who become her family, her meaning, her guides to how to live the life that she wants/needs but doesn't realize just yet. I thought that each of the relationships that Lynn had with the characters (even if I wanted more information on the characters themselves) was well developed.

    7. (+/-) That Special Spark - Really, Not a Drop to Drink is everything the synopsis says the book is: Minimalist prose. Kick-ass, competent heroine. Not a lot of action, but a lot of thought-provoking details on the wilderness and how to survive and what it means to survive (the themes are really great, explored well and have the potential to be extensively discussed). This was a great read and executed well. However, it probably won't make my favorites list, because as much as I appreciated the quiet steadiness of this novel, a part of me also longed for more excitement. As usual, special spark = personal preference.

    8. (+) Writing - The summary describes this writing well:  there is not a single wasted detail on the setting, the labor involved in various tasks, etc. and when it comes to action? Ooh, the bloody images. McGinnis does not spare you, which of course fits with the survivalist feel. This also means for some beautifully simple yet evocative prose (Another low moan rose from the grass. "That was a good shot," Mother said, nodding toward it. / "Not good enough." / Mother shrugged. "It was dark." She rose and stretched out her stiff body, a sign that she truly felt safe. "You'll get better." / Another cry. Mother licked her finger, tested the wind, and fired once into the night. / Silence fell. (p. 21 in e-arc, quote may change later.)). There are also a lot of scene breaks.

    9. (+/-) Pacing - Because this book focuses on the every day life of Lynn and the others near her pond, the times when things do happen seem to hit you in the face, if that makes sense. The book has a traditional, linear storyline in the sense that you can tell Lynn's got her character arc and that the book builds to a climax, but the climax, while epic and brutal, wasn't as long as I would have hoped and in between those spurts of action, I felt restless, wanting more.

    10. (+) Cover - This is still quite possibly my favorite cover of 2013. The bold font, the symbolism in the colors, the depiction of the plot and the setting, Lynn standing on her roof, shotgun in hand. SO beautiful.

    If you're a lover of the wilderness, of the scope of the settings in the Fire and Thorns trilogy, this book is for you. If you wanted less visceral, heart-pumping action from The Hunger Games and more focus on the survivalist aspects, this book is for you. In fact, some of the action reminded me of No Country for Old Men (the blood spatter! the hard choices! Lynn and her shotgun and spending "every minute living working against dying"), but this book also has a feminist twist. The author described this book as Little House on the Prairie on steroids, or LHotP meets The Hunger Games. These are both truly accurate descriptions, and although this book fell just short of being a favorite, I can do nothing but recommend it and hope that it flies off the shelves and gets well stocked at libraries.

    21 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Awesome book for a first time author

    This book grabbed my attention from the first sentence. The plot was new, even though there are a lot of dystopia type books out there. The characters were likeable and you found yourself rooting for them. I wonder if this will be a series, I almost think not based on the epilogue. If I had one complaint about this book it would be that I was left with too many questions, the author didn't spend time explaining the past... what started this new world?!? I would have also liked to know more about Lynn and her mother's relationship and past. If the author does write another book to follow up on this one, I would recommened starting where the epilogue left off and having Lynn learn more of the past by her new neighbors in conversation. Overall, this really was a great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Great

    The cover and title of this book took me suprise and i was so excited to read it. In a few short words, inspiring, captivating, astonishing, and many more words. I really enjoyed this book. The authour brought a new type of character to th scene, a charater whos motives and actions were much dfferent from characters that i had previously read about in books. It was very interesting and totally worth reading. Loved it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Good

    It cusses throughout the book and I thought it could have been a bit more fast paced/scary but other than that it was good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Good story.

    I started this late Saturday night and finished it Sunday afternoon. It grabbed me and never let go. If this is what you look for in a story then get it, but don't expect a sweet happy story it's not that kind of book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Buy this

    In the manner of "Dog Star," this post apocaliptic nover is thoroughly a fast moving, gripping and sad novel. I loved it. Lucy and Lynn are heroic. This is a different kind of survival narrative. Ms. McGinnis did a nice job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great book for teen through adult readers.

    This book really makes you think about what you would do & how you would feel if you were placed in the situation.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    4 or 4.5/5 My first thought after reading this was "huh.

    4 or 4.5/5

    My first thought after reading this was "huh." From reading the synopsis, I expected this to be gritty. Well as it turns out this book is gritty, dark, and brutal. It does not make light of the circumstances AT ALL. McGinnis paints us a world where we are turned to almost a primal state. Find water or die. Simple as that. Something one could see happening to our world. Imagine taking away something we all take for granted. A turn of a knob and we get limitless clean water. We don't worry about wasting it or over using it. We never worry about running out or becoming diseased because of it. I love the glimpse into life turned upside down.

    Lynn is a remarkable character. Her entire life it has been just her mother and her. She hasn't ever even spoke to another person. She is taught at a young to kill or be killed, and has no problem doing so. She has to learn so much about people and herself through this story. She must learn to adapt to survive, something she really has no skills for. She is not a character full of dreams and aspirations. She lives one day at time and to protect what is hers. She has not lived a happy life, just one that is about survival.

    I love where this story takes us and the ride we get to go on. It took it's toll on my emotions. There were parts when I wish I could reach through the book and strangle our dear author. Sorry dear. I did mention this book is brutal right?

    This is a great book to read for those of us who enjoy the post-apocalyptic type stories. It is not a light hearted read. We are not given the happy ever after we get with so many other YA novels. This is a book about survival. About finding even a thread of hope when there seems like there is none to be had.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been wanting to read this for a very long time. So when I

    I have been wanting to read this for a very long time. So when I checked Edelweiss the other day, I was pleasantly surprised with an approval from HarperCollins Children. No compensation was given or taken to alter this review.

    Lynn lives off of the small pond in her back yard. She has spent her whole life defending it alongside her mother. But one autumn day, things go terribly wrong and Lynn alone is left to defend it. The coarse personality she's grown into starts to soften though when she meets Lucy and Eli, two city-dwellers who don't have a clue how to survive in the harsh Ohio winters.

    Not a Drop to Drink is not your typical dystopian. It's really about Lynn surviving from day to day. It actually reminded me of Hatchet, which is about a boy surviving after his plane crashes in the middle of nowhere. But, unlike Hatchet, Not a Drop to Drink never got boring and had more than two people in it.

    Miss McGinnis spends just enough time showing us what day-to-day life has always been like for Lynn for the beginning events in Not a Drop to Drink to seem out of the ordinary. So what if someone approaches your house, right? I mean, we deal with that every day. But the beginning of the novel is essential for us to understand what simple acts like that truly imply in Not a Drop to Drink.

    Lynn lives in a very brutal world.

    Eli was so wonderful. He was sweet, kind, and didn't let his hardships stop him from smiling or flirting. If Lynn had met a boy that wasn't like Eli, I very much doubt he would have survived. Eli is literally the first boy her age she's ever met. The very light romance was appropriate to the story and ultimately endearing when it comes to Eli.

    Lynn herself was.... I wouldn't want get on her bad side. But she learns a lot about human interaction when she takes Lucy under her wing. Lucy was the perfect thing for Lynn and very cute. Only five or six, Lucy didn't quite understand all the danger around her at a level that she probably needed to, but she understood enough that she never became annoying. Her role as an innocent little girl living in a brutal world was written to perfection.

    Even with all the character development, Lynn was fundamentally the same character we started the novel with but she wasn't a completely different girl either. She understood the world she lived in a lot better on both the good and the bad scale. Her mother raised her to be a certain way for sixteen years, so I find it appropriate that even at the end of the novel, she was cold and direct when it came down to what she felt she had to do to keep herself and others safe. It was never really a question of revenge. It all was just what she thought she had to do.

    Miss McGinnis is a very talented author. The writing style was definitely unique in a good way. It was this cross of first person and third person on a level I've never seen before. She used the third person pronouns (she, he, it, etc.), but the voice itself felt like first person with the refinement of third person.

    I wouldn't recommend this one to younger readers what with a lot of the language and some things other things. I wouldn't say Not a Drop to Drink was gory, graphic, or anything like that. I think it was realistic to the setting the main character was in and that setting is brutal. But I'm glad I finally got to read it and enjoyed the taste of something of different.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. I totally can't imagine living in a world like this and can

    Wow. I totally can't imagine living in a world like this and can't help but think that I would be one of the people who couldn't survive. So, when I meet a strong and capable main character like Lynn, I am always in awe. 
    Lynn grew up with her mom, and her mom taught her everything she knew. In this world, their pond is the most important thing, and they defend it with their lives, and for them that also means taking lives. Lynn knows how to shoot, purify water, cut down trees, skin and dress a deer basically everything that keeps them alive in a world without help, stores, electricity, or running water. 
    It is so hard to review without spoiling things, but basically Lynn grows through some of the people that unexpectedly comes into her life and makes her question some of the things she was taught about outsiders. There are also some that prove everything right. There is such character development and that is one of the things that I love. 
    Through a little girl Lucy, the most change, determination and strength came out in Lynn. She not only had a helper in Lucy, and someone else to teach how to survive, but she also had a lot to learn from the little girl. Seeing the bigger picture, survival, and not bothering the adults even with something that should have needed their attention, she was selfless and caring to others. The theme of family, togetherness, and friendship really shone through these two characters in particular.
    The romance is sweet and subtle, a slow build, my favorite kind. Lynn knew nothing about men except they were evil from her mom, and she realizes that just like women, they can be good or bad, or some shade of gray in the middle. So it is really fun to watch her learn what flirting is. 
    The story would have been a five star if it weren't for the ending. I guess that for some it would be great, realistic, and fitting for the story, but for me, it did not work. I was so heartbroken and though the way it ended up was full of hope in promise in others, I still couldn't get over the shock and the loss. 




    Bottom Line: Loved the main character, and 3/4 of the story but the ending was NOT for me.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    3.5 Stars Not a Drop to Drink was a surprising tale of the impo

    3.5 Stars

    Not a Drop to Drink was a surprising tale of the importance of both survival and love. It's a quick read with a lot of feelings!




    Plot: Not a Drop of Drink learned how to kill from her mother, but that's just about it. There is no compassion, there is no love - just gun shots plunging into a man's head. Brutal, I know, but when there is no water in the world, you've got to take all the precautions you can. The pacing was just right with enough action to keep me glued to the pages. The end of the novel is where most of the action is, and even though it was supposed to be very tense, I found the real to be a cheap attempt to shock the reader. While I wasn't the biggest fan of the "big fight scene," I found the ending to be absolutely beautiful. 




    Characters: The characters are the absolute strongest in Not a Drop to Drink. I felt as though Lynn flowered before my very eyes and it was a nice feeling to see how she grew so much in such a terrible situation. It tugged at my heart to see her experience a lot of "firsts" and to finally start letting people in. I feel like the synopsis makes this book seem like it's a fight for survival and full of action, when really it's about the characters who are left to keep their humanity while trying to survive in harsh conditions.  Most of the characters won me over, especially little Lucy who came to Lynn unexpectedly. Their relationship reminded me a lot of Amy and Baby from In the After, in which a teenage girl has to play mother to a needy child in unpleasant circumstances. 




    World Building: The first sentence in the book is: "Lynn was nine the first time she killed to defend the pond, the sweet smell of water luring the man to be picked off like barn swallows that dared to swoop in for a drink." If that doesn't set the scene, I don't know what does! The world is desolate, people are scarce, and people no longer have the same priorities. It's a tragic world that sounds pretty plausible for our own world. Which is downright terrifying!




    Short N Sweet: Not a Drop to Drink is a beautiful story about survival and the human condition. My only complaint is in regards to the novel's big reveal which seem to serve as shock value rather than the develop of the story. I'm excited to see Lucy and friend in the companion piece, In a Handful of Dust. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Different but very enjoyable

    I really got into this book. It was different from most books I read but I really enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Not a Drop to drink was interesting.....

    I enjoyed the characters in this book and was shocked by some of the outcomes. I enjoyed the story line immensley. I would read books from this author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Good

    I like the narrative and the ideas of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    intriguing characters, interesting plot...right up my alley.

    intriguing characters, interesting plot...right up my alley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    You are ratchet soooooooooo........no

    Thats just stupid dont add that guy he might be a molester ok kidsw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    pretty good.  Engaging I read it in one sitting 

    pretty good. 
    Engaging
    I read it in one sitting 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Quick Read

    Read in one night. Found to be entertaining and would read future books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Please pray for rain

    Have not read the book yet but one of the reviewers said, "a world without water. Can't imagine living in a world lie that." Well, heads up, people, you already do. Here in Teaxs it is December and we are still under water rationing. Not too serious, just restricting water for lawns and such for almost two years in a row. Drought conditions with the lakes down eight and ten feet still and next summer with no rain and at least forty days with temps above 98 and a week or so above 100, lakes won't be catching up with growing population needs. Fastest growing state in the US.

    Oh yes, the US and most of North America with clean drinking water. Might want to check the website for the World Health Organization for the number of countries that aren't so lucky; who haven't been so lucky in years.

    So I haven't read the book yet but from the reviews it sounds like the author has been able to imagine her world or describe the half of our world spot on and a damn terrifying one it is.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2