BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Not a Fan: Becoming a Completely Committed Follower of Jesus

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great book

The writer takes an honest and sometimes humorous look at what it means to be devoted to the Lord instead of a shallow faith that cannot get you through the storms of life. He encourages you not to look at others, but to look at your own heart and see where you really a...
The writer takes an honest and sometimes humorous look at what it means to be devoted to the Lord instead of a shallow faith that cannot get you through the storms of life. He encourages you not to look at others, but to look at your own heart and see where you really are. This is not make me feel good about me book. It is about your realationship with God being REAL.

posted by 9655288 on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Be wary

This book has a great message but honestly it is very repetitive. The entire message can be brought forth with two chapters tops. My wife and I found it very hard to read through the entire book together. Kyle Idleman has his heart in the right place but he should fl...
This book has a great message but honestly it is very repetitive. The entire message can be brought forth with two chapters tops. My wife and I found it very hard to read through the entire book together. Kyle Idleman has his heart in the right place but he should flesh out any future books he may write and bring something new to every chapter rather than the same thing the previous chapter said.

posted by Coffee_and_chess_lover on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    not a fan.

    When I first started reading this I didnt fully understand what it meant to be a fan or a follower of the lord. As I read this book I started to understand that this is not a book you just enjoy, this is a book that will get down deep in your heart and help you see where you are with chirst. I encorage this book to all.

    P.S. This is coming from a kid

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Haven't read yet

    I haven't read this yet but my youth group did this thing where they have a weekend and you stay at a host home and come up to the church for games bible study and praise and worship. The theme for this years was not a fan based on this book. We are not to be fans of Jesus but we are to be followers. One thing my youth pastor said that really stuck out to me was that you had to get comfortable being uncomfortable. Meaning you had to get comfortable stepping out of you comfort zone to share the love of Christ. Becoming the ultamite follower means giving up things to get greater things back, like seeing your friends in heaven.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    A good message

    Good not great. Repeats itself. Not impressed with ending. Author makes interesting comparisons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is one I will read again because he gives so many great examples of what it mens to be a follower not just a fan. Funny too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I loved this book! It really makes you evaluate your relationsh

    I loved this book! It really makes you evaluate your relationship with Christ, and is very convicting. Definitely a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book truly challenges you to look at your walk with God. Are you a fan or a follower? Many think there is a huge difference but really there is a thin line. Saved, unsaved, or in between i challange you to read this book, examine your walk, and make changes. God bless :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Great read!

    I read the book in one week. I just couldn't stop reading it. It certainly gave me a lot to thonk about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    NOOK REVIVAL!

    Please help us spread the Word of God to all the nook and Barnes&Noble people! If you are interested, go to "revival for God" first result! Thank you and God bless! †††

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Read me

    I personally love this book. It makes me rethink about how im living my life. But to all those who didnt like it for whatever reason please explain and dont just say its bad (if you think it is) explain why you think it's bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    This book will mess you up... that's a good thing!

    Great read. Very easy and short. The author does a great job in making his arguments and points. We are going to be using the small group material in the summer at our church and I am already praying and for what God is going to do in our church.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Nor a Follower

    This book will bring you face to face with Jesus and his call to you to personally commit yourself to following him

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Must read!

    This is an excellent book very insightful and very well written easy to read and understand well worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Makes you laugh while he convicts your socks off!

    I really enjoyed this book! He does an excellent job of weaving humor throughout the book while making me take a serious look at my life and my walk with the Lord. I've bought copies of the book for friends and family and know I'll be buying more. It's a must read for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Dont buy

    This book would have been good if it werent for the fact that jesus doesnt exist.

    1 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great

    What a great book! I read the book thinking it was going to be something different... then my Church offered a 6 week book study. I jumped at the chance to learn more. I highly recommend reading the book as well as the book study, both together answer more questions and will help you better understand what God wants from you!

    I am a Follower of Christ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This book is a guide line to what a real Christian should be. Easy to read and understand. It touched on a few subjects that I needed clarification on. I heard about this book from our pastor. It's a must read. Especially for new Christians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    A must read

    Just started this book, and we are doing the 6 week study group at church...makes you really sit back and think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great book! :)

    I read the first few chapters of a friend's book and instantly was amazed. My family and I had just recently started watching the not a fan show on jctv when i found out there was a book too. They're coming out with one for teens on April 10th and I've already pre-ordered it. I <3 not a fan!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Challenging and inspirational!!!

    Loved the format of the book and the way the book made me look at my relationship with Christ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Follower

    This book challenged me and I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8