Customer Reviews for

Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great read. Exciting and thrilling.

Jeffrey Archer has stolen my heart. What a great writer. I think he may be one of the best story tellers I have come across. This story is full of thrilling and exciting drama. His plot was just wonderful and held me spellbound and not wanting to let the book down. ...
Jeffrey Archer has stolen my heart. What a great writer. I think he may be one of the best story tellers I have come across. This story is full of thrilling and exciting drama. His plot was just wonderful and held me spellbound and not wanting to let the book down.
The plot shows four men, of different backgrounds, suddenly thrown together in a quest to foil a man of evil repute. The four men have lost a small fortune, in an evil crime against them, and have plotted to get back all the monies lost, not a penny more, not a penny less.
The book is a good novel of fraud and revenge. The conspirators are an English lord, a society doctor, a French art dealer, and an American Oxford don. Their prey is the billionaire evil Harvey Metcalfe. Metcalfe has gotten rich by stealing, cheating, and wheeling and dealing.
I recommend this book to anyone, man or woman, who enjoys a thrilling plot full of wonderful characters that never cease to amaze.

Cherry Blossom

posted by CherryBlossom on March 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I've now read 3 Jeffrey Archer books. The first book I absolutely could not put down I was beginning to think there was hope after Sydney Sheldon. I wondered why I'd never heard about Archer before. The third book I read was another great read- different from the firs...
I've now read 3 Jeffrey Archer books. The first book I absolutely could not put down I was beginning to think there was hope after Sydney Sheldon. I wondered why I'd never heard about Archer before. The third book I read was another great read- different from the first- so a comparison would be unfair but definately great. This book was my second, and though the overall plot was good and really could have made it a phenomenol book- some elements were missing to piece it together to make it believable. The ending was a disappointment to me- an anti-climax. But in all fairness- this was his first book and I'm sure if he were to rewrite it today- his maturity as a writer could make it astounding.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Very Good Writing

    I enjoyed this clever story. The writing flows easily through out and I really liked the diversity between the characters who found themselves cheated out of their life's savings, but instead of getting mad about it, they got even. You wont be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read. Exciting and thrilling.

    Jeffrey Archer has stolen my heart. What a great writer. I think he may be one of the best story tellers I have come across. This story is full of thrilling and exciting drama. His plot was just wonderful and held me spellbound and not wanting to let the book down.
    The plot shows four men, of different backgrounds, suddenly thrown together in a quest to foil a man of evil repute. The four men have lost a small fortune, in an evil crime against them, and have plotted to get back all the monies lost, not a penny more, not a penny less.
    The book is a good novel of fraud and revenge. The conspirators are an English lord, a society doctor, a French art dealer, and an American Oxford don. Their prey is the billionaire evil Harvey Metcalfe. Metcalfe has gotten rich by stealing, cheating, and wheeling and dealing.
    I recommend this book to anyone, man or woman, who enjoys a thrilling plot full of wonderful characters that never cease to amaze.

    Cherry Blossom

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    poor quality and editing

    misspellings,poor english, hyphenated words , errors distract from a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    wonderful Must read if you like Archer, even if you don't, it's a good book

    one of the first books Archer wrote, he tells the story of a group working together to plan and carry out an elaborate scheme to recover money lost to an unpleasant con artist. The plot is a delight to read, the characters typical Archer, the ending great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    A great read!

    One of those can't put down books.. very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've now read 3 Jeffrey Archer books. The first book I absolutely could not put down I was beginning to think there was hope after Sydney Sheldon. I wondered why I'd never heard about Archer before. The third book I read was another great read- different from the first- so a comparison would be unfair but definately great. This book was my second, and though the overall plot was good and really could have made it a phenomenol book- some elements were missing to piece it together to make it believable. The ending was a disappointment to me- an anti-climax. But in all fairness- this was his first book and I'm sure if he were to rewrite it today- his maturity as a writer could make it astounding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    Great Book

    I would like to say this is an awesome suspense book. I highly recommend it to anybody who likes cons, money, and thrills. I wish there were more books like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    WOW!

    Archer starts out weaving a thread that links the protagonists together, and just pulls you into the story! I couldn't stop reading, and absolutely recommend all his books to anyone that likes a book that keeps you hooked till the very last page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Just alright

    A little cheesy. Ended as though the writer was in a hurry to wrap it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Archer At His Best

    The victimized seek justice. But not in a court of law.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very entertaining

    Couldn't wait to see how this tale turned out! Very likable characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Warriors den

    &#9786

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Not my favorite Archer book

    Not Mr Archer's best writing.
    Ro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    A quick summer read

    Smart premise, not great writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    The Proverbial Page-turner!!!

    This is a captivating book by a man who really knows how to tell a story! I loved it -- couldn't put it down -- was sorry when it was finished. Jeffrey Archer is adept at telling a good yarn and this is a great one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent story teller. I had read 8 books by Archer, and he still amazes me with the excitement and intrigue in each story. His books are page-turners that hook you til the end. I read Kane and Abel years ago, and I was hooked. Archer is a master!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    Archer hits the bullseye...

    By far his best book to date. Archer portrays great character with a sense of witty humour. A must for all book worms

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    the best book i've ever read!!!!

    this book is as astounding as any book could be.it's got what a story needs to be a bestseller and i hope that jeffery archer would continue writing more books of this sort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    Can't keep it on the shelf!

    If you loan it, you may never see it again! This book is an excellent and entertaining read. The twists and turns in the story provide humor, suspense, and a challenge to the intellect as the reader tries to discover what audacious scheme the main character will perpetrate next. The ending is brilliant and exhilarating, giving the reader that most often sought after feeling of satisfaction that good fiction can give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3