Customer Reviews for

Not a Sparrow Falls (The Second Chances Collection Book #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Great book

    Wow. What a story this novel tells. Linda Nichols is indeed a talented writer! I highly recommend this book...the plot is really captivating, and you can identify with certain aspects of the characters. I was hooked from the prologue. This is just a very entriguing story that you would enjoy reading! I would recommend this not only to adults, but also to fellow teenagers who enjoy reading deeper and slightly more mature novels.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Beautiful Story

    The book starts out with a young girl named Mary Bridget who is stuck in a situation and can't figure out how to get out. So, she runs. She makes herself a new home in Alexandria, Virgina, but knows that her past is not far behind. As she creates a new life for herself, always looking over her shoulder is starting to wear on her. Yet she feels that she is needed right where she is at.

    Eventually, the past catches up with her and she has choices to make. Which fork in the road will she take this time?
    This book was very well written and filled with great reminders. Running and hiding is never the answer. And more importantly, no matter what is in our past, God still accepts us with open arms. I loved how the book did not beat around any corners or hide the message that it was presenting. God was evident throughout the entire book. I also loved how the stories all intertwined with each other.

    Beautiful story and great reminder of God's love.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not a Sparrow Falls

    There are two main storylines here--Mary Bridget is on the run from her old life (she purchased supplies to make meth; she didn't actually make the meth herself--that was Jonah, her scary boyfriend) and eager to start over; she gives herself the name Bridie (after Bridget--her mom's name and her middle name). And Alisdair is at loose ends with his three children (teenage Samantha and twin toddlers Bonnie and Cameron) after his wife and their mother died two years ago, shortly after the twins' birth. He's a pastor and his church isn't happy with him because he's focusing more on his radio show than on leading the congregation. And the children are largely being neglected.

    This is Christian fiction (this novel was actually a Christy award finalist) and there is God talk. But it's also just a fantastic, heartwarming story. Bridie is a fantastic character and I fell in love with pretty much every character in here. (Except, of course for Jonah, the scary, meth-making ex-boyfriend.)

    I hope to read more of her books.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not A Sparrow Falls

    A carefully planned escape allows Mary Bridget Washburn to leave behind the drug dealers that she lives with. In an attempt to start life anew, Mary takes on her mother's identity and becomes known as Bridie. When her plans seem to be going askew and she considers returning to the drug dealers. However, a child-care job neatly falls in her lap and she agrees to care for the children of a troubled Presbyterian reverend. She can not know the journey of healing that lays before her for both herself and the family she cares for. Still she is plagued by the thought of the drug dealers coming after her. However, it is only by the fear being realized that she can find true freedom.

    I enjoyed "Not a Sparrow Falls" by Linda Nichols. By the time I got a third of the way into the book, I was hooked. The book was well-written, though personally, I would have like to have seen a little more romance. I absolutely loved the ending though. The way in which the author wrapped things up and released Mary Bridget Washburn from the very fear she had been running from was absolutely superb. The title of this book is certainly appropriate. Nearly all of the main characters have "fallen" in some way, yet the theme is that God can lift up a broken life and bring restoration.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A touching story of forgiveness and redemption.

    I recently received the book Not a Sparrow Falls by Linda Nichols from Bethany House to review. In the story, Mary learns 100 Bible verses as a little girl that she begins to clings to for hope. She unsuccessfully tries to keep her family together after her mother's death. Soon after her brother and sisters are taken, Mary finds herself in a life of crime because of one bad decision after another. She runs, trying to escape from danger and the life she desperately wants out of, and lands in the town of Alexandria, Virginia. Mary assumes her mother's identity for protection and finds peace in the sanctuary of an old church.

    Alasdair MacPherson's job and family seem to be crumbling. As pastor of the church, he has many responsibilities and never seems to be able to keep the congregation or his 3 sisters happy. His three children pay the cost as they are neglected by their distracted father. Samantha, his oldest daughter lays her written prayer, "Help me, God", down in the church. Mary sees the prayer and becomes involved trying to help Samantha. Mary uses the verses she learned as a child to help the children and their father heal. She is reminded of God's love and forgiveness and tells Samantha "It's running from things that gives them strength." Can Mary keep her past hidden and be able to help the family, or should she take her own advice and quit running? This story of forgiveness and redemption is one I recommend. I completely enjoyed reading this book and loved the characters. I would give it 5 out of 5 stars. Thank you to Bethany House for allowing me to review the book. All opinions expressed are my own.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Not a Sparrow Falls

    This book is very intresting the main character Mary goes on a emtional journey that takes her to a place she never expected being a meth addict she is trying to clear her name but it is moving to say the least when she finds herself again. The journey is worth reading this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Gripping Read- I Couldn't Put it Down!

    I don't come across many novels where the subject is not heavily covered in today's Christian market, but the author does it with such strength and ability to craft a memorable story. Not only was this story captivating, it left me with memorable characters and a story line that will resound with me for time to come.
    NOT A SPARROW FALLS is not a fast read. It requires a willingness to really delve into it, but once I entered the story world, I couldn't leave. The situations the heroine found herself in were heartbreaking and anxious. I loved the love story. It wasn't overt or edgy, but it was sweet and captivating. How I longed to see it resolved in the end. There were so many different threads that made up the tapestry of this story. From a family suffering from the loss of their mother, to a young woman running from a wealth of bad decisions, to a drug ravaged young man and the old woman who prays for them all.
    I would give this book five stars, but I am giving it four because there was a theology issue, I do not agree with, namely once save always saved.
    But aside from that, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It resounded and connected with me. I will not soon forget these characters or their story.
    I want to thank Jim at Bethany House for my copy of this book to review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Deep

    Linda Nichols is an excellent, and very gifted writer, no doubt about that. The story was captivating, but the focus on the pastor's former wife was a little overwhelming. Her journal entries seemed to pull me down and not allow me to feel uplifted by the healing that was going on in the lives of the pastor's family and the nanny. A little on the depressing side, but very deep. It really makes you think and see how God can totally turn your life around by taking something heading toward disaster and turning into something good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Enjoyed

    When I started reading this 318 page book, I would have sworn it was an English or British novel. Then I thought it was set in the forties or fifties and I was wrong again. This book does have an old fashioned feel about it and the author's style reminds me of British works. This is not a romance exactly, nor a mystery. Its genre is a little hard to define. It is Christain story with a lot of heartbreak and love in it. I did enjoy this book. I think it is an excellant story. Although there is a 13 year old girl playing a major part, I do not think think this is a book for anyone younger then 16. There is child abuse, drug manufacturing and use, quite a few people die, but not from violence and a man and his faith are sorely tested.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great book!

    Almost put this book down but I stuck it out a few more pages and was hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Loved this book!

    This book spoke to me on so many levels and I had a hard time putting it down. The way author Linda Nichols told Birdie's/Mary's story brought me in almost as if I was in it too. I was so happy that it ended happily. A lot of real-life stories like this do not end so happily.

    I look forward to reading more of the Second Chance Collection of books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    5stars plus plus plus!

    Wonderful, wonderful book. Don't pass this one up. Will be looking for more. Enriching characters that pull you in. This book makes the reader think about God. Not a bad thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    We are often the last to know the effect we have others

    This story is so good, I read it again. Then I had my wife read it. We sometimes need to just trust that God knows what He is doing, even if we don't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Great storyline

    Well written. Very entertaining. Held interest throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Incredible

    I don't even know where to begin with this review. The writing was excellent, both in grammar and style. The plot was so deep and layered that i found myself thinking about my own life in many instances. I love the faith side of it as well...she did an incredible job of incorporating that and really sending a message. She had me pondering my own spiritual life many times, and there were more than a few occasions where i related very deeply to a struggle one of the characters was going through. I cannot recommend this book enough and i will definitely read it again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Beautiful story.

    Well written, good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book

    Strongly recommend this book of redemption and grace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Awesome

    What a wonderful book, i absolutely loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great Story

    I really enjoyed this book. I Look forward to the next book to see what happens with Bridgie and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4