Customer Reviews for

Not in the Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Don't give up! Honestly, i wanted to stop reading after the firs

    Don't give up!
    Honestly, i wanted to stop reading after the first couple of chapters. I didn't like Truman (except that he loved cats!) and I really didn't think I would enjoy the story. Thankfully, I kept reading. Truman is a self-absorbed writer, who gambles, drinks, and seems to care little for his family. Even though his son is dying, Truman still doesn't really want to be involved with his family. However, a book deal brings him home and forces him to face his own life and family. The twist at the end really caught me by surprise. I encouragge everyone to give this book a chance to impact your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Wonderful

    This is the best book I have ever read. You are a wonderful writer. I loved the ending. Thanks for the great read. J... :-@

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Oh my WORD!

    I didn't understand the title until the end, when I let out an audible, "Oh!.......Awww!" He is an incredible wordsmith--I was constantly reading aloud to my husband because there was just so much I had to share with someone. I HIGHLY recommend this one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Awesome book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    This book has it all

    Truman Wiley. Once a famous and celebrated newsman, he has separated from his wife, is estranged from his two children (one of whom is awaiting a heart transplant), and has a dangerous gambling problem. Oh yeah, and he loves cats.

    He is approached to write the story of a death row inmate who wants to donate his heart post execution to Truman's son. As he delves deeper into the story, the information he discovers just may reveal a different killer - but if it does, what will happen his son?

    I LOVED this book. I loved the mystery, the heartache, the moral dilemma....all well written and touching - I can't say enough good things about this book. You must get it and see for yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Fgt

    Gh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Builds ... builds ... builds!

    I have read several of Chris Fabry's books, and even had the great fortune to play one of his characters on stage a couple of years ago. Like Jackson Grimm before him, protagonist Truman Wiley is a reporter - more successful, and more deeply flawed. His latest assignment is to write the story of a man on death row, a man whose life has become intertwined with Wiley's estranged family. The story starts a bit slow ... only a bit. Then things build, tensions rise, and Wiley faces the most personal sides of life, death, family, faith, and good and evil. Chris Fabry's trademark humor also finds its way into the conversations, but it never overwhelms the story. All in all, Not in The Heart is a very satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Great

    Thisnis a page turner. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I've read worse

    You know how people who aren't religious think that pushy Christians are always up in their face? Well, in this book, there's a reason for that. The main character is not a churchgoer, and the other characters in the story are always shoving their beliefs in his face.

    This is Christian fiction, written for (evangelical) Christians. Even the main character who, as I said, is not a believer, sometimes uses evangelical-speak, and spouts something no non-Christian would ever say, such as how he could tell from a newspaper article that his estranged wife was fully leaning on God's providence.

    The main character has a gambling addiction, and keeps running out on his family. He confronts an ethical dilemma. The Christians are preachy and heavy-handed. The villains are suitably slimy, although one (the blonde Germanic thug) is cartoonish.

    The story would be better, in my opinion, if the author turned down the proselytizing and the unsubtle allusions to Scripture. A novel can be Christian without being heavyhanded.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    VERY GOOD!!

    This book had me reading way past my bedtime several nights. I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Great Book. Well written.

    I found it difficult to lay this book down. Interesting ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    G

    This is such a good book. What a turnaround of a character. Read this book...you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Excellent Fiction from an Excellent Author. What an emotional, I

    Excellent Fiction from an Excellent Author. What an emotional, I would even say heart-wrenching story, with tough decisions, and suspense right to the end. I’ve read other books by Chris Fabry, and I'm always impressed with his writing. This book is absorbing, and I felt very connected with the characters. It had tragic situations, and reflected how real people would (or might) think and react. The conclusion surprised me. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    How Much Can One Heart Hold?

    A young woman was horrifically murdered, and now a man sits on death row to pay for it. As a final act of repentance and generosity, the prisoner offers to donate his heart to the son of an unemployed journalist with one catch: the journalist must write the prisoner's story, including the man's refusal to confess to the murder.

    Willing to do anything to save his son's heart, the journalist begins to tell the story of one man losing his life, and ends by discovering his own life - complete with its flaws, joys, and connections to people he hadn't dreamed existed.

    This story is filled with messy lives and tangled emotions. Parents losing their children. Children losing their parents. Employees losing jobs. Gamblers losing money. Men and women losing their spouses. Everyone losing hope. And all the sorrow and loss slipping into a huge void that only one thing can fill. Only, there aren't very many who recognize the answer staring them in the face.

    This book hurt to read. I cried. There is so much sorrow in the world, and this book holds up a mirror to it. Yet, like Pandora's box, at the bottom of this book is hope. A hope massive enough to carry the mystery story, one man's searchings, and an unimaginable ending on its back. The author does a masterful job telling a story which opens a door past sympathy for those who are hurting, and into empathy for what they are feeling; past cynicism as to the future, and into a hope beyond understanding.

    Like all doors, you must be willing to walk through it.

    I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    The quote from Tom Stoppard “Life is a gamble, at terrible

    The quote from Tom Stoppard “Life is a gamble, at terrible odds – if it was a bet, you wouldn't take it” starts off this latest novel by Chris Fabry.
    Truman comes across as a very selfish man, caring for himself rather than for his wife who is the sole caregiver for their son, Aiden, who was born with congenital heart disease, and at the age of eighteen years old is on the list for a heart transplant and their daughter Abigail. I had a hard time connecting with Truman for this reason. In contrast to this, Ellen his wife is approachable as a mother trying to do all she can to save her son, while also being their for her daughter. Terrell is someone you are anxious for, a guy that you hope will get a second chance.
    Yet in spite of that I found Not in the Heart to be an emotional, edge of your seat novel as Chris takes us through the legal quagmire of organ donors, innocent men on death row and the families of those who are facing a sure imminent death. The tension was so tight, that even thinking about it a while later, I need to remind myself to relax, and take a deep breath. The twists and turns kept me reading long after I should have put it down. But this is not a novel only of doom and gloom and darkness. Chris Fabry writes a novel of hope and redemption.
    I believe that the sign of a excellent novel is one where you remember the characters long after you are finished reading it, and this is one of those.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Not in the Heart

    Monday, July 16, 2012Not in the Heart
    Chris Fabry

    So nice to hear from a West Virginia native and Marshall graduate.

    As a reader, this book surprised me. The similes, analogies, and metaphors make this story stand out from others. Mr. Fabry has a wonderful, dry, sarcastic sense of humor that draws readers in. It was difficult to put this book down. Mr. Fabry even creates his own vocabulary( like Reaganesque) to get his point across. Also, a nice reference to Nicholas Sparks. Mr. Fabry also does a top job at twisting the plot shocking the reader.

    The story is about one man and his way home to the Lord. Through trials and tribulations (probably more than one human can bear), Truman contemplates legacy, significance, and faith. This tale speaks to the heart (no pun intended). Possibly one of the best books I have read in the Christian fiction genre.

    This book will transform readers. All one can do is respond in faith. I enthusiastically recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Truman Wiley used to be at the top of his world - a loving famil

    Truman Wiley used to be at the top of his world - a loving family, accolades and recognition for his gritty news reporting, but the gambling that began as a needed release from job pressures and worry over his son's weakening heart grew into a life-destroying addiction. Now jobless and seriously in debt to a moster, Tru must face that he has abandoned his family and his only son may soon die. Despite being at the bottom, he still cannot accept the whole life commitment his wife has made to God. When she contacts him saying a deathrow inmate, set to die in just a few days, wants Truman to write his story and then he will donate his heart so that Aiden can live, Truman still cannot see the Lord's hand in the process. Reluctantly, he accepts the task of meeting Terrelle in prison, and as the story unfolds, Truman begins to doubt the man's guilt As the days slip away, he realizes that helping Terrelle may mean death for his own son.


    Every book I've read by Chris Fabry has a solid story with tough dilemnas and this one tops the list. Truman is given a sliver of an opening to reclaim his life, an opening that he keeps throwing away by trips to the casino and other bad choices, but he keeps being pulled back into the project of telling Terrelle's story, a story that will take you from the broken down trailer of a hopeless drunk to the governor's mansion to Aiden's faintly lit ICU room to the cold hallways of the prison. In many thrillers, I am quite sure of the ending before the ending (isn't that the purpose of a whodunit?), but I did not know for sure what would happen in this book until it actually happened. Does that make it good writing or an implausible scenario? Fans of the book will definitely say it is Fabry's mastery at work.

    Saying anymore would take away the impact of reading this story of mistakes, regrets, mended hearts and second chances (and justice.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    love this book! I absolutely love how this book portraits a part

    love this book! I absolutely love how this book portraits a part of all of us... Please keep up the great writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A world of devastating illness, addiction, etc.

    “I’ve found the only thing I can control is how well I tell the story and follow the truth. . . . The truth will always lead you to a good place.”--Truman Wiley, lead character in "Not In The Heart"

    Welcome to the world of a gifted, out-of-work investigative reporter and writer who is estranged from his family that needs him desperately and which he needs desperately. A world of devastating illness, addiction, crime, love, trust, distrust, societal struggles with organ donation, and the world of the condemned on death row.

    This book has overlapping plot lines and character development that will leave your mind reeling and won't allow you to put it down for long at a time before you are drawn to pick it up again.

    Chris Fabry has done it again! He has created a tale that stabs at our heart's door and jogs our conscience with issues that we sometimes don't want to face. Issues to which we and society as a whole don't really have clear-cut answers.

    As this plot unfolds, so do the scars of life come to the surface and a healing of soul begins to take place. Personal healing of relationships between father and daughter, father and son, wife and husband. Healing of a soul in need of a redeemer but which struggles with accepting that redemption and forgiveness.

    No peaking at the back of this book for it's exciting conclusion. This is a read in which you will not be disappointed.

    Who is Chris Fabry?
    Chris Fabry is an award-winning author and radio personality who hosts the daily program Chris Fabry Live! on Moody Radio. He is also heard on Love Worth Finding, Building Relationships with Dr. Gary Chapman, and other radio programs. A 1982 graduate of the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism at Marshall University and a native of West Virginia... Read Full Bio

    Addiction: The main male character in this book, Truman, is addicted. His addiction is gambling. Most of us have someone in our lives who are addicted to something. Growing up in a conservative Christian home, there were few addictions and vices with which we had to deal. There were, however, a number of "smokers." Chain smokers light up one cigarette after another, finish meals with a smoke, and begin and end the day with a smoke. Addicted? Certainly. Most of the time smoking is not something that ruins families like drinking, gambling, immorality. But it is addicting, and it has a lasting, detrimental affect.

    I was provided a complimentary an advance reader copy of "Not In The Heart" by Tyndale House Publishers in order to provide a review. I was under no obligation to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing! Interesting! Though Provoking! These are the words t

    Intriguing! Interesting! Though Provoking! These are the words that come to my mind when describing Not in the Heart by Chris Fabry. This is a book that is so different than others I have read. It is not romance, historical, or even really suspense, I am no sure what genre I would put it in. This is truly an excellent book that left me thinking. The book deals with the death penalty and an inmate who the word thinks is guilty but he know he is innocent but has accepted he is going to die and trusts God that he knows what he is doing. In the end all he wants to do is to be able to donate his heart to a young man and to tell his story. Though through all this Truman, the guy that is going to tell his story finds out he may be innocent and is caught with the decision to do the right thing. The ending in this book came at a total surprise, I thought I had an idea of how it would all turn out but not at all in the way it did. This is a story of redemption, forgiveness, right and wrong, and healing. This is a great book when you are looking for something to make you think, it is not light and fluffy but the story does flow well.

    Final Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars!

    *I received this book through FIRST wild card tours and B&B Media group for the purpose of this review. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2