BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Notebook: Reading Group Guide

Average Rating 4.5
( 2316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1707)

4 Star

(318)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(82)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

The Notebook

The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupi...
The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

posted by Angelheart444 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING.... "[End of Sample]"

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2321 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 117
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Captivating Love Story

    If you ever get a second chance with your first love, this story will inspire you. It is well written and timeless. You are transported to the feelings of the characters and will play in your memories long after the you finish the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A Love Story For All Ages

    From the moment the characters first meet, you feel the emotional connection between them. With every moment they are together, their bond grows and strengthens. Although they are so different in their upbringing, their hearts beat as one. Through all the challenges they face, from family interference to distance, their love holds true and it brings them back together. Even the loss of one's "identity" cannot separate them in the end. It is amazing to think that there just may be a love like theirs waiting for us out there. One can only hope to find it in this lifetime.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Is less than 1 Star possible-Don't waste your money

    This is by far the worst book I have read in a long time. My sister is a Sparks fan, so I thought I would read something of his on a recent trip. Watching the rain was more entertaining. I have read better work from junior high students. The book was in no way challenging, did little to develop the characters, and was just down right painful to read. The idea for the book may have been alright (although in no way new), but Sparks was unable to do anything with it. There was no exploration into the characters' feelings or the struggles they encountered. He spends more time describing the same scenery over and over ad nauseum. This book is not worth the paper it was printed on and certainly not worth your money.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    A Joke

    After seeing the trailer for the movie The Notebook, I was intrigued enough to pick up a copy of it on sale for $4.99 near the check-out lane at a grocery store. Never again will I trust my grocer's taste in literature. This is the absolute worst book I have ever read. The characters are very superficial and Sparks' attempts to make them likeable are derisory. I remember somewhere near the beginning multiple pages dedicated to Allie's struggle of deciding which dress to wear. The book is overly sentimental and poorly written. Also, Sparks' grammar is in need of some toning. He manages to change tenses within periods of time, a very green error of writers. I do not recommend this book to anyone. It is in no way challenging. The vocabulary is childish, no issues of morality are explored, and it's really just not entertaining.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Predictable predictable predictable!

    After all the hype and movie release I thought I'd try my first romance novel. I found the plot slow, the characters shallow and uninteresting and the events predictable. I found myself irritated that there was very little substance and yet I kept reading in hopes that something would develop. I found the ending disturbing.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    I've read better

    I was in the bookstore one day, and browsing around as usual when I saw a book that was said to be a well worth it read. So I bought it and came home. The book was easily accomplished in a day and I wasn¿t all that impressed. I thought that because this author was so highly praised that maybe he would be somewhat of a good author. This book was reviewed by critics, and acclaimed to be an excellent read. In my head I already had expectations for the book. When reading the book I was thinking that maybe there would be a twist here and there, but found none. It¿s just a typical love story where everyone is happy in the end. The book was very ordinary and followed the typical love story plot which was very boring. It¿s too fantasy worldish, and needs to take a trip to reality. The book did have one or two good parts, but over all I was disappointed.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    The Notebook

    This book is magical. True love at its purest. I could read it again and again and always feel pure joy that love can last a lifetime and beyond. No matter the trials love can get you through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Movie vs book

    I usually prefer the books over the movies. That doesnt mean i disliked the movie though. The movie is awesome but compared to the book, like all movies things that are in the book arent in movie or vice versa. The book though shows the carecters feelings inside them. It gives you a new prospect of the two caracters love and their strugles throgh life. I recomened you read the book and that you whatch the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    I see how it is...

    There is no sample it does not give you pages of the real book if you check it out you will know what i am talking about

    Buttttttttttt i have to say it was a pretty good book
    Good job

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    This touching story begins with the main character Noah Calhoun

    This touching story begins with the main character Noah Calhoun narrating his story about the amazing miracle that occurs when one experiences real love and the hardships that come with loving someone with dementia.  Nicholas Sparks captures the very essence of this heartbreaking disease by taking us back to the coastal part of North Carolina after World War II. Noah is troubled by thoughts of the girl he once lost ten years earlier. The bubbly and beautiful Allie Nelson is a socialite that visits North Carolina during the summer and eventually falls in love with Noah who is an average Joe. Family conflicts and social status keep her from being with him and pushes her into an engagement with a wealthy lawyer. During her upcoming wedding she decides to go back to see Noah to relive what they once had. Eventually she breaks the engagement with the lawyer and ends up marrying Noah. This is where there real love story begins turning tragedy into triumph and where the power of love creates miracles beyond our imagination. During their separation Noah attempts to contact Allie by writing her a letter for everyday that they weren’t together. Her mother receives these letters and never gives them to Allie to read. For many years Allie thought that Noah had forgotten about her until she comes across an article about Noah and a house he had rebuilt from scratch. This is the house they always talked about living in after they got married. She decided to go see him and the house he had built. During her visit they reconnect and she has to make a decision about staying with him or getting married to Lon her fiancée. Her mother ends up going to Noah’s house and gives her all the letters that Noah had written years before, thus helping her make the decision to stay with him. Her fiancée also comes to see her and she breaks off the engagement. Eventually she and Noah get married. When she was diagnosed with Alzheimer, she began to write letters to him and family members. He was overwhelmed with all of them, but she told him that when the right time came, he would know what to do with them. He put them all in a notebook and it became their love story. He promises to read to her the stories when her memory begins to fail. Allie puts a plan in place, which included the selling of their home and a written will. She decides to live in a nursing home to make things easier for him because she knew the inevitable would come. After forty five years of marriage she cannot remember who he is. He decides to live in the nursing home just so that he can be close to her. Everyday he reads to her the same story and she asks him who he is. This exchange hurts him deeply, but everyday he remains optimistic that she will get back a glimpse of her memory and remember who he is. He is also old and fragile and ridden with rheumatoid arthritis. He has prostate cancer and his kidneys are beginning to fail, but besides all of his ailments his unfailing love keeps him alive for her. She is confused and frustrated most of the time because she has no idea what is happening to her. Most of her days are spent staring out the window, but when she does remember she says his name over and over and for him it is a gift from God. This is the miracle that he receives despite what the doctors have said. After getting another heart attack he is separated from Allie for a few days, when he returns he decides to visit her and is compelled to kiss her, even though he is afraid to startle her. The book ends with her awakening to his kiss and remembering who he is. She says how much she has missed him and he is grateful yet again for the miraculous gift he has been given. After reading the book I also watched the movie. The ending was different in that he eventually spends a night in her room and lays with her while her memory is still fresh. They reminisce about their lives together and hope that when it all ends they will die together. The next morning they are found together in her bed. They had passed away quietly, hands still held together from the night before.
                                 .
    Alzheimer's disease is a fatal, progressive and degenerative disease that destroys brain cells. It is the most common form of dementia, accounting for 64 per cent of all dementias in Canada. Alzheimer's disease is not a normal part of aging. Symptoms include having difficulty remembering things, making decisions and performing everyday activities. These changes can affect the way a person feels and acts. There is currently no way to stop the disease, but research is improving the way we provide care and will continue to search for a cure.  The elderly in this story are portrayed with love and compassion. The emphasis is on a chronic disease that afflicts the elderly and how it is dealt with. The characters were treated with love and respect. Nicholas Sparks truly engages the reader and gives you a real sense of what Alzheimer is and the hardships that the afflicted have to go through. 


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    The sample

    The sample was HORRIBLE!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Movie

    Ive seen the movie, it seemed like the book is good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    As I read The Notebook, a romance, by Nicholas Sparks. I recomme

    As I read The Notebook, a romance, by Nicholas Sparks. I recommended this great book to my friends and warned them that they might cry. This book is great because you keep wondering who Allie will choose, Noah or Lon? Also because the book is so realistic and could happen.
    One summer the main characters, Noah and Allie, fell in love. Allie had to move and they were both heartbroken. Allie met a guy named Lon and they got engaged. One day when she was trying her wedding dress on and she picked up the newspaper, she saw a picture of Noah. After seeing that picture in the newspaper she went to visit Noah. Noah and Allie had dinner and she decided to go back to Noah’s house the next day. She stayed the night and Allie knew she would have to choose Noah or Lon.
    If you like to read about romances then The Notebook is the book for you. The book will make you cry and keep you in suspense. I have told you about the book so if you think you might be interested in reading this book, I would recommend it because it is my favorite book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Sample

    I didnt have money right now to buy it so i got the sample n its a disgrace 2 PAGES!!!!! nothing C'MON!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    The Notebook is a classic love story about two people who fa

    The Notebook is a classic love story about two people who fall in love and their struggles to be together. It all starts in 1946 when young Noah Calhoun went to the fair city fair with his best friend Fin who introduced him to a petite girl named Allie, it was love at first sight. Allie and Noah’s relationship grows stronger and stronger throughout the book, until Allie is forced to move. Devastated and now alone, Noah writes Allie everyday for a whole year and never gets one reply, he decides maybe it’s time to forget. Noah enrolls in the army and served there for a while. After he gets back he gets a job in the industrial business and works there for years, he becomes great friends with the owner of the company who eventually gives him a grand amount of money. When Noah’s father dies of illness he decides to finish renovating their New Bern house in his honor, the gorgeous house makes the papers around the nation. Allie, band on her finger, sits down one morning to read the papers and sees Noah’s article in the paper, she immediately packs her bags and heads for New Bern. Over the course of a few days of seeing each other Noah and Allie click just as if they had never been apart. Together they must make some life changing decisions to be together, people do ludicrous things for love. Which leads to the theme of the book which is that if you love something never give up on it, or you will never know what you missed.
    One thing I liked about this book was how real it felt reading. I personally have read this book twice because the love story never gets old. It is such a powerful book that is sure to touch your heart, it might even make you tear up. There is honestly not one thing that I dislike about this book, it is one of my favorite book. The Notebook is a book that I would recommend to anyone that loves to read about love and romance. The book is only 248 pages so it is an easy read. I would personally give this book 5 out of 5 stars for the beautiful story it tells and how it is written, you feel like you knew these people and their story.
    The Notebook was clearly born to be on a best seller list. The story, the way it’s written, the depth, everything about the book is phenomenal. Nicholas Spark’s books are known for their amazing love stories and most of his books make bestsellers lists, this one was an addition to that number. I agree that this book deserves to remain on a best seller list for a long time because the book just really touches your heart and makes you think about love and just how good of a thing it can be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Sample

    The sample is 2 pages long... 2!!!!! I jst didnt wanna give the book a bad review cuz i haventt read it... but seriously 2 pages long consisted of the cover n 4 line saying whtthe book is n bla.. bla.. bla... but i hope ill be able to read this book in the near future... :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Don't get the free sample!!!!

    Never read it before, just trying to get a taste of Nicholis Sparks, but the free sample only had two pages!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    A classic love story

    Admittedly, not as good as the movie, but a nice read nonetheless.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Remarkable

    This book iis truely amazing. What a perfect love story. It will have you smiling and crying in no time.. its a great read and a fantastic motion picture as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Amazing

    The detail and the thought that was put into this book made it a book that you didn't want to stop reading. It was an easy and fast read that kept you entertained. The way it was written was very creative, I would've never thought of it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2321 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 117