Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 2304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1697)

4 Star

(316)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(82)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The Notebook

The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupi...
The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

posted by Angelheart444 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING.... "[End of Sample]"

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

    DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING....
    "[End of Sample]"

    25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Disappointment

    I was a huge fan of the movie before I read the book, so when I picked it up i thought it would just be a better retelling of the movie, as most books are. Ha. No, I thought it was cheesy and boring and not at all as romantic. Watch the movie... so much better than this disapppintment.

    7 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    WARNING

    The sample is not really much of a sample..its less than a paragraph long
    That is why i rated it so low

    Also the point of a review is to complain about/complement the book,not complain about other reviews

    How is the movie?

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Is less than 1 Star possible-Don't waste your money

    This is by far the worst book I have read in a long time. My sister is a Sparks fan, so I thought I would read something of his on a recent trip. Watching the rain was more entertaining. I have read better work from junior high students. The book was in no way challenging, did little to develop the characters, and was just down right painful to read. The idea for the book may have been alright (although in no way new), but Sparks was unable to do anything with it. There was no exploration into the characters' feelings or the struggles they encountered. He spends more time describing the same scenery over and over ad nauseum. This book is not worth the paper it was printed on and certainly not worth your money.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    A Joke

    After seeing the trailer for the movie The Notebook, I was intrigued enough to pick up a copy of it on sale for $4.99 near the check-out lane at a grocery store. Never again will I trust my grocer's taste in literature. This is the absolute worst book I have ever read. The characters are very superficial and Sparks' attempts to make them likeable are derisory. I remember somewhere near the beginning multiple pages dedicated to Allie's struggle of deciding which dress to wear. The book is overly sentimental and poorly written. Also, Sparks' grammar is in need of some toning. He manages to change tenses within periods of time, a very green error of writers. I do not recommend this book to anyone. It is in no way challenging. The vocabulary is childish, no issues of morality are explored, and it's really just not entertaining.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Predictable predictable predictable!

    After all the hype and movie release I thought I'd try my first romance novel. I found the plot slow, the characters shallow and uninteresting and the events predictable. I found myself irritated that there was very little substance and yet I kept reading in hopes that something would develop. I found the ending disturbing.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    I've read better

    I was in the bookstore one day, and browsing around as usual when I saw a book that was said to be a well worth it read. So I bought it and came home. The book was easily accomplished in a day and I wasn¿t all that impressed. I thought that because this author was so highly praised that maybe he would be somewhat of a good author. This book was reviewed by critics, and acclaimed to be an excellent read. In my head I already had expectations for the book. When reading the book I was thinking that maybe there would be a twist here and there, but found none. It¿s just a typical love story where everyone is happy in the end. The book was very ordinary and followed the typical love story plot which was very boring. It¿s too fantasy worldish, and needs to take a trip to reality. The book did have one or two good parts, but over all I was disappointed.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    The sample

    The sample was HORRIBLE!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Sample

    I didnt have money right now to buy it so i got the sample n its a disgrace 2 PAGES!!!!! nothing C'MON!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Don't get the free sample!!!!

    Never read it before, just trying to get a taste of Nicholis Sparks, but the free sample only had two pages!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Dissapointing

    I came to this book with high expectations for a good romance that would leave a powerful emotion behind like "A Walk to Remember" did, but sadly this book fell far short of those expecations. It has almost no plot and is no better than most of the free books you can get for the nook. All is is about is a guy and a woman who meet up after 14 years of being a part and the woman decides to leave her fiance for the guy. That is it, and their so called love is mostly fueled by their sex drive, so let us replace lust with love everytime they say it and it would fit. It passes over the corse of maybe three days and is very empty and dry and moves very fast and I cannot feel the romance between the two characters, only lust and the need to get into each others pants. I also do not understand why it is so sad, it has a relativly happy ending, dispite the fact that the female character had alzimers (sorry about spelling) but she ends up remembering so, where is the heartbreak ending I was promised? And of course, the last line of the book is the begining of them having sex, which was more of an eyeroll moment than a touching one. Her decision about who she should pick was relativly quick and obvious. After reading this I am hesitant to read anything else by Nicholas because I feel that when two people are in love you do not need to have them having sex for a whole chapter, I feel it just replaces romance with lust. I will be sticking with Phantom of the Opera thank you very much which is a real love story for any of you who really want something that will leave you in tears. The only tears that came to my eyes when reading this was from keeping my eyes open so I could just finish the darn thing!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Oh Please!

    This would have never have happened in real life! Never!!! Why doesn't Nicholas Sparks write something other than these sappy love stories?! And then the wife suddenly remembers I mean come on!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Absolutely hated this book.

    Way to much sex. The thoughts and conversations repear themselves over and over again. So boring. I thought it would never end and its not that long of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Disappointed

    I was very very very disappointed. Usually books are way better than the movie. Not this one. I really expected it to have more than the movie. No it had less. Probably wont read again. Would not recommend to read. I just can't believe it was so different from the movie. My first nook book was a bad experience. I want to read another by Nicholas Sparks but do not want to be disappointed again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Larts notes

    Idioms
    An idiom is an expressins that has a meaning apart from the meanings of the individaul word.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Horrible

    If i could give it no stars i would. The movie is so much better. I literally cry when i watch the movie when i read this the only part that touched my heart was when he said despite theoe diferences they fell in love and about poet describing love as the most powerful emotion. That whole big paragraph was the only part worth reading. Save a few bucks, do yourself a favor ad just rent the movie. You wont regret it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    kupcake

    Goobook love it but not my favorite....*in a high hastey voice*i mean i honesftly love this book but my favorite is The Guridan

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    CLICK HERE

    The movie is way better. U should totally watch the movie

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not that great

    This book sample only comes with 2pages and one of them is the cover buy the full version not the sample

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Stuped

    Worst book ever

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4