Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 2304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1697)

4 Star

(316)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(82)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The Notebook

The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupi...
The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

posted by Angelheart444 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING.... "[End of Sample]"

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    i love the last song and the lucky one. reason being i bought a

    i love the last song and the lucky one. reason being i bought another sparks book. but i was dragging myself to finish this book. it;s only 200 pages and 150 of them are just about noah and allie?.. making sandwich, riding boat..bla..bla.. couldnt find the reason why they both not ble to forget each other for 14 years instead of noah is good in listening to allie, nice voice he had..??? allie is beautiful..??

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Read this

    This book sucks you should go out and buy the movie instead
    And Anonymous,you are totes cool,on my bff list please get back to me by writing a review,and my name is really Cheyenne.label it that please.PEACE OUT AND TTYL BFF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    This is a book not a notebook. The notebook for me is a very bad

    This is a book not a notebook. The notebook for me is a very bad book not because there are bad people as characters, but i mean you dont need to wait for a girl have love you can find it in a strip club. They are like dogs. You need to face reality...GO SPURS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Srry plp

    I dint like this one which is weird cuz i love all his books n the movies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Not as good as the movie.

    Not as good as the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Disappointing!!

    All I can say is I am so glad I saw the movie first! It was outstanding. I decided the book would be similar. NOT! The actual story consisted of 100 pages. The story was so poorly written. So much of the storyline shown in the movie wasn't even a part of the book. By the way, 50 pages were devoted to the sequel which I won't be reading for certain. Sorry but the book was pitiful. Please see the movie but I wouldn't waste my time or money on the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Boring

    I loved the movie, but the book is just... its just not the same

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Not what a expexted

    I watched the movie than read the book for a project i enjoyed the movie better as the childhood scenes enhanced the romance the book was good though so dont get me wrong i just think it shoukd have inclded more background on their relationship. Such a tear jerking book though.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Boring...the movie was much better

    I kept hearing how great the notebook novel was...i saw the movie and i loved it so i figured i would love the book even more...not the case. The novel is really boring in my opinion and doesnt capture the romance quite like the movie does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Have not read

    Love the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Not great

    First time i liked a movie better then the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    To please tap from August seventh

    Yes. Sorry to dissapoint you thirteen year old. There's basically some lovin in every sparks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    What is up with the title?!?!

    Ok so i read the summary for the book and read comments. But i have NO FREAKIN IDEA WHY ITS CALLED THE NOTEBOOK!!!! can some one explain pls? Cause the summary and comments arn't helping....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    ?

    No matter what people say, this was the goofiest love story ever. It ended so abruptly and confusing that i hated this so so much. I couldnt finish it. If u r a nicholas sparks fan, sorry. Respect my opinion. Not worth your $$$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Dumb

    There was no substamce. For the first time ive actually liked a movie better than a book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Skip the book, watch the movie.

    I've heard a lot of good about this author and obviously he has a big following. Myself, I found it a bit boring. In a very rare circumstance, I LOVED the movie and the book was just "okay."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Wow

    I dob't like it. D- for a grade.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The movie was better.

    I saw the movie before reading the book. I have to say that I was very disappointed in the book. The movie elaborated more on the main character's childhood (when they met and how they fell in love.) The book was more about their present time and the choice she had to make. It was an okay read. I recommend the movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing!

    For someone like me who worships the movie.. I can honestly say this is the first time the movie out ranked the book. I was very disappointed in the book. The book was very tiny and literally took me a couple of hours to read, I don't even understand how they could have made a movie from it. If Sparks went a little more in depth of their relationship when they were younger instead of just jumping straight into the present and only having the stories of their younger days unfold when they meet up again I would have given the book more thumbs up..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Best Book of all Time!!

    To begin with, in the story The Notebook written by Nicholas Sparks was mainly about a guy named Noah that fell in love with a girl named Allie. They spent most of their time together every single day that went by. Noah was a very romantic guy with Allie, even if he wasn¿t wealthy he would still take Allie to romantic places. The thing that I really liked in the story was when Noah took Allie to see the house that he was going to build in the future. He promised Allie that he will build a patio in front of the house then five years past and he finished the house with the patio in the front, that is my favorite part of the story. The part that I didn¿t like in the story was when Allie gets over Noah (because she had to move for a while with her family), and she starts falling in love with a guy named Lon, while she was away. She met Lon when she was nursing for the soldiers that were at war and when she took care of Lon he asked her out on a date when he gets better and she said yes, she would love to go out on a date with him when he gets better. I would love to recommend this story to people that love romantic stories. Because this is a story that you would be interested in if you liked reading love stories. I know for a fact that most people would like to read this story because of how the author explains things in the story. But I would not recommend this story to people that don¿t like love stories because that¿s all what this story is really talking about. I really liked how the author explained every detail that happened in the story. If I were to rate this book from one to ten I would give it a positive ten because that¿s how great this story really is so I would strongly recommend this story to everyone. The main characters in the novel were Noah Calhoun and Allie Nelson. Allie and Noah played characters that fell in love the moment they set eyes on one another. The mood of the characters was shown in many ways throughout the novel. The reader always knew how they would feel around one another. They were not afraid to express how they felt about each other. They were always happy to share their companies together and they would learn new things about each other as they spent more time together. The reader feels that they connected because if they spent a while apart they would cry or hope that someday they would see one another again. In the end of the story Noah and Allie did find one another. It was as if their hearts led them to one another. They acted differently if they were apart and people somehow noticed it. If the characters were ever apart the reader could tell what mood their in because of the narration that Noah gave the reader. The narrator expressed how he felt when they were apart. Even though Allie did not give the narration of the novel, the reader felt that deep inside she missed him physically and mentally. When they shared one another¿s company it was as if they were one, connected and attached. As you can see this story was mainly about two people catching each other¿s eye and falling in love with each other constantly. This is the best story I have ever read in my whole entire life. So if you want to read a good book I would strongly recommend this story to you. Like I said before I really liked how the narrator put clearly details in this story, so while you¿re reading the story you can picture it in you¿re mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5