Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 2305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1697)

4 Star

(317)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(82)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The Notebook

The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupi...
The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

posted by Angelheart444 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING.... "[End of Sample]"

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 137 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Good book

    Out of all his books this one became my least favorite. The movie adaption was way better. I hardly say that about film adaptions but this one is the truth. The book is good but not amzing like so many of hi sother books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    do any of u people know how to spell?

    Most of these reviews have anoyingly terrible spelling!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    honestly

    this book is good, but not nearly as good as the movie, and usually the book is way better than the movie, but i do like this book, just not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    great!

    this book was just as great as the movie. they were both different but great in their own ways. my heart went out to noah and allie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Sample

    the sample sucks. it only gives you TWO pages. yes thats right i said two. i have seen the movie and i just pray the book is as good as the movie. i know the sample wasnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read :)

    I liked this book, but I didn't love it. I guess part of me was just expecting more after seeing the movie beforehand. Overall all, good read. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Story about Love and Hope

    The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks is a story about two teenagers from opposite sides of the track who meet one fateful summer and fall in love for a lifetime. This novel was engaging and steady paced. I was able to read it in one sitting as I was drawn into the lives of Noah and Allie. Nicholas Sparks has created a poignant story about two people who try to recapture the love they once shared despite the passage of time.

    Noah Calhoun is a simple boy with simple dreams. He loves poetry, his life in a small town, and a girl that was never meant to be his. Allie Nelson is accustomed to a life of riches and luxury, but she desires much more for herself. She loves art, music and spending time with a boy her parents do not approve of. As they explore their love for one another during their summer together, they realize that theirs is a love meant to last a lifetime. However, circumstances pull them apart for over 14 years and they are faced with trying to find a way to get back what they once had.

    I enjoyed the story, but I feel the author could have spent a little more time telling the readers about Noah and Allie's reunion and a little more of what they went through to make a life for themselves. It was interesting to experience this story through the eyes of Noah as he enters the last chapters of his life.

    Compare Book to the Movie

    I've never seen the movie nor read the book, so it was enjoyable to do both back to back. After finishing the book in one sitting, I watched the DVD and was immediately able to compare the differences between the two. I feel the book was well written and the movie did a great job of bringing the main events to screen.

    One of the differences I noticed was the encounter between Allie and Martha. Martha was a love interest of Noah that never fully developed because he could not bring himself to move on. In the book, Martha leaves Noah well before Allie comes back into Noah's life. In the book, they break up after Noah and Allie spend the night together, so obviously the timing was off, but it still worked well.

    Another difference I noticed was the way the movie depicted Noah and Allie's relationship as somewhat volatile. They fought and told each other on several occasions that they hated each other, when that never happened in the book. In the book, their love was perfect and steady. In the movie they fought quite a bit and their breakup in the movie was disheartening, which didn't happen that way in the book. So there were differences in their character development between both.

    The main difference between the book and the movie was the ending. As that would be a big spoiler for this review, I will not provide a detailed account, but let's just say I felt the ending in the movie was more appropriate for this storyline.

    Overall, I enjoyed both the movie and the book and I'm glad I chose this for my reading challenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Love Story

    This was your average love story. I thought the writing was nice, but it never really grabbed me. There was nothing really wrong with it, but it just didn't have that factor that makes a book irrestible. I, however, loved the movie and prefer it over this book. The movie was much more grabby and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh my

    I watched the movie and thought it was awesome! But the book is nothing like the book--you can tell it was written by a man--it reads like a porno!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    a rare occasion when the movie is better thn the book

    the title says it all... the book isn't bad but it isn't good either. if i could go back in time i wouldn't read it it's three hours i'll never get back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    The Biggest Decision

    This romance novel is about Noah and Allie. Allie and Noah fell in love when they were only fifteen, but they couldn¿t love each other. Allie was rich and her family didn¿t want her to marry anyone that would be unsuccessful. Noah was poor and even though he was romantic and a poet, he is not considered to be considered successful. When Allie went back to her home town, she fell in love with Lon. Lon is a big lawyer that was considered very successful. But just a couple weeks before the wedding, Allie went to visit Noah just one more time. When Allie arrives, the two really hit it off. It only took a couple of days to realize that they fell in love again. But now Allie has the biggest decision of her life. Will she choose Lon or Noah? I really liked this book. However, I felt that I was too young for this book. There were some parts that I would not suggest younger person to read. I also didn¿t like how the book kept switching points of view. It was annoying. However, I did like the ending. The ending really made me stay and read the book. This book was fun to read. If you enjoy reading romance novels, this is the book for you. The author, Nicholas Sparks writes many other books as well. I can¿t compare this book to any other book I have read because I have never taken the time to read a book like this except for now. This book was made into a movie. It is very different from the movie. The movie sort of reminds me of the movie Titanic. This was a very good book and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Sweet, but not much to it.

    I'll have to break from the norm here and say that I really didn't like this book that much. It was ok, and the ending was sweet. But the book spends far too much time building up to when Allie and Noah finally sleep together. I thought the deeper message of love and commitment was a bit overshadowed by a rather smutty few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    I was disappointed

    My First Nicholas Sparks book was The Wedding and after being amazed how much I liked it, I decided to read this book, but I was disappointed. With all the hype about it, I was sure it would be great, but after reading it and other Nicholas Sparks books after I have to say this is not his best. Maybe because I saw the movie first and found out it wasn't like the movie or whatever, but I must say he has better books. I would still recommend it to read, but try other titles such as: Dear John, At First Sight, The Rescue, The Wedding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    romance...but nothing exceptional

    I don't normally read romance, but I was sick so I read this book. It's pretty good, but it didn't make me cry or anything. And I have a question: really, what is the point of reading a book simply about two people? Maybe I just didn't see the lessons, if there were any...I found this book interesting and engaging but fairly pointless. *yawn*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    Most certainly an ironic love story

    the notebook, honestly was an ironic sort of book. after i read it, true, i cried a couple of tears, but it made me annoyed when i read how ally became oblivious to noah due to her illness. yes, it touched me, how every so often, she'd remember noah, then a few moments later, she'd once more see a stranger to what was her love. they had a sweet love story, i'll say that, it just make's me furious to know that their story ended tragically sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    hopeless romantic

    This was the best book I have ever read. It really touched my heart & most love stories in movies/books do not do that. I cried during this time I jumped into this loving story. I recommend this to anyone who has a sense for romance & goes weak for it (hopeless romantics)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    See the movie

    Read the book 2 years before the movie came out -- I didn't care at ALL for the book, but the film is my very favorite movie. I recommend to see the movie rather than read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Alzheimer A Destroyer of Paradise

    Noah and Allie meet after fourteen years apart and falls in love again. She breaks off her engagement to a successful lawyer and together they declared their vows. For forty five years they had an idyllic marriage blessed with five children. Their love grew every second of the day, every hour of the hour. They managed to pull through tragedies such as losing one son and a bout with cancer. But it was Alzheimer that disrupted their paradise. For slowly, Allie will lose all memory of Noah, and the love they shared. The Notebook is a story of love and commitment, of for better or for worse, of respecting the sanctity of marriage. It brings your faith back in mankind and celebrates unquestioning love. The compassionate education of the intricacies of love and the dismay of a devastating disease leaves an unforgettable impression. But the book has the WORST dialogue ¿ `¿ You are special.¿¿ `¿ I know.¿¿ It is also riddled with clichés and fake characters. And lines such as `¿ She looked so beautiful¿¿¿ `¿ He looked so handsome¿¿ left much to be desired. The book¿s attempt at trying to evoke emotions from its readers were a tad too much. Allie was unlikable. She was too self involved, inconsiderate and thought too highly of herself. Noah probably had more substance but he could still be considered a sap. Descriptions were too florid. Certainly not an intellectually filling novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    liked the book but LOVED the movie

    I saw the movie first and loved it so I read the book. I read it in two days and I have to say I personally think the movie was much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    A decent read

    Call me crazy, but I liked the movie more than the book, because the characters were 10 times more believable and it actually held my attention. I'm not saying that this book was bad or anything but...it was lacking something. I was bored by the descriptions the author gave; it was a slow read. I'm not one of these people who truly appreciates highly emotional books. If you're looking for a nice, romantic read, by all means read The Notebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 137 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7