Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 2317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1708)

4 Star

(318)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(82)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

The Notebook

The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupi...
The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

posted by Angelheart444 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING.... "[End of Sample]"

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 318 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Read Me!!

    It's said to be the greatest love story of all time. Plenty of people have seen the movie, but what some may not know- is that it was a book first. I honestly did not know for quite awhile and after watching the movie I decided to read it. Normally it is the other way around, but who cares this book needs to be read, it is even better than the movie. Go crazy and read the book even if you have seen the movie.
    Without giving anything away, there are differences between the two which makes it that much better. The two main characters Noah Calhoun and Allie Nelson are captivating, real, and raw. Their story is told with such passion it's like entering into another world. Placing the book down does become an option, the only thing that matters, is what happens next in Noah and Allie's world. It really is much like escaping into another world, a world where the time is slower, summers are longer, and things are simpler. Noah and Allie live out a romance that people only dream about, but with great love come great obstacles. This tests the young couple greatly and makes their future look bleak. I cannot write another word, I do not want to ruin anything! Go for it and read this book, if romantic, well written novels are your guilty pleasure, this is a pretty choice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Yup

    This is my fav book. Chic book though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Great!!!!

    Just finished watching the movie, it was great...now I want to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    the movie was amazing!

    i loved the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Love Story!

    This is a wonderful story of true love. Noah Calhoun and Allie Nelson meet and fall in love. Allie is a junior in high school, and Noah has just graduated. Facing many differences, they struggle to be wotj each other because Allie's parents disapprove of their relationship. Noah is devastated when Allie moves away with her parents. Still, Noah writes Allie a letter everyday for a whole year, but he never gets a reply. There is a reason and I wouldn't spoil the story for you.

    Fifteen years go by and Allie decides to tell Noah that she is engaged. And guess what? That's right they fall in love again. Then Allie's fiance shows up and story continues.

    I couldn't put The Notebook book down. I just kept reading page after page. I especially loved the letters they wrote to each other.

    Sparks is one of my favorite writers, because he has a way of making me feel exactly what the characters are feeling. I have been happy with most of his books that I have read so far. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Recommended

    The Notebook is a romantic book about two young couples who fall in love one Summer. As the years go by and the families separate them Allie the young 17 year old who is now all grown up in getting engaged. Noah fights for their love when Allie returns into town to find the house Noah once promised Allie was made. After spending the evening with him all the memories had returned and there love had never left. This is a beautiful story for teenagers or adults who would want to read about loves twisted turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This is a great afternoon read. I love the way Sparks can take you away. His stories are compelling and deeply moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    The Notebook

    The Notebook
    Author: Nicholas Sparks
    Main Characters: Noah Calhoun and Allie Nelson
    Conflict: Allie's parents don't want her and Noah together.

    Introduction:

    The theme of this story is love. The main idea is that a poor man named Noah Calhoun falls in love with a rich girl named Allie Nelson. But, Allies parents do not approve and send her off to college. The intended audience in my point of veiw should be 12 and up. The author's purpose is to show how great and strong love really is, and how the love
    for these two people is so great. I really like the book. I think that it is has a great theme, and the characters are perfect.

    Description and Summary of Main Points:

    The Notebook was published on Feb. 1, 2004. The author is Nicholas Sparks. He was born on December 31, 1965 in Omaha, Nebraska. He is a great writer. He also wrote The Last Song, A Walk to Remember, The Choice, and At First Sight. I am not really judging the book, but if I was I would be looking at if it makes sense, is it enjoyable... like keep
    my attention, and if the book has a good message. Some quotes that show the main point of the book would be, " You are every hope, and every dream I've ever had, and no mater what happens to us in the future, everyday we are together is the greatest day of my life. " and also this quote, " I can be anything you want. Just tell me what you want and I will be that. " Those two are actually my favorite quotes from the book.

    Evaluation:

    The book achieves its goals and purpose. The reason is because it has good reviews from all big groups like New York Times; "Proves that good things comes in small packages, a classic tale of love," and Denver Rocky Mountain News; "The lyrical beauty of this touching love story...will captivate the heart of every reader...a gifted novelist." Also, his quote from the book helps prove my thesis, " And when I came in with the tears in my eyes, you always knew wheather I needed you to hold me or just let me be. I don't know how you knew, but you did, and you made it easier for me."

    Conclusion:

    The author's purpose is to show how great and strong love really is, and how the love for these to people is so great. I really like the book. I think that it is has a great theme, and the characters are perfect. The main points are that these two people fall in love. Allie's parents disapprove of Noah and send her away to college, she falls in love with a rich man. Noah writes 365 letters but Allie's mother keeps the letters and doesn't give them to Allie untill she sees Noah's picture in the paper and wants to come home to see him. Allie preceeds to go and see her mother and reads all of the letters. She falls back in love with Noah and leaves the other man. Lastly, I really like this book. Nicholas Sparks is a great writer, I would deffintally read it again.

    By: Kaylee Butcher(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tears of Joy

    I've only read one other Nicholas Sparks book and it was great but I'm not usually into his style of writing. My daughter read "Notebook" and insisted I read it. I am so happy I did. The book was an emotional roller coaster and I loved every second of the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Rare Love

    Love and romance are common themes in books, but only a few can capture the real essence of true love. The Notebook, written by Nicholas Sparks, manages to do just that. Like Dear John, also written by Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook was a love story everyone wishes upon themselves. I may caution that if you have seen the movie first The Notebook would seem slightly less magical. Through and through you will fall in love with the characters, storyline, and raw emotion.
    Immediately, you will adore the characters in The Notebook. Ally is a sweetheart with a passion for art, and Noah enjoys reading classic poetry and working with his hands. Ally grows up in a rich family with high hopes for her future, while Noah is raised solely with a caring and loving dad. Noah's dad accepts ally easily and effortlessly, but Ally's parents find it difficult to accept Noah's differences.
    At the same time, a beautifully written storyline begins to unfold. The love story of Ally and Noah begins with an unforgettable summer shared with each other, while her family stays in a summer home. Days filled with adventure leave you felling giddy, but when she is forced to go back home with her family they fear they may never see one another again. As time goes by, Noah writes many letters and never receives any back. Soon enough, Ally finds her self in the arms of someone else's, but she still yearns for Noah's love and compassion. The story really takes off when Ally slips away to visit Noah in the midst of her day-to-day life.
    With all this going on, it's hard to miss the raw emotion between Ally and Noah. The love they share for each other is heartfelt, intriguing, and rare. Nicholas Sparks does a great job capturing the emotions throughout the book. At many times I found myself wiping a tear away. Towards the end, an emotion felt twist will keep you wanting to read more.
    In conclusion, this was an excellent book. Between the characters, storyline, and raw emotion this book is written wonderfully. Once again, I suggest reading the book before seeing the movie. Nicholas Sparks wrote a beautiful book, which should be read by anyone who loves a romantic love story. Pick this book up as soon as possible, and you will be delighted the whole way through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Alright

    The notebook was to me a very sad but alright book. It had some parts that were interesting but over all didnt catch my attention. The worst part in my opinion was the ending. It was, to be frank, very odd and I didnt much care for it. The begging went entirely too fast and didnt go into much detail. I liked how their passion for each other was expressed but again did not capture my attention. This book wasnt horrible but no where near great. Id suggest reading it on a lazy day but dont expect much more than lots of tears.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tough Love

    Drama, drama, drama...
    Good focus on the plot overall and really touched my heart. It wasn't too much of an action, but there was certainly a lot of obstacles that the characters had to face. I loved how the story was narrated by the character too. It's very moving but unique as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A GREAT LOVE STORY:)

    I LOVED THIS BOOK..I COULDNT PUT IT DOWN. I LOVED HOW ROMANTIC THIS BOOK WAS AND HOW THE LOVE BETWEEN ALLIE AND NOAH WAS SO STRONG AND NEVER FADED OVER THE YEARS. IT WAS SAD WHEN SHE GOT SICK AND COULDN'T REMEMBER WHO HE WAS, BUT I LOVED HOW EACH DAY, HE WOULD READ TO HER AND MAKE HER FALL IN LOVE WITH HIM..
    SPARKS DID IT AGAIN WITH A BOOK THAT YOU CAN'T PUT DOWN AND LEAVES YOU WANTING MORE AND MORE...
    I WOULD DEFINETLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE THAT LOVES TO READ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    notebook, Nicholas Sparks

    Book Review Outline: Sydney Wilshire
    Book title and author: Notebook, Nicholas Sparks
    Title of review: an amazing love story
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 1/2

    Introduction
    The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks is about two North Carolina teenagers from opposite sides of the tracks fall in love. Spending one wonderful summer together in a small town called New Bern. Both Noah Calhuon and Allie Nelson feel the same about each other and they both believe that their perfect for each other.

    Description and summary of main points
    The notebook is one of the most beautiful book to read. The book is mostly about soul mates truly finding one another and their most wonderful connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for Allie is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Here is the story to show you just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true feeling of what real love is all about!

    Evaluation
    I feel this book is a dramatic and thrilling story about the love between Noah and Allie. Its a never-ending story of love. I could not put the book down for hours.

    Conclusion
    The Notebook is a story that shows that men's hearts are as big as women's. It shows that opposites attract and love stories can end well, no matter what happens between.

    Your final review
    If I had the book right now I would read it until the end. I really do recommend it to all ages. It teaches you about love and responsibility. It's a must read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Real Men Like Sweet Books

    The author said that he wrote this book based on his wife's grandparents. He was amazed at how much they were still in love even in old age. The story takes place in a small town and the main character, Noah Calhoun, reminisces by reading a story to a woman who is sick. The story he reads is a story inside the story of Noah Calhoun. The story he reads is a love story about two people who fall in love as teenagers and face lots of obstacles. The action takes place over several years and includes the guy's time serving in war. This book may be intended for women who like romance and touching stories, but as a guy, it made me feel good too. The author conveyed the theme of "true love never ends" by overlapping the past and the present and showing how these two real people lived their lives. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I think the author did a good job because he described the characters and their feelings in a way that will touch everyone. I think this book will hit home for all kinds of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    the notebook- amy brown

    The Notebook , written by Nicholas sparks, is a dramatic and thrilling story about the forbidden adolescent love between middle-class Noah Calhoun, and ambitious well-to-do Allie Nelson. This realistic fiction is very well written and contains millions of tiny details that keep you glued to this book. Noah and Allie spend a summer together in their teens and slowly start to fall in love with each other. Allie's parents don't approve of her being with Noah, so the family moves from the small town of New Bern to Raleigh, about 2 hours away. Is it fate this couple is rejoined 14 years later when Allie is engaged? You can decide that when you read this great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    looking for another great love story? for free??

    check out a free novel online:
    www.suzyengland.webs.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    An outstanding book by Nicholas Sparks

    The Notebook is a fantastic book about eternal love and life. When Noah and Ally fall in love it feels like it will be forever. When Ally must move the love is tested between the two, who feel like soulmates. What will happen when a pair is ripped apart? Read the enthrawling novel and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    I loved the book, But at the same time dissapointed!

    Well I loved the story The Notebook it had great passion and made reality disappear. I would come home from along day at school and work and relax and read this book before I went to bed, I was so into the book that I had read it within three nights. After reading this book I'm sure every girl out there was wishing there was a Noah for them. Although I was a little disappointed because I had seen the movie 'The Notebook' and had read the book, I thought the movie was better. That was a first because 99% of the time the books are always better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    My thoughts on The Notebook

    After reading The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks i had a diffrent Perspective on love and how you can fall in love so easy. Noah was a great man and i believe that if he wouldn't of meet Allie all his dreams would have been diffrent. Who know he might not of fallin in love like he did. They were ment to be together. Over all this book is a must read. Its full of love and an understanding on how love isnt something that comes easy to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 318 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 16