Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 2313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1704)

4 Star

(318)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(82)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

The Notebook

The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupi...
The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

posted by Angelheart444 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING.... "[End of Sample]"

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1704 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 86
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    The Notebook

    The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

    45 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    AMAZING

    Words cannot describe how I felt when reading this book. Thank you Nicholas Sparks

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Amazing Book :) All Should Read!

    ‘The Notebook’ is a classic love story about two people who fall in love in high school and their struggles to be together. It all starts in 1946 when young Noah Calhoun went to the fair city fair with his best friend Fin who introduced him to a petite girl named Allie, it was love at first sight. Allie and Noah’s relationship grows stronger and stronger throughout the book, until Allie is forced to move. Devastated and now alone, Noah writes Allie everyday for a whole year and never gets one reply, he decides maybe it’s time to forget. Noah enrolls in the army and serves there for a while. After he gets back he gets a job in the industrial business and works there for years, he becomes great friends with the owner of the company who eventually gives him a grand amount of money. When Noah’s father dies of illness he decides to finish renovating their New Bern house in his honor, the gorgeous house makes the papers around the nation. Allie, band on her finger, sits down one morning to read the papers and sees Noah’s article in the paper, she immediately packs her bags and heads for New Bern. Over the course of a few days of seeing each other Noah and Allie click just as if they had never been apart. Together they must make some life changing decisions to be together, people do ludicrous things for love. Which leads to the theme of the book which is that if you love something never give up on it, or you will never know what you missed.
    One thing I liked about this book was the story. I personally have read this book five times because the love story never gets old. It is such a powerful book and it is sure to touch your heart, it might even make you tear up. There is honestly not one thing that I dislike about this book, it is absolutely my favorite book. ‘The Notebook’ is a book that I would recommend to anyone that loves to read about love and romance. The book is only 248 pages so it is an easy read. I would personally give this book 5 out of 5 stars for the beautiful story it tells and how it is written, you feel like you knew these people and their story.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Notebook

    I love this book bc it has romance and betral and violence and all these great generes in one book it is GREAT!!!! Read it

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    An Amazing Story

    The Notebook is a story about a small town boy named Noah Calhoun, and a city girl Allie Nelson. Allie stays in the small town where Noah lives for the summer. The two meet one night at the local carnival, and ever since that night their lives changed forever. I liked this book because it was interesting and wanted you to keep reading.The Notebook is a book that Noah wrote and reads it to Allie when they are older. She has Alzheimer's, and Noah thinks that reading their story will make her remember. He reads to her every day. In the story Noah and Allie start out not being a big fan of each other. They gradually fall in love, and they spend all of their time together. They fought all the time, but no fight made them stop loving each other. One night Noah took Allie to an old house and he said when he gets older he’s going to fix it up and live there. Allie requested that there was a porch that wrapped all around the house, red shutters, and a room over-looking the river so that she could paint.This book includes a lot of dialogue. My favorite quote from this book is where Noah is trying to get Allie is the water and he yells, “Get in the water, baby I’m sorry I love you just get in the water. Get in the water!” The theme of The Notebook is person vs. person.To conclude this book Noah did what Allie said that she would want on the house. He did exactly everything she asked, and when she saw it she was amazed by his work. Finally, I would say that this book is great for teens and I would recommend it to anyone. I also liked the movie, but not as much as the book. This is a great book about love, and it is the best one I’ve ever read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    The Notebook

    Loved this book and movie!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Read it!!!

    This is by far my favorite love story. It is so amazing and I wanted to read it over and over. Amazing. :)

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Best Love story

    SImply the cutest love story ever told. You will not be disappointed.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Amazing

    Read it in less than 10 hours and could not put the book down!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Paged

    Hey yo yo yo how many pgs are in thid bookie wookie??????

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Captivating Love Story

    If you ever get a second chance with your first love, this story will inspire you. It is well written and timeless. You are transported to the feelings of the characters and will play in your memories long after the you finish the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A Love Story For All Ages

    From the moment the characters first meet, you feel the emotional connection between them. With every moment they are together, their bond grows and strengthens. Although they are so different in their upbringing, their hearts beat as one. Through all the challenges they face, from family interference to distance, their love holds true and it brings them back together. Even the loss of one's "identity" cannot separate them in the end. It is amazing to think that there just may be a love like theirs waiting for us out there. One can only hope to find it in this lifetime.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    The Notebook

    This book is magical. True love at its purest. I could read it again and again and always feel pure joy that love can last a lifetime and beyond. No matter the trials love can get you through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Movie vs book

    I usually prefer the books over the movies. That doesnt mean i disliked the movie though. The movie is awesome but compared to the book, like all movies things that are in the book arent in movie or vice versa. The book though shows the carecters feelings inside them. It gives you a new prospect of the two caracters love and their strugles throgh life. I recomened you read the book and that you whatch the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Movie

    Ive seen the movie, it seemed like the book is good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    As I read The Notebook, a romance, by Nicholas Sparks. I recomme

    As I read The Notebook, a romance, by Nicholas Sparks. I recommended this great book to my friends and warned them that they might cry. This book is great because you keep wondering who Allie will choose, Noah or Lon? Also because the book is so realistic and could happen.
    One summer the main characters, Noah and Allie, fell in love. Allie had to move and they were both heartbroken. Allie met a guy named Lon and they got engaged. One day when she was trying her wedding dress on and she picked up the newspaper, she saw a picture of Noah. After seeing that picture in the newspaper she went to visit Noah. Noah and Allie had dinner and she decided to go back to Noah’s house the next day. She stayed the night and Allie knew she would have to choose Noah or Lon.
    If you like to read about romances then The Notebook is the book for you. The book will make you cry and keep you in suspense. I have told you about the book so if you think you might be interested in reading this book, I would recommend it because it is my favorite book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    The Notebook is a classic love story about two people who fa

    The Notebook is a classic love story about two people who fall in love and their struggles to be together. It all starts in 1946 when young Noah Calhoun went to the fair city fair with his best friend Fin who introduced him to a petite girl named Allie, it was love at first sight. Allie and Noah’s relationship grows stronger and stronger throughout the book, until Allie is forced to move. Devastated and now alone, Noah writes Allie everyday for a whole year and never gets one reply, he decides maybe it’s time to forget. Noah enrolls in the army and served there for a while. After he gets back he gets a job in the industrial business and works there for years, he becomes great friends with the owner of the company who eventually gives him a grand amount of money. When Noah’s father dies of illness he decides to finish renovating their New Bern house in his honor, the gorgeous house makes the papers around the nation. Allie, band on her finger, sits down one morning to read the papers and sees Noah’s article in the paper, she immediately packs her bags and heads for New Bern. Over the course of a few days of seeing each other Noah and Allie click just as if they had never been apart. Together they must make some life changing decisions to be together, people do ludicrous things for love. Which leads to the theme of the book which is that if you love something never give up on it, or you will never know what you missed.
    One thing I liked about this book was how real it felt reading. I personally have read this book twice because the love story never gets old. It is such a powerful book that is sure to touch your heart, it might even make you tear up. There is honestly not one thing that I dislike about this book, it is one of my favorite book. The Notebook is a book that I would recommend to anyone that loves to read about love and romance. The book is only 248 pages so it is an easy read. I would personally give this book 5 out of 5 stars for the beautiful story it tells and how it is written, you feel like you knew these people and their story.
    The Notebook was clearly born to be on a best seller list. The story, the way it’s written, the depth, everything about the book is phenomenal. Nicholas Spark’s books are known for their amazing love stories and most of his books make bestsellers lists, this one was an addition to that number. I agree that this book deserves to remain on a best seller list for a long time because the book just really touches your heart and makes you think about love and just how good of a thing it can be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Sample

    The sample is 2 pages long... 2!!!!! I jst didnt wanna give the book a bad review cuz i haventt read it... but seriously 2 pages long consisted of the cover n 4 line saying whtthe book is n bla.. bla.. bla... but i hope ill be able to read this book in the near future... :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Remarkable

    This book iis truely amazing. What a perfect love story. It will have you smiling and crying in no time.. its a great read and a fantastic motion picture as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Amazing

    The detail and the thought that was put into this book made it a book that you didn't want to stop reading. It was an easy and fast read that kept you entertained. The way it was written was very creative, I would've never thought of it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1704 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 86