Customer Reviews for

The Notebook

Average Rating 4.5
( 2306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1698)

4 Star

(317)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(82)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The Notebook

The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupi...
The most beautiful love story ever. Soul mates truly finding one another and their profound connection drawing them to one another in spite of time and distance. The love Noah has for her is so powerful and so precious that it should inspire everyone to toss those stupid books that claim men are dogs. Their hearts are as big as women's and here is the story to show just how much alike we are! This story is so wonderful even if it is somewhat tragic. The true epitome of what real love is all about...for better and for worse...for always.

posted by Angelheart444 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Okkkaaaaayyyyy.... you should read this 1st just buy the book!

DO NOT GET THE SAMPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME READING HOW THIS BOOK IS A WORK OF FICTION THEN SEEING.... "[End of Sample]"

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 2311 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 116
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    One of my most favorite books.

    The Notebook is one of those books that are so wonderful that you can read it over and over again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Dissapointing

    I came to this book with high expectations for a good romance that would leave a powerful emotion behind like "A Walk to Remember" did, but sadly this book fell far short of those expecations. It has almost no plot and is no better than most of the free books you can get for the nook. All is is about is a guy and a woman who meet up after 14 years of being a part and the woman decides to leave her fiance for the guy. That is it, and their so called love is mostly fueled by their sex drive, so let us replace lust with love everytime they say it and it would fit. It passes over the corse of maybe three days and is very empty and dry and moves very fast and I cannot feel the romance between the two characters, only lust and the need to get into each others pants. I also do not understand why it is so sad, it has a relativly happy ending, dispite the fact that the female character had alzimers (sorry about spelling) but she ends up remembering so, where is the heartbreak ending I was promised? And of course, the last line of the book is the begining of them having sex, which was more of an eyeroll moment than a touching one. Her decision about who she should pick was relativly quick and obvious. After reading this I am hesitant to read anything else by Nicholas because I feel that when two people are in love you do not need to have them having sex for a whole chapter, I feel it just replaces romance with lust. I will be sticking with Phantom of the Opera thank you very much which is a real love story for any of you who really want something that will leave you in tears. The only tears that came to my eyes when reading this was from keeping my eyes open so I could just finish the darn thing!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    BEST MOVIE EVER

    Even though i have yet to read the book the movie is one of those chik flics thats men can watch 2 itll make you laugh,scream,gasp,and at the end make you cry buckets at the heart twisting miracle of two lovers lost in time. If you like twilight you love this 1960s forbidden love story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    The Notebook

    I love thi movi and book. This is a really goo book and it remindes me of the love my grandparents had may they always rest in peace :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Awesome book have to read

    I love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Oh Please!

    This would have never have happened in real life! Never!!! Why doesn't Nicholas Sparks write something other than these sappy love stories?! And then the wife suddenly remembers I mean come on!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    The Notebook proves that men's hearts are as big as women's. It

    The Notebook proves that men's hearts are as big as women's. It also proves that opposites can attract. Allie and Noah were different but yet the same. Other love story's claim that men are dogs, but Noah's love for Allie is so strong, nothing could break it. After seven long years, Noah completed what he promised Allie, the house. He took a picture with the house and put it in paper not knowing who will see it. Once Allie saw Noah in the paper, she was off to see him. Once they saw eye to eye, their love for each other became even stronger. This story is so wonderful but tragic too. The Notebook proves what real love is, even if it takes a life time. Real, true love finds its way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Eh

    For the first time I actually like the movie better lol. I'm sorry but I feel the book was kind of boring. But also I'm not a huge fan of romance but if you do like romance you would probably like this book. Its not my top favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Read this

    This book sucks you should go out and buy the movie instead
    And Anonymous,you are totes cool,on my bff list please get back to me by writing a review,and my name is really Cheyenne.label it that please.PEACE OUT AND TTYL BFF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I don't get the hype

    The movie was awesome but not like the book. It was actually kind of boring... it lacked the emotion and tension that was in the movie. I read a lot, and I don't say this lightly, but this wasn't worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Amazing

    The movie and book both were amazing 100/10 :) <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    I thought...

    It was a note book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Love is really true

    This book is in all the feelings possible:beautiful- this book has so many feelings such as passion love and lust - nicholas sparks really knows how to write a book that makes you travel to allie's and noah's love story- wonderful and captivating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    The Notebook is a very EXCELLENT book. I have seen the movie, an

    The Notebook is a very EXCELLENT book. I have seen the movie, and both the movie and book are so fascinating. Sparks has that special ability in his words that make you always want to believe in love (or is it just me). This is a truly inspirational story, with magnificent details. It is somewhat tragic, with what happens with Allie, but it;'s true love..and a tradgedy.. Definitely worth the read, and would read the book/watch the movie all over again. so romantic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    <3

    ;') <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    The movie..........

    SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Absolutely hated this book.

    Way to much sex. The thoughts and conversations repear themselves over and over again. So boring. I thought it would never end and its not that long of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Best book ever

    This book is amazing, i remember when i first read it is was bawling in the end. It is by far, my favorite love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Captivating

    I could not put this book down. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt too sad at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 2311 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 116