Customer Reviews for

Notes from Underground

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Ariel

    "Ok. Thanks for giving me a second chance." She left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    War torn

    Yeah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Essential Read for the Philosophical/Psychologically Interested Reader

    This translation of "Notes from Underground" is essential for an understanding of Dostoevsky's critique of traditions within Western Philosophy and his analysis of consciousness. Overall, this novel grabs the reader from his high and lofty comfort and drags him down to the raw, unmitigated center of his own humanity.

    One should enjoy it as a invigorating philosophical read or as a slow literary read; either way, it is an essential book to the reader who wants to be intellectually stimulated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    EXCELLENT

    Great book. Thought provoking. Dostoevsky is awesome!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    AMAZING

    While other authors in literary history have reduced their plot lines to little more than mundane physical recounts of peculiar events, Dostoevsky changes the entire focus of novels as we know them. He takes the reader on a psychological joyride to the very essence of the human psyche. The Volokhonsky/Pevear translation is far superior to any other translations, whose translators (as the authors previously mentioned did) depend on simply providing accurate vocabulary rather than capturing the nature of the verse. From the first line, the reader can see the astonishing characteristics that all homo sapiens carry: regret, self-hatred, and an overall sense of the futility of the human condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    absolutely amazing

    Theres no question that Dostoevsky is by far the greatest spiritual novelist of all time. Don't read this and just think it, just pick up his book and believe it, This book not only brings us back to the nineteeth century Russia but helps us to understand the time and Dostoevsky's concern for all humanity and that by suffering and repentence mankind can become what it was meant to be, true children of God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Modern Library Classic version more for $

    For those who felt this traslation was lacking, try The Modern Library Classics, 'The Best Short Stories of Fyodor Dostoevsky.' It is more for your money; plus, it contains 'The Dream of a Ridiculous Man,' which patently mocks human nature. About 'Notes': It is the misanthrope's thesis. You could learn a lot, whether you think so or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    The work is good, but the translation is not vivid.

    This novel is a wonderfull work of art which questions the society and poses intriguing questions, however it is dulled by the dry language of the translation. I am a native Russian speaker and I have read some parts of the work in russian. This perticular translation lacks the vivid and clear language of the original. I do think that this poor translation takes away from the beauty of the work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    Man's Loathsome Habits for 'Living Life'

    'We¿ve all grown unaccustomed to life, we¿re all lame, each of us more or less... We feel a sort of loathing for real 'living life.'' Yes! We learn 'living life' by the words of others, by the power of others, by the presence of others! And this is 'living life?' We common folk should be ashamed! An excellent and witty book recommended for the real ethicist for valuing and living one's own life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    One of my favorites. Depthful and mind-wrentching...

    Anyone who find this books anything less then 5 stars hasn't really read the book. It's easy to pick up the book and skim the words he writes, but it's harder to understand it if you don't want to. The narrator tells you how it is, notwithstanding the fact that he rambles on about his own hates, regrets and so forth. We've all felt like the narrator once in our lives, and if you haven't, then like one other reviewer said: he has proven his point. He believes he is above everyone, and has a certain lack-of-self-esteem-superiority complex. He takes what he doesn't have and makes himself to feel bigger and better because of his loses of not getting proper schooling, not having a proper job, home, family, and life in general. He also has a very large sense of contradiction. With his strive to be like every other insensible, ungrateful being on the earth, he realizes he can't do it. Of course, he will ramble on for 103,546,356 pages about it before he gets to his point, but it's rather amuzing once you get used to it. NOW READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    The Bible of the spiteful and the bitter

    This is one of the great works of world- literature.It is Dostoevsky at his most spiteful and bitter. The man in the cellar alone meditating on his own meaninglessnes, and on the falseness of the civilization which he does not feel himself apart of startles us by the brilliant paradoxes and contradictions of his soul. If his enemy is ' superficial rationality' then he angrily illustrates how true life in feeling comes from conflict inside.Saying one thing one minute and feeling the opposite the next his great gloom also brings with it a great liberation and hilarity.This is one of the great funny books, one of the books which makes you laugh in its attacks on the mediocrity, the banality of others, and of oneself. Reading this book in my own most anarchic and nihilistic university days I found in it a kindred soul which revealed to me something I sensed in myself and did not know how to say . Yet I knew too that to remain down in the cellar is to ultimately , not live, and like Dostoevsky also I found my way out in literature and love many many years later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    Pure Genius.

    This book is the single greatest description of the way a truly intelligent person thinks. If you disagree, then you might be smart, but not intelligent. After all, a pool can be wide, but it might not be deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    The Russian Master

    Notes from Underground is an excellent composition which reveals the inner most thoughts and psychological state of a complex character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    Excellent Book, really makes you think. If it doesn't the author proved his point.

    This may be hard to read for some people because there are a lot of idea's and morals thrown at you all at once and some people can't handle that. (I couldn't at first, it's a thinker). The 'character' is a little frigtening because he does in fact, hold grudges for years, and is neurotic a majority half the time. For lack of a better term, it's a free write, from what he says in the book. It's interesting because the character is well developed for someone who rambles on about his morality half the time. Definitely a great book to read, but you can either hate it or love it. It's small too ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    Dostoevsky is the greatest author. This book contains his personal notes. Now let me ask, would you like to read it?

    Clearly, the reviewer next to me is misguided. This person claims not to have made out the point of the 'story.' Now, despite this reviewer being illiterate, I will waste my time to explain where he or she is wrong. Dostoevsky hasn't written a story at all. If you read the first few pages, my ignorant critic, you'd be aware of this also. This truely magnificant book contains his notes, not a story and, just as an adolescent teen jots notes in a diary, so too Dostoevsky jots notes in this book. the magnificance lies in the fact it was Dostoevsky who wrote them, and not some illiterate college student. As for the point: well, you see, these notes contain numerous ideas and if there's an idea in them you like, it can easily be made the point--whichever one you wish. It's easy, just pick one out. But the best and most important idea, and my advice to you, the ignorant critic, is to read this book before reviewing it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    What the hell?

    I really didnt get the point of this story. The narrator is a rambling man with a lot of issues. He holds grudges for years, and he takes pleasure in others pain.I didnt like this story, Dostoevsky has written better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2