Customer Reviews for

Notes from the Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Great!

    Since I am in my mid 40's, I didn't think that this book would appeal to me. I was wrong. I cried (which is unusual for me) and laughed (which I love to do!). Gary Paulsen handled a very sensitive subject superbly. It was easy to relate to the characters, even though I am not a teenage boy. This book is worth your time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    ~

    ~ Notes from the Dog ~
    Author : Gary Paulsen

    Summary
    Johanna is house sitting for her friends for the month. When Matt and Finn see Johanna the first day she arrived, they notice something strange about her. Johanna’s skin is ghostly white, she has no hair, she is also incredibly skinny. After the boys see her, they ask her why she looks so sick and unhealthy. Johanna is battling breast cancer, and the boys decide to help her. Johanna has always wanted a garden, so Finn makes one for her in his back yard. Johanna has signed up for a Find A Cure 5k run, but the night before she becomes very ill from the chemo treatments. Finn and Matt take her place in the run, and reach their goal of donating $10,000 to the Find A Cure Foundation. Finn and Matt realize that this will be Johanna’s last summer, and plan to make it the best.

    How does the title tie in with the book??
    Finn is a boy who is raised by his father, that he rarely sees. Finn mostly hangs out with Matt over the summer, so his self – esteem is pretty low. Johanna sees this, and being her up beat self, decides to do something about it. Johanna sends messages on a piece of paper in Finn’s dog’s mouth that he then gives to Finn. The messages on the paper are inspirational, such as, “Your not as ugly as you think.” This helps Finn’s self – esteem a big way.

    Setting
    This is a modern time setting, in a small town in the United States of America.

    Recommendation
    I would recommend this book. It is inspirational, and teaches you life is not as bad as it seems. It is very inspirational to people and their family members that have faced cancer. It is a great feel - good book, just to let you know who how valuable life really is.
    This is a cute, small book perfect for anyone 6th grade – Adults.


    ~ SCHS Reader

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    awesome!

    this is a great book. i highly reccomend it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    funny

    super duper good writer and good book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Amaxing so far

    I did not get to finish this book yet but is really good so far. Once you start reading it you cant put it down. Great book. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    As a long-time Gary Paulsen fan, I'm always excited when I see he has a new book. NOTES FROM THE DOG goes in a slightly different direction than most of Paulsen's previous books. His dedication gives a hint about the topic within - "This book is dedicated with all respect and hope to everyone who has ever faced cancer."

    When a bald young woman in her early twenties moves in next door to Finn, it changes his life forever. As a loner who has vowed to spend his summer avoiding people, Finn is none too happy when his dog, Dylan, and this new neighbor seem to hit it off immediately.

    Johanna wastes no time befriending the shy Finn and the energetic Dylan. She casually explains her baldness by describing herself as a recent survivor of breast cancer. There is something about her that brings out the best in Finn, and he soon finds himself doing her bidding as he works diligently to create a beautiful garden out of his own neglected backyard.

    Finn's friend, Matthew, joins in the friendship with Johanna, and together the three have some interesting summer adventures. The main project they embark on is fundraising for a survivor triathlon Johanna is planning to enter. Through his friendship with Johanna, Finn discovers he has more of a talent for connecting with people and gardening than he ever imagined.

    Although Paulsen doesn't take his readers on the usual adventure in some far-off wilderness, his fans will still find Finn and his dog, Dylan, worthy of their attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Very cute

    This is a very cute book. It is great for a quick read. Good for all ages. Opens eyes of elementry kids of whats out there. Good for adults to.reccomded highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Question

    Is this kind of like the fault in our stars??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Good read

    This is a realy good christian read if you beleve in miracles you would realy like this book but if you are like me i really believe in miracles and some miracles just happen like the time i had a best friend get into a really bad car accident and during those months he had live on life support for the rest of his life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    Touching story, but wonderful from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Notes from the dog

    Wow, this book is awesome! No wonder Gary Paulsen is the best loved author alive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Mya b.

    WANT IT SO BAD!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    AMAZINGLEY AWESOME BOOK!!! :D rivera

    I absolutley loved this book it was so good. My grandfather has cancer so this book was vert insperatinal to me. One thing i thaought was exteamly sad was that the girl was only 10 years old. I thaught it was cool that these boys who were only about 14 years old were taking care of her. So, i would deffinatly be recomending this book to all of my friends and any readers looking for a good book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Book

    I am 10 and i own the real book. So it is great and you should get it. WORTH the money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Cute

    :3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    To many

    To many characters!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    D

    Drucy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    it's an ok book

    Jacob Elder
    Period 6
    Book report 2
    Notes From The Dog Summary
    The book Notes From The Dog by Gary Paulsen is a book about a kid named Finn who's friends are Mathew and his dog Dylan. Finn during the summer wants to find a job where he doesn't want to have to talk to anybody. Later a girl moves in named Johanna. Johanna is girl who wants to make an amazing garden, but she needs help, so she went to Finn for help. Once Finn told Mathew who moved in and what his job was Mathew went straight to work with him.
    When Finn was getting started making the garden Johanna saw Finn kind of hiding, so Johanna looks over to see a girl walking by named Karla. Johanna really tries to get Finn to ask her out by saying that Finn is a really great guy, but Finn refuses.
    At one point in the story Finn and Mathew see Johanna with a large amount of money and they ask what's up. Johanna says that she is raising money to help support the research for breast cancer. One point in Johanna life she had breast cancer and every year she raises money to help find the cure. Finn and Mathew ask if they can help collect money and of coarse Johanna said yah. The thing that really shocked Finn and Mathew was that Johanna was trying to collect over 10,000 dollars. After Johanna mentioned that then they were on there way.
    Later in the story Johanna comes up to Finn with a weird look on her face and she said that you are going on a date with Karla. Finn scared to death refuses to go on that date, but everything was set up and Finn couldn't back out of it. So if you want to see all the solutions to Finn's problems then read thee book Notes From The Dog by Gary Paulsen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2