Customer Reviews for

Notes from the Midnight Driver

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

I loved the story! It is about a boy named Alex, who's dad is dating his third grade teacher. He is at home alone, gets drunk, and tries to drive to his dad's house. But instead he crashes, and hits the neighbors garden gnome. In court, it is decided that he has to do c...
I loved the story! It is about a boy named Alex, who's dad is dating his third grade teacher. He is at home alone, gets drunk, and tries to drive to his dad's house. But instead he crashes, and hits the neighbors garden gnome. In court, it is decided that he has to do community service by visiting a man named Solomon Lewis in a nursing home. It has a very good ending, and I enjoyed it. It was really interesting, and there was also a lot of sarcasm in the book. If you don't like sarcasm, this is not the book for you!

posted by Book_Worm_1998 on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Notes From a Midnight Driver

Notes From a Midnight Driver is about a boy named Alex Gregory who screw up big time. His parents are divorced and he blames it on his dad. One night, when his mom is on a date, he gets drunk and takes his moms car and is driving to his dad's house. There are two proble...
Notes From a Midnight Driver is about a boy named Alex Gregory who screw up big time. His parents are divorced and he blames it on his dad. One night, when his mom is on a date, he gets drunk and takes his moms car and is driving to his dad's house. There are two problems with his plan though. The first problem is that he is completely wasted and can hardly walk in a straight line. The second problem is that he has no driver's license. On his ride to his dad's house he sways off the road and crashes into a person's yard. When the police arrive all they see is a drunk 16 year old with no license. They pull Alex out of the car and hand cuff him while putting him in the cruiser. While in court Alex pleads guilty to the charge of drunk driving and is sentenced to 100 hours of community service at an old people's home. He is assigned to a man named Solomon Lewis (Sol). At first Solomon is hard on Alex and likes to pick on him but as the story goes on they find out they have one very common interest. Jazz. What Alex doesn't know is that Solomon was a very good jazz player when he was younger, but when he finds out Sol offers him lessons which he takes. As the story goes on it takes a few little twists and turns. One of which is Sol having a daughter.
The book Notes From a Midnight Driver was not my favorite book in the world. Out of five stars I would give it a three. I would give it a three because going by the title I would have guessed that there would have been more notes. There are a few notes here and there but not like you would expect. Also going by descriptions that I have read online it seems a lot funnier than it really is. It turns out that the story is deep and in some parts depressing. Although there are a lot of things that I didn't like there are also things I did. I liked the character change in the story. Sol and Alex change a lot. So in the end I probably gave it a three because it was a letdown. I expected more out of the book. I do not recommend this book to someone looking for a funny read that will make them laugh on every page. I would recommend this book to someone who likes books that take on strange twists.

posted by 3062719 on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    I loved the story! It is about a boy named Alex, who's dad is dating his third grade teacher. He is at home alone, gets drunk, and tries to drive to his dad's house. But instead he crashes, and hits the neighbors garden gnome. In court, it is decided that he has to do community service by visiting a man named Solomon Lewis in a nursing home. It has a very good ending, and I enjoyed it. It was really interesting, and there was also a lot of sarcasm in the book. If you don't like sarcasm, this is not the book for you!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Don't drink and drive. If you do, you can end up like Alex in the book Note From the Midnight Driver by Jordan Sonnenblick.
    Alex is a teenager and his parents are devoured. Alex descends to get dunk and drive to his dads house. Alex gets arrested and has to work at a retirement home with the judge's dad for 100 hours. He gets to know the judge's dad and wants to stay for every. Then the judge's dad gets sick and has to go to the hosbittle. Find out if he dies or lives. READ THIS BOOK!!!

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Notes From a Midnight Driver

    Notes From a Midnight Driver is about a boy named Alex Gregory who screw up big time. His parents are divorced and he blames it on his dad. One night, when his mom is on a date, he gets drunk and takes his moms car and is driving to his dad's house. There are two problems with his plan though. The first problem is that he is completely wasted and can hardly walk in a straight line. The second problem is that he has no driver's license. On his ride to his dad's house he sways off the road and crashes into a person's yard. When the police arrive all they see is a drunk 16 year old with no license. They pull Alex out of the car and hand cuff him while putting him in the cruiser. While in court Alex pleads guilty to the charge of drunk driving and is sentenced to 100 hours of community service at an old people's home. He is assigned to a man named Solomon Lewis (Sol). At first Solomon is hard on Alex and likes to pick on him but as the story goes on they find out they have one very common interest. Jazz. What Alex doesn't know is that Solomon was a very good jazz player when he was younger, but when he finds out Sol offers him lessons which he takes. As the story goes on it takes a few little twists and turns. One of which is Sol having a daughter.
    The book Notes From a Midnight Driver was not my favorite book in the world. Out of five stars I would give it a three. I would give it a three because going by the title I would have guessed that there would have been more notes. There are a few notes here and there but not like you would expect. Also going by descriptions that I have read online it seems a lot funnier than it really is. It turns out that the story is deep and in some parts depressing. Although there are a lot of things that I didn't like there are also things I did. I liked the character change in the story. Sol and Alex change a lot. So in the end I probably gave it a three because it was a letdown. I expected more out of the book. I do not recommend this book to someone looking for a funny read that will make them laugh on every page. I would recommend this book to someone who likes books that take on strange twists.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Amazing!

    Omg i love this book! It is such a good heart warming read! If your looking for something fresh cute and a little romantic but still a bit edgy this is perfect! Great for girls and guys! Totlay recomend this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Notes From The Midnight Driver by Jordan Sonnenblick

    Getting drunk and crashing into a lawn gnome isn't the best thing that can happen in your life. But however, meeting a who he thought was a grumpy old man, and sharing his pain, and understanding each other is something that is valuable in your life experience. Alex Gregory, a teenage kid with parent issues, has rebelled on his mom's first date with his third grade teacher, except he kind of failed and crashed into a lawn gnome. This, however, caused his mom's date to be ruined and lead into another big fight with his parents. This was bad, but things seemed to sink into the dark when the judge assigned him 100 hours of community service at a nursing home, and that's not it. He has to nurse the grumpiest, sensitive, twisted sense of humored man who mixes up Hebrew as he speaks, Sol. Every single day nursing Sol gave Alex more burden as he couldn't find a dearth of human in this man. That was until Alex brought his special gift from his dad to the place, a Tele Guitar. Sol and Alex see that they share something in common, and they gradually become best friends. The 100 hours flies by as Alex becomes what seems to be more than friends with Laurie, his best friend. Alex decides to make an event for the people in nursing home, his own Jazz concert with the CHA-KINGS (musical geniuses). As the story progresses, he realizes that knowing people isn't one thing, but bonding with others, and sharing love is a big factor that can change lives. This book is a great read for all people, young and old. The parents issue might be a bit too mature for young people, but I think they can handle it. 'Notes from the Midnight Driver' is a fast paced book, so if you'd like to kill some time, grab this book now. You may realize you're doing something far greater than killing time by the end.

    If you're a writer looking for some techniques you could use, you should look at Jordan Sonnenblick, the author of this book. She's one of the only authors that I know who can blend in clever, witty humor and dramatic somberness in the same book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Eh.

    The reviews I read on this book were mostly positive. People saying this book was hilarious and a great read but I didn't find the humor in it and I didn't like this book. I could see how people thought Sol was humorous because he is so straight forward and brash but I personally didn't. Also its never good to keep hoping the book will get better while you're reading it...I was doing that.

    Don't get me wrong, I love music but I don't wanna read 100 pages of how they are playing their instruments and whatnot. Just wasn't feeling it at all. Maybe because there weren't any cliffhangers or intense parts in the book so it didn't keep me interested. Very repeatitive throughout.

    There were good lessons to learn from this book, don't drink and drive and to appreciate your family, friends, etc. The ending was sad yet a happy ending. You can see how much Alex is changing throughout the book.

    I could've done without this book. Hate reading lame books. Boo.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Response to what did he do wrong

    He drank and drived

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    :D What up?!

    This book was great it was awsome! I totally loved this book! This book was sad at the end but it does have some happy parts. I totally recomend this book! :D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    PLEASE READ!

    So this book may seem a little slow in the beggining (besides the "accident"), but in the middle and end it really pulls you in. Please don't stop the book early if it seems boring at first.
    Notes from the Midnight Driver is now my favorite Jordan Sonnenblick book. He is so amazing at grasping at your feelings and creating sudden changes in emotion.
    As another review has said... if you don't understand much sarcasm, this may be a struggling read for you. Also, you may need to be more on the mature side to read this because- well I don't want to ruin the book but I would reccomend ages 10/11+ to read this unless you're mature.
    I hope this review was helpful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Review of Notes From the Midnight Driver

    After reading this book, I was pleasantly surprised it could be enjoyed from all ages. With hilarious dialogue and quirks, I say bravo to a wonderful and heartfelt book. You will surely fall in love with Alex and Sol.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    This is an awesome book click here

    This is so awesome and the best book i have ever read. If you like it sare the book to other peeps

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Book

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    I think i will read this...

    Hahahaha!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Ok i haven't read this book yet, but as i reading the reviews i noticed a few things. 1. It looks very good :) 2. Someone (a ways down) was talking about Alex's parents being divorced and accidently wrote 'devoured'. That means they got eaten. By what, who knows? Read the review its sorta funny.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Ewwwwwwqwwwwww

    Fnfgdksbajgddan nfjkdxsakjchhghc

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Gia glace

    Wasup this book is so funny i loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a great book if you need to learn a lesson. DO NOT DRINK AND DRIVE!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    what did he do wrong

    What did he do wrong to get in trouble?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    truly great book

    such an amazing read. one of my favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    :D

    I LOVED IT!!!!! HAD EVERYTHING YOU NEED FOR AN AWESOME BOOK!!!!!! SOL IS THE BEST!!!!!! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6