Customer Reviews for

Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl: Wide-Eyed Wonder in God's Spoken World

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NOTES from the TILT-AWHIRL by N.D. Wilson

When one picks up such a title as I did in selecting to review this book among many others, I had no idea what to expect, except that being a Thomas Nelson imprint it had to have some kind of value somewhere. However, there was a clue, I found it in the sub-title "Wide...
When one picks up such a title as I did in selecting to review this book among many others, I had no idea what to expect, except that being a Thomas Nelson imprint it had to have some kind of value somewhere. However, there was a clue, I found it in the sub-title "Wide-Eyed Wonder in God's Spoken World."

No, it is not something that preaches at you- remember the words "Wide-Eyed Wonder" were part of the sub-title and even though you get the Greeks Mythology explained to you in 21st century language, it is not pedantic. But that's not all that is explained to you, you are taken back to your origins and not only but that of the world, the universe and even further back to where there was nothingness, like "a few billion solar systems ago" and "even though I am tiny, I am placed on a stage so vast." Sheer poetry that stills the voracious ache one has in being torn away from the only Light that brings warmth and reassurance to our inattentive soul.

N.D. Wilson does something I revel in, he uses concepts that soar above our humanity and clothes them with everyday language- Next to the "infinite" you will find he keeps "a shovel for when the haiku falls, a bag of salt to fend off the whispering storms." This magical blending of our "insignificant" life of daily living, with the Mysterious, that which we cannot grasp within our hands, becomes a natural spontaneous amalgamation of which we are almost unaware.

Even though the book ends with Autumn, it has no beginning because it has no end, yet there is that impalpable life, both past, present and future as in an uninterrupted circular thread that binds the book into a whole entity. Pick it up anywhere, read it at any point, you will remain refreshed, perplexed and charmed by its probing, clarification and wide-eye wonder poetry... you will find life ends where it began.
DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: <a href="http://cmp.ly/2" target="_blank">http://cmp.ly/2</a>

posted by EvaUlian on October 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tap here

My mom lives in main

posted by 16353543 on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Ride

    The reason I picked up this book in the first place was the title. At this point in my life it feels like I am riding a tilt-a-whirl so the title piqued my interest immediately!

    I was fascinated with this book from the preface. N.D. Wilson clearly states "this book does not go straight." And then I saw the chapter titles and laughed out loud as one is named for the small town I live in..this book was a definite go for me!

    The author was correct in that this book does not go straight..but in the end it spoke to me in so many ways.as life does not go straight! To me this book was a lot like poetry. Some people love it and some people are going to hate it. For some poetry is deep and meaningful.for others it is just a bunch of words.

    Personally I enjoyed the book tremendously. N.D. Wilson's writing style is unique and quite descriptive. I love that he asked questions and ponders on things. And to be honest he does not answer many of those questions.as they are not meant to be answered here.

    The tagline of this book is simply Wide-Eyed Wonder in God's Spoken World. I cannot think of a better description of this book..it is creative and unique and a fresh outlook. It is written in a way that reminds me of an artist. To me it makes perfect sense as our God is a most wonderful Artist and this was a fun way to explore the beauty that is.

    Notes from a Tilt-a-Whirl is a funny and yet thoughtful book..that goes around and around but I for one really enjoyed the ride!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Ride

    N.D. Wilson brings perspective to a many different topics in his new book "Notes from a Tilt-a-Whirl." With the many topics brought to the table, Wilson, is able to paint a picture that you are able to see in a museum of thought you may have not seen before.

    His style of writing, though spread-abroad, is like catching the treasure with a fishing pole. The truth is there you just have to engage and reel it in. His style of writing is an acquired taste, but truly is an adventure to read. If you are looking for a book to take you places and spin and twirl and ride and engage..."Notes From a Tilt-a-Whirl" is the carnival to go for.

    I want to forewarn thos who pick up the book not to get frustrated with the writing style...it took a little bit of time for me to get into but after you are strapped in, it is a good ride. Be patient and if you have to reread a section, I suggest you do so as to not miss out on where it may take you.

    This is a good summer read for anyone not wanting just a fiction story, but are wanting a ride with progress.

    This book is...TruthDisciple approved!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl

    While following a slight semblance of organized thought, at times Wilson appears to comfortably write with a kind of stream of consciousness flow while at other times he seems to try really hard to morph into a clone of Rob Bell. I found myself simultaneously happy and mad, clear and confused, tracking and lost all within the confines of a single page; actually, most of the single pages.

    Before some well-deserved praise, one final point of criticism; okay, maybe two. With no delusions of Pharisaical legalism, I'm usually turned off when an author uses words that most consider "bad words," for a) shock value, b) in hopes readers will think they're Donald Miller, or c) because these are words the author actually uses and since they're supposed to be authentic when they write they continue to use these words. I have a lot more tolerance for someone who uses a "bad word" when they're mad, hurt, or suffering from low self esteem and wants others to think they're really cool than I do for an author who is hopefully thoughtful enough in his/her writing to be able to make the choice to leave those words out. The same goes for word pictures. Don't try to shock me, just say it; say it clearly, simply, creatively, even artistically, but please not for the sake of shock value.

    But in spite this freshmen issue, I found the book rather enjoyable while offering a unique perspective to which most readers will probably relate. I appreciated Wilson's command of the English language as well as his uncommon word choices, just not the occasional "bad word" and "shock image." Metaphors, simile, analogy, and word pictures abound such that the book is actually creative. While not breaking much new ground, Wilson succeeds in repackaging some old ground in a fresh way and that is worth the time and money investment for most readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "Notes from the Tilt-a-Whirl" by N.D. Wilson

    "Notes from the Tilt-a-Whirl:Wide-Eyed Wonder in God's Spoken Word" by N.D. Wilson is all over the place...and not necessarily in a bad way. Wilson's style of writing and rhetorical style make it idyll for atheists or just the faint of faith. The book reads like a dialog, almost as if the author is speaking to the reader. Much philosophy and science is discussed, both those for and against Christianity. What Wilson tries to do is set up his arguments in such a way that make it impossible for readers to discredit God.

    Written in a fast-paced demeanor, readers feel like a long lost friend is running their mouth. This book is so unusual, it is good. For those that don't believe in God or think Christianity is hogwash, this book will change their minds. It is laid out in such a way that readers do not feel like they are being preached at. The language is very informal and oftentimes humorously brusque, although not laconic. While it is usually not good to judge a book by its cover, this is an exception.

    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/blogger/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl by N.D. Wilson

    In Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl N.D. Wilson takes the reader on a ride through the seasons and rhythms of nature and life. He explores the experiences we all encounter, from heartache and death to joy and renewal - often making his argument by telling stories about insects, animals, trees, and everything else under the sun (including quarks and leptons!). Through the journey he demonstrates how he believes it is all connected with God and faith.

    I'll admit, at first I had a rough time getting excited about finishing the book - the opening chapters left me leery about where we were headed (perhaps because of the large number of philosophers mentioned. I've never been a fan of philosophers). However, once I was a few chapters in, I knew I was going to make it. Wilson's witty (and often sarcastic) tone and the odd stories about ants and earwigs make this an enjoyable read. For the most part I appreciate Wilson's theological views (especially his emphasis on physical resurrection), and find no damaging teaching. It is not one of those books that I will have to read again every other year, though I may flip back through it to pick up some of the great wisdom that is sprinkled throughout.

    I wrote this review as a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program. http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1