BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nothing Like You

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    AMAZING READ

    the tears, the joy, and the read were all terrific. I loved it from start to finish and can't wait till Lauren comes out with her next book. It was a fast read which left me wanting the sequel immediately.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Impossible to put down!

    From the first chapter, I was hooked. The characters are original, but easy to relate to. The story brings up dynamics that are universal and feel familiar, but it's written so perceptively- with compassion and wry humor- that it is suspenseful and revelatory. I feel like I know the characters, and watch them learn to know themselves better as the plot progresses. The dialogue is especially great; these sound like real people: young and smart and vulnerable. It made me cry at points, but this is not a sad book. It is fun fun fun to read. Also, there's a dog. My only complaint is that the descriptions of food (which are very grounding) kept me hungry and snacking the whole time I was reading. I would recommend this to young adult readers, and to adults who are able to see beyond stereotypes of teenagers and understand how wrenching adolescent relationships can be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book!

    Lauren Strasnick's debut novel, Nothing Like You, had me breathless by the end. It was just that good, no scratch that, amazing!

    Holly is the girl that anyone can see a piece of herself in. Lost a parent? She has too. Hooked up with someone you really shouldn't have? Ditto. Betrayed your best friend? Same. Well, you get the picture, she was someone who was very real. Though, with saying that, I still wanted to hit her over the head at times when she continued to see Paul even though you knew he wasn't going to break up with Saskia. The other characters, such as Saskia and Nils, were the same way. They were funny, sweet, and honest which made it a toatal blast to read about them.

    I loved the plot. Since, even though it was a wee bit predictable at times, it still moved in a way that made you want to keep flipping the pages to find out what happened next. Plus, Lauren Strasnick's writing was fabulous!

    Sadly, the ending was what brought it down to the B+ grade for me. I had something totally different and more happy in mind for it, though Lauren took the chance to surprise which made it a bit too unhappy and open for my liking. Though, now that I think about it, I guess I do see the reason for it. Since, this novel's main message was about how time can heal anything and how you can loose someone but still be okay.

    Overall, Nothing Like You is happy, sad, funny, and heartbreaking all in one, making it yet another a fablous 2009 debut! I look forward to seeing what Lauren comes up witth next.

    Grade: B+

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    I thought that it was amazayn of not a directioner then amazing

    I thought that it was amazayn or if not a directioner then amazing if you didnt like it give it another try PLEASE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    4579 user

    Hey can you lend it to me please? Reply back titled Marina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Nothing Like You

    Don't get the book. You could get a way better book than this; it's only 150 pages. I recomend Breathless instead. It was the very first nook book that I got, and absolutley loved. Get that instead.
    Also it's a lend me, so I could lend it to you.
    Reply: 4579user if you want it! I neex someone to lend me an absolutley amazing teen "romance" book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    This book was a really great book. At first I thought it was goi

    This book was a really great book.
    At first I thought it was going to be kinda boring but It was just so good. I finishes this book in one day. This book is one of my favorite books ever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Moving.

    This was recommended to me by a spanish professor who i love and i LOVED this book. Id recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Mmhm

    This story was so sad, and i REALLY wanna know what happens with Nils relatioship with her. Do they, like, get together after college? Do they just stay friends? Do they just stop talking to eachother? I WANNA KNOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    YES! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    IF YOU FEEL VULNERABLE BECAUSE OF A BOY & NEED SUPPORT READ THIS!
    JUST READ THIS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Nothing like you

    This book was allright. I didn't like the way holly's "adventure" turned out! I liked her friend nils! I also didnt like all the inappropriateness of it all but i think its very realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    not all that great

    nothing like you was alright... i didnt like the way it ended and it took a while to really get what the book was actually about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    heres the scoop:

    i have great taste in books, ah . and i really REALLY REALLY liked this.
    so im just gonna tell you once:
    TAKE MY WORD FOR IT. BUY IT. READ IT. LOVE IT. THANK ME LATER:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    eh

    it was actually quite realistic but waayyyyy too depressing to be an easy, fun read. if you want to think about the consequences your choices and actions can have on everyone around you, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    an okay book

    was alright. very sad and too many unanswered questions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Pretty good book

    i liked this book....i think it would be a good book for teen girls to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not completely hopeless.

    The book is not completely hopeless. It was interesting to see the journey Holly had to take. The character of Holly's best friend Nils was great. Also, I can say that Lauren's writing definitely made this book easier to read. She interspersed what was going on in Holly's present with memories from her past. I like her writing style and I will definitely try her out again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    NOTHING LIKE YOU

    NOTHING LIKE YOU wasn't a bad book, but I wouldn't say it was my favorite. It was interesting, but I feel let down. Holly's voice reminded me of that of a six year old, and I absolutely despised Paul, which turned out to be the way I was supposed to feel, and Saskia was amazing. But I didn't like the ending. I was disappointed, but overall it wasn't TERRIBLE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Couldn't Put This Book Down

    Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com ***** Holly isn't exactly the most popular girl in school, but when she starts hooking up with uber-hot Paul Bennett, she thinks her life has turned around. Yeah, that's just the beginning of her troubles.

    This book opens with Holly Hirsh and Paul Bennett hooking up in his car at the beach. It quickly gets into a hush-hush type relationship with the two as Paul is already dating a popular, gorgeous, and surprisingly nice girl, Saskia. To make matters worse, Holly is dealing, not-so-well, with the death of her Mother. It doesn't take long for Holly's best friend, Nils (the stereotypical hot boy next door) to start noticing a change in his friend.

    This book is filled with very messy friendships that will leave you asking questions and searching for answers that sometimes aren't immediately known. I loved how Strasnick develops Holly as a character, and regardless of her not-so-honorable tryst with Paul, you feel sorry for her and the sticky situation her actions have thrown her into. Nils' character seemed flighty through most of the book and left me heartbroken for him in the end (once you read it, you'll understand). The only thing I wish about this book is that it was a series.

    This book was easy to get into, hard to put down, and ultimately a tear jerking story that left me wanting so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breanna F. for TeensReadToo.com

    During her Junior year of high school, Holly lost her mom to cancer. In her Senior year, Holly loses her virginity to Paul. She assumes it's just a one-time thing, because Paul is pretty much out of her league and has a long-time girlfriend, Saskia. But after that day, Paul keeps trying to talk to Holly and pursue her further. Pretty soon, they are regularly sleeping together and Holly feels awful about it, knowing that Saskia is Paul's real girlfriend. But it's really nice to have someone show their feelings for her, even if it is only in secret. Since her mom died, she hasn't been able to feel much until now. While this is going on, Holly's best (and only) guy friend, Nils, has yet another new girlfriend. Holly thinks he has intimacy issues, but should she really be judging him when she is doing what she's doing? Everything changes for Holly when she's partnered with Saskia in class one day. She realizes that Saskia isn't the rude girl that she has always believed her to be. Soon, the two of them become great friends, and Holly is in a tough spot and knows that she has to completely end things with Paul, but how? Things get even worse when Nils and Holly start having feelings for each other.. At first I wasn't sure this book would really go anywhere, but after the first couple of chapters I realized what a pickle Holly had gotten herself into. And when she started talking to Saskia, I was basically holding my breath every page! Holly and Nil's relationship was pretty great, too. He was always there for her, trying to cheer her up and make her smile. I was rooting for them to end up together during most of the book. Paul was just a total sleazebag. I kept wanting Holly to just smack him in the face or something. If you're looking for a great contemporary story to read, then this is definitely it. I couldn't wait to get to the end of the book to find out what happened, and I'm sure you'll feel the same way, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5