Customer Reviews for

Nothing Personal

Average Rating 4
( 613 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Like the movie Bachelor

I found that this story was a lot like the movie The Bachelor. Ryan is a very rich guy that is stunning good looking and must marry and produce an heir to keep control of his family's company. His secretary is always there doing what needs to be done and never complai...
I found that this story was a lot like the movie The Bachelor. Ryan is a very rich guy that is stunning good looking and must marry and produce an heir to keep control of his family's company. His secretary is always there doing what needs to be done and never complaining. Then the woman he is due to marry walks out on him and he literally have hours to replace her. Then there is Faith. She is not a stunning beauty like his previous choice but she is not awful. She hides behind big baggy cloths and glasses. When he asks her she is taken back but utterly wants to go through with it. Having never had sex she is uncertain of that aspect of the marriage and Ryan agrees to give her 2 months to get comfortable with him before she has to have sex with him. She knows he will keep his word but will she be able to hold out for the two months. Ryan knows his duty to his new wife but once she transformes right in front of his eyes into the ultimate beauty inside and out he has trouble sticking to his plan of "BUSINESS MARRIAGE"

Even though I felt like I was reading the story the bachelor it was really good and I looked forward to each and every page.

posted by storm1974 on November 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Unpleasant surprise came with this book

I bought "Nothing Personal" on my Nook. Saw it was 369 pages. Loved the story, but was surprised when it ended 100 pages short. Surprised to see an exerpt of another book "Chased" at the end----nothing was said about it on the "Nothing Personal" overview when I bought i...
I bought "Nothing Personal" on my Nook. Saw it was 369 pages. Loved the story, but was surprised when it ended 100 pages short. Surprised to see an exerpt of another book "Chased" at the end----nothing was said about it on the "Nothing Personal" overview when I bought it. I began reading the exerpt of "Chased" and was extremely dismayed to see that it was SMUT. I immediately deleted both from my library. I feel I should have been alerted that another book was included with my purchase.

posted by PearlieKT on September 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Like the movie Bachelor

    I found that this story was a lot like the movie The Bachelor. Ryan is a very rich guy that is stunning good looking and must marry and produce an heir to keep control of his family's company. His secretary is always there doing what needs to be done and never complaining. Then the woman he is due to marry walks out on him and he literally have hours to replace her. Then there is Faith. She is not a stunning beauty like his previous choice but she is not awful. She hides behind big baggy cloths and glasses. When he asks her she is taken back but utterly wants to go through with it. Having never had sex she is uncertain of that aspect of the marriage and Ryan agrees to give her 2 months to get comfortable with him before she has to have sex with him. She knows he will keep his word but will she be able to hold out for the two months. Ryan knows his duty to his new wife but once she transformes right in front of his eyes into the ultimate beauty inside and out he has trouble sticking to his plan of "BUSINESS MARRIAGE" <BR/><BR/>Even though I felt like I was reading the story the bachelor it was really good and I looked forward to each and every page.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    Unpleasant surprise came with this book

    I bought "Nothing Personal" on my Nook. Saw it was 369 pages. Loved the story, but was surprised when it ended 100 pages short. Surprised to see an exerpt of another book "Chased" at the end----nothing was said about it on the "Nothing Personal" overview when I bought it. I began reading the exerpt of "Chased" and was extremely dismayed to see that it was SMUT. I immediately deleted both from my library. I feel I should have been alerted that another book was included with my purchase.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OOOH, La-La, I Absolutely LOVED IT!!

    Two lonely people, who noticed each other, and never acted upon it, until fate steps in.

    Ryan needed a wife, on the quick of a dime, and he knew "old reliable," (Faith) would bail his behind out. However, he never knew his "plain Jane," assistant would strike up the match to kindle his desire for her.

    Faith is unlike any woman Ryan has ever laid in bed with. She's never been with a man before, and is willing to give Ryan one of the most precious and special gifts a woman could bestow upon a man, her virginity. Only if he waits three months to receive it. Since Ryan prefers his women seasoned, the allure of being Faith's first becomes extreme intriguing to him. And intensifies the endless sparks of fire, in the realm of passion he feels for her. With no signs of ever dissipating, even when he does enter her hidden treasure.

    Ryan thought he knew all he needed to know about getting a woman in bed, lavish jewelry, luxurious trips to exotic places, & etc., well he was DEAD WRONG!! Like any woman, Faith enjoyed the gifts she received from Ryan, however, they were impersonal and didn't quite come from the heart. In the long run, it was she who seduced him, with her naivety and inexperience. Having him to discover his true feelings and experiencing things he never knew existed between a man and woman, LOVE.

    I can understand why certain people believe this novel is a typical Cinderella Story, yet it's extremely exciting to discover the dynamics between these diverse individuals. Faith isn't poor, she's exceptionally content and financial stable with the life she's lead until marrying Ryan. And Ryan is exceedingly reserve regarding his feelings for anyone, he would absolutely prefer to be impersonal with everyone he comes into contact with. Yet he is tremendously honorable.

    Faith had been infatuated with Ryan since the day he interviewed her for her job, and he had been fascinated with Faith even before her transformation, yet to catch a glimpse of his beautiful duckling in her wedding dress. It is then, at that precise moment, their adventure begins.

    I utterly believe I'm going to be obsessed with the other novels written by Ms. Burton. She's going to become one of my favorite new authors. I highly relished the way she wrote these characters, they were relatively easy to understand, the reasons for their solitude. And their trials and tribulations were true to real life, and nothing seemed to be off base. Instead of other writers, who leave the reader wondering, what in God's name were they trying to describe. Not the case with Ms. Burton, well done. This novel DESERVES WELL BEYOND A 10 STAR RATING!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    Old storyline but well done anyway

    Although I've read similar versions of this story line many times, Nothing Personal was well written and kept me very entertained.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great title! This book was great. One of the best i read this mo

    Great title! This book was great. One of the best i read this month

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Loved it

    ## Loved, loved this book. Was it original? Um, no. But so what? It was incredibly heartwarming and sweet. There were even some laugh out loud moments. The heroine was adorable and the hero was hot. I don't think Ms. Burton can write a bad book. I kept finding myself smiling while reading this (for the second time no less) and I love that.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Much better than her more recent stuff

    The characters were well written and I actually liked them unlike in some of Burton's newer releases. The atoryline has been done over and over again but thats ok as long as their is some depth to it and the characters feel real. I liked this one and will try to find more like this from Burton. I did not enjoy her Wild Riders series that much...too much time with group sex and strip clubs.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Steamy Romance!

    I have read other books by Jaci and they were just ok. This book reminded me of earlier works of the great Julie Garwood or Linda Howard. The characters were developed and we liked these people. The plot was believable and I just sighed when this book ended. Keep 'em coming, just like this, Jaci.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    great book

    a. must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Very Romantic

    First Time really reading a romantic novel. i must say it kept my interest couldn't stop reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Quick, interesting read

    This is an easy read. The story is good and the characters are lovable. It's a good 'inbetween' read--I grabbed while I was awaiting a much anticipated new release. Jaci never lets you down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Great love story

    A book worth buying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 3 3/4 REVIEW:  This was a really good story fr

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 3 3/4
    REVIEW: 
    This was a really good story from Ms. Burton. I loved that she was able to tug at my heartstrings give me a major case of anxiety and then bring such a sweet ending to this story. 
    Ryan started out as a bit of a dirt bag who was only looking out for number one. But he grew on me so very much. The since with Tiger was the clincher for me. Faith is so shy and sweet at times it was painful. I keep waiting for her to get a backbone and take no prisoners. Really enjoyed this story. 

    I was honored to get an audio copy from Tantor Audio for review. This was my first book narrated by Elizabeth Hart. I think she did a great job telling the story. Her voice for Faith was spot on. But I had a bit of an issues with the boys voices. They were a bit too high pitched for me. I would have love for Ryan’s voice to sound different. But after a while you got use to it. 

    Disclaimer: 
    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tantor Audio in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Tiresome

    I've read a couple other books by this author and enjoy her easy, lightly funny writing. This book, however, has a terribly tiresome heroine. After about 50 pages of continuous naivete, the endless shyness and whining in her thoughts got really old, really fast. Plehh! Not her best book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    A good read

    A short and sweet Cinderella story. Faith has always has a thing for her boss, Ryan, so she is willing to help him fulfill the guidelines of his grandfathers will. In the process both Faith and Ryan learn so much about themselves and each other. They discover love, passion and sadness. A good read, worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Nothing Personal

    Only 136 pages. Loved the story - read in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    BL

    TOO MANY CLIFFHANGA- (explodes)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Sweet Death

    A test? A challenge? :S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Darkfire is near: Chapter 8

    Did we land here? Because there was no where else to land. Where are we. It looks like ice. Were on an ice island. We walked down an ice path. We saw some other ponies here. When we got there it was Bluespark and Nitro. How did u guys get here? We traveled in my private jet. Why didn't we think of that. Because we don't have a private jet. Oh. How did u guys get here. We got on my creature power suit. Then we starting falling cause twilight hit the activation button. Then I got in the draco suit. Sweet Death and I got our friends and landed here. Can we go through here please? U have to complete a......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Nitro put me in darkfire

    Plz put me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32